We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely people makes this hotel Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ascott Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Eccles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“lovely people makes this hotel Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Nice service, friendly people, nothing is too much, always helpful, and nice cute rooms!
I would just love to move this hotel wherever i go with the service people in it!!

Only problem, a bit outside Manchester, and the tram stop was at least 10 mins walk!!

Room Tip: Book on their site direct!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    75
    12
    9
    14
See reviews for
35
128
45
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

spent one night here 11th june while in manchester to watch take that.On arriving we were met by a very pleasant and helpful owner.Showed us everything we needed to know about the room and hotel.very close to trafford centre etc.room was nicely decorated and well kept for a building this age.Breakfast was enjoyable and the staff very attentive.Would use this hotel again in future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davesuperleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

Booked this through Quidco/Hotels.com and found I could get a better deal by speaking to the hotel direct. Upon arrival, the small car park was full although you can park on the forecourt at the front, so no problems there. Booked in very efficiently, given a brief tour of the shared facilities (lounge/dining rooms) then shown to our room. Full set of keys given so we were able to come and go at our leisure. The room itself was bright and airy, good decor, clean. Tea and coffee facilities, small ironing board and an iron were all available.

Breakfast was good; full English, cooked fresh. We also had cereal to start with and plenty of tea and coffee made available.

The overall decor of this old house is very good, tastefully done. Lots of photos and interesting nik-nacs around. In the Summer, looks like you can sit out too. Plenty of transport links into Manchester - it cost us £4.00 each return on the train, the station is 10 minutes walk into Eccles from the Hotel (but only seems to be one per hour). The tram station is quite near too and probably more frequent.

The proprieter doesn't suffer fools gladly, but is very chatty if you're happy to talk!

Overall, a nice hotel and one that I'd stay at again.

Room Tip: Book direct!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BCFC56-YNWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

We have just returned from a lovely stay at the Ascott Hotel. We booked 2 rooms direct and got an upgrade on one of the rooms. We received a very warm welcom and it felt like home straight away. The rooms are clean, beds very comfortable and the breakfast delicious. We are already looking forward to our return visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UnitedFan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

One of the most pleasant weekends I have ever spent. Greeted immediately on walking into the spotless reception area, a quick guided tour of the public areas, my bag carried up to my room. I'd booked a double as I was a bit worried about space, and there was acres of space. The bed was so nicely made it seemed a shame to ditch the covers and throw, and was really comfortable.

One evening I went to their recommended resyaurant - Smiths. This is a MUST! Brilliant food, reasonable prices, and a fere glass of their house wine which was so nice I bought a bottle to take home.

The only thing I could remotely quibble about was the narrow entry and tight confines of the car park, but this is probably because I'm a lousy parker anyway..

I could go on, but the best way of checking is to try it.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Let the hotel know your needs,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyB1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweiz
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2011

We've spent 2 nights at this very friendly B&B.
The first night we had very nice and big rooms, the second night, because of our late arrival, our rooms were rather small and old, but clean all the same.
Breakfast was very good and with a good choice of Continental and English food.
The B&B is not in Manchester city center, but can be reached easily by Metrolink or by local train, but it takes about 1/2 hour to get there from the Main Station
The dinner tip "Smith's" was great!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette01Schweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

This hotel was nicely decorated, and the owner that we met seemed friendly. The room was smaller than expected, being on the 2nd floor it was an attic room which was not a problem. However, we named the shower 'the coffin' as it was tiny and so dark! The chocolates would have been a lovely touch had they not been old and obviously melted then rehardened so were stuck to the wrappers. We didn't make it down in time for breakfast (late night) so can't comment on that. I liked the fact that we had requested late check out and this was not a problem. Parking was difficult - not a big carpark and no on road parking. The 'AA' sign was hanging from it's hinges outside. All in all the hotel was fine - but nothing special. It had some great points and some not so great, and was expensive compared to others I have stayed in of better quality.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eccles
2.7 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
2.0 mi away
Novotel Manchester West
2.2 mi away
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Trafford Centre West
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Trafford Centre North Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Quays Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Hotel

Property: Ascott Hotel
Address: 6 Half Edge Lane, Eccles, Salford M30 9GJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford > Eccles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Eccles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Ascott Hotel Manchester situated in a leafy suburb 5 miles from Manchester city centre (10 minutes by car). Our tastefully restored Victorian town house close to Monton Village with its wealth of eating places and offers individually styled rooms and also has a large period style guest lounge. We are very proud of the fact that the hotel was voted Best B&B of 2004, and has also appeared in Coronation Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ascott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Hotel Eccles, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing