We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst experience EVER !!!!!”
Review of Ascott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ascott Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Eccles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I don't know why may be because we are foreigners but they were so rude and mean with us !!!! First we had problems when we made the reservations, then when we arrived they took our passports for 2 days which isn't right !!!!!!!!!! YOU CAN'T HOLD PEOPLE'S PASSPORTS IF YOU ARE NOT A POLICE MAN !! NOT EVEN FOR 5 MINUTES WHAT ABOUT FOR 2 WHOLE DAYS !! This is ridiculous. I think that when you are a customer it doesn't matter a local or a foreign person you still a person and you deserve to get the best of each place you pay for, right ??? This is a discrimination !!! This people are .... I don't know what to say - just don't ever EVER ever go there if you have another choice and believe me you have another choice.
I love traveling and I've been to sooo many places, so many hotels, motels, Inns, B&B ans I HAVE NEVER HAD ANOTHER EXPERIENCE LIKE THIS ONE!
And that's not everything - ate the end they decided to charge us 75 pounds for nothing without telling us about it when we checked out !!!!
I still can not believe that we went through this ! THIS IS THE WORST service EVER anywhere in the world !! I have experience myself working for 4 summers in Bed and Breakfast and I know how when you are an employee you should treat people. I want our money back !!!
DON'T EVER GO THERE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
And the housekeeping service is just awful - they didn't changed our towels not even once for 3 days - can you believe that ? And they didn't vacuum even once for this period - they just make your bed and that's it - is this a good service ?? And they almost charged us an extra 50 pounds besides the 75 pounds because they said that our room was dirty - well it wasn't dirty at all but when they didn't clean it at all for the whole period it is normal to be a little dirty at the end don't you think so ?? And I am paying to sleep there and it is there job to keep it clean, right ??? It is not enough that they don't clean it but they are making us for paying that they are lazy to clean it !!!
I am so upset - don't ever go there !!!
They don't like foreign people !! This is a discrimination !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefka R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAscott, Owner at Ascott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

I am afraid this review is a total fabrication the reason they were charged was quite simply that they soiled the bed ( no they did more than wet it I will leave that to your imagination) so we charged to replace the mattress as I would not want to sleep on it or anybody else.
As to the rooms not being serviced that is correct, as they never left them before 7 in the evening
to collect more vodka , before going to a night rave. we do not service rooms in the middle of the night.
Yes we kept their passports as they had no means of paying when they arrived and to get them to settle the bill was difficult .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Ascott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 339 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

Choose the ascott as it was near a wedding reception we were attending .I must agree with other feedbacks.was a lovely clean room. Comfy bed.we had a room at the frount and didnt notice any traffic.was pleasent not to have doors slamming into the early hours as you get in large hotels.breakfast was lovely.more then enough to set us up for the day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovingethan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have stayed at the Ascott Hotel about 7-8 times over the last couple of years. Always a warm welcome, clean rooms, excellent breakfast and service. Will continue to use the Ascott Hotel and would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalkersCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

A reasonably priced b&b with character. Friendly staff and breakfast was excellent. Would say you will get road noise in the front and it could do with blackout curtains but overall far superior to chain hotels. Very good for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chapperswrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was a birthday surprise and it.is.a great hideaway; comfy bedding, great decoration, large rooms and a full english. would be nice to have some shampoo in the bathroom, and proper tea spoons not wooden stirrirs....only critique! great for romance and weekends with friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northernstar2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed the one night in this hotel as we were attending the Rugby League Grand Final. The hotel is lovely, comfortable and very friendly. The room was clean, comfortable and great hot shower. We were made to feel really welcome and given lots of tips regarding getting out and about and where to eat. Will definately go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenHeckmondwike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Used this place for three weeks running so that tells you a lot. Handy for the local hospital and plenty of room for secure parking. Comfortable rooms and beds decorated in good taste. Great breakfast . This is on a nice leafy street with pubs and restaurants short walks away. Would definitely use this again. Fair priced with nice staff.

Room Tip: If you are tall avoid room 8 as shower head not too high up . Front rooms on the main road but not b...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stemar06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eccles
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
2.0 mi away
Novotel Manchester West
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester MediaCityUK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - TRAFFORDCITY
4.0 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 119 in Manchester
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Hotel

Address: 6 Half Edge Lane, Eccles, Salford M30 9GJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford > Eccles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Eccles
Price Range: $70 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Ascott Hotel Manchester situated in a leafy suburb 5 miles from Manchester city centre (10 minutes by car). Our tastefully restored Victorian town house close to Monton Village with its wealth of eating places and offers individually styled rooms and also has a large period style guest lounge. We are very proud of the fact that the hotel was voted Best B&B of 2004, and has also appeared in Coronation Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ascott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Hotel Eccles, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing