We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute 'Gem' of a find..fantastic service & value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ivy Mount Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Eccles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An absolute 'Gem' of a find..fantastic service & value”
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Paul the owner is a fantastic host, the property is in very good order the rooms are excellent. The service is 5 star, thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be recommending it to anyone visiting Manchester. The location is perfect to get to all the surrounding locations, excellent restaurants close by.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanJonestheCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivymount, Owner at Ivy Mount Guest House, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a review,really glad you had a GREAT stay with us at the ivy mount,and hope i will see you again when you are in manchester,once again a BIG THANK YOU from paul (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    114
    29
    21
    24
See reviews for
85
161
92
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2011

the room was clean the staff were great was able to accomodate our bikes. really enjoyable stay

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbiecoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivymount, Owner at Ivy Mount Guest House, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
Thank you very much for the review,hope your legs are not sore after that bike ride to Liverpool,all the best paul (owner) see you all again when back in Manchester bye.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

As soon as you arrive at the Ivy you feel at home, its warm and comfortable and feel welcome. The rooms are clean and modern and comfortable, the breakfast in the morning is lovely you feel at home with great food and company. Paul is a great host and looks after all his guests as if they are family. Great location close to the Trafford Centre and a 15 minute drive into Manchester City Centre.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shellypops50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivymount, Owner at Ivy Mount Guest House, responded to this review, June 12, 2011
i hope your course went well,as well as the salsa dancing,i learned alot from that course,thank you all for all the tips,and i hope to see you all again in the near future....bye paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

hi paul and family we had a fabulous(24/5/11) stay very cheerful and helpful and very welcoming and close to all the attractions such as old trafford(football ground), trafford centre and eccles train station, and the tram link and eccles town centre and i would highly reccomend you to all my friends thanks alot from mary radband and paul

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank maryr1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivymount, Owner at Ivy Mount Guest House, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Thank you very much for the review,it was a pleasure to have you stay here,all the best paul....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telford
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Having just stayed at the Ivy Mount I feel incredulous about the very positive reviews for the guest house; either we are extremely fussy (we are not) or there are two Ivy Mount guest house's and we stayed at an inferior one! No just checked the address it is the same place.
I booked this place on the strength of the excellent reviews, what a mistake. we booked an en suite room and on arrival were shown into a room which could be described as en suite in that it had a shower and wc; the fact that these were the size of a large wardrobe and enclosed in a perspex screen which had an twelve inch gap around the top was somewhat alarming. How this arrangement passed building regs is a mystery.
The room was a bit shabby, stains on the carpets and poor quality furniture, but at least the bed was comfortable and it had a good quality TV.
Paul the owner is a friendly chap and is helpful with directions and information, he also is the cook and his breakfast was ok.
The breakfast room is tiny (three tables) while we were having breakfast some other guests came down expecting breakfast an were told to come back in half an hour.
I must say that if we had not been in such a rush(we had to be at the theatre shortly after arrival) and the fact that I had already paid by card over the phone we would have walked out. I suppose we have learned a lesson which is you get what you pay for and for £60 quid dont expect much.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim2010telford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivymount, Owner at Ivy Mount Guest House, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Well first of all i would like to say sorry,that you did not have a good stay with us at the ivy mount guest house,if you just would of said,i could of moved you both to a different room,if i dont no, I can not help! so i am really sorry about that....and i promise you, we make it our aim, that all our costomers leave here happy,it breaks my heart when we get a bad review,as i try so hard to make all our guests have a GREAT stay with us!.......(sorry paul owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxxar, Malta
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Excellent service,Paul the owner makes you feel at home.He is very helpful and welcoming.We recommend Ivy Mount as a place were anyone can have a peaceful and wonderful holiday.Thanks to Paul for our great stay. Albert and Josephine from Malta. Many Thanks.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephine_debono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivymount, Owner at Ivy Mount Guest House, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Thank you very much for the review,really loved your company in the mornings at breakfast,we had some great chats.hope the weather is better in Malta,and i will see you both next time you are in sunny manchester..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Just returned from the ivy mount guest house and all round it was an excellent experience . The owners where very friendly and helpful the rooms were very clean and i wouldnt hesitate in recommending the ivy mount to anybody in the future ,will definitely go back .

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan196926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivymount, Owner at Ivy Mount Guest House, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Thank you very very much for taking the time to give us a review,and i am really glad you had a great stay with us at the ivy mount guest house,and i will see you when you are in sunny Manchester again..cheers paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eccles
2.3 mi away
Novotel Manchester West
2.5 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
3.0 mi away
Campanile Manchester
Campanile Manchester
#18 of 20 in Salford
638 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Trafford Centre North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Mount Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Mount Guest House

Property: Ivy Mount Guest House
Address: 35 Half Edge Lane, Eccles, Salford M30 9AY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford > Eccles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Eccles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivy Mount Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ivy Mount Boutique offers quality bed & breakfast accommodation in Eccles, Manchester. We are known for our warm welcome & friendly atmosphere. Variety of comfortable rooms, some en-suite, WiFi & Flatscreen TVs/ Freeview all rooms. Full English breakfast. Easy tram, bus & rail links to City Centre, Salford Quays, Old Trafford, Salford Royal Hospital & Trafford Shopping Centre. 2 mins from M602 motorway jct 2. We now have just opened our own Bar,seat 30 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ivy Mount Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Mount Guest House Hotel Eccles
Ivy Mount Guest House Eccles, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing