We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil and Tropical Location - Perfect for a Get-Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ewingsdale
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Tranquil and Tropical Location - Perfect for a Get-Away”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We arrived late while driving up from Sydney. The proprietress (Victoria) is a lovely lady who had a genuine concern for our safe arrival. As we arrived at night we weren't sure what to expect (of the grounds) but upon exploring the next morning, what a beautiful spot! Tropical flowers including plumeria/frangipani (my favourite) filled the air. It looked like a tropical oasis. The room was comfortable and Victoria certainly made sure we were comfortable, with nice touches like water and strawberries. The only negative was a bit of a musty smell from the air conditioner. It didn't bother us, so we didn't mention it. My daughter enjoyed the green tree frogs (at night) and the chooks. Perfect for your Byron Bay escape.

Room Tip: There are different types of room so explore all the options. Pre-order breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Javagirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByronBayHospitality, Owner at Victoria's at Ewingsdale, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We’re pleased that you found Victoria’s At Ewingsdale to be the perfect escape for your stay in Byron Bay. We’re glad you had the chance to stroll around the property, and enjoy the surrounds and tropical gardens. It is always our pleasure to add special little touches to our rooms, to make our guests stay just that little bit more comfortable.
Victoria’s is home to a variety of wildlife, including koalas, echidnas, parrots and of course green tree frogs. The resident “chooks” provide us with beautiful fresh eggs everyday to serve for breakfast.
Thank you again, we look forward to seeing you both again some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I booked a stay here through wotif under a different name (Abby's Byron Bay Villa) and I have been amazed since I arrived. This is an outstanding establishment in a beautiful and serene setting, with incredible style and massive attention to detail. We are in the hills just outside of Byron with views ach from a peaceful garden setting. The room is stylish and Victoria welcomed us with a grand tour of the property. There is a fire crackling in the living room which we are now going to go and enjoya glass of wine in front of. There is even complimentary fresh pastries for us and a decanter of Port in our room.

Well done guys. We
will definitely be back. If you want a touch of class, stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhabermann74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByronBayHospitality, Owner at Victoria's at Ewingsdale, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your stay here at Victoria’s at Ewingsdale.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our property and all that we have to offer.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Byron Bay again sometime soon.

Sincerely,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

It was only by chance that we were booked in to this B&B as our original hotel in Byron Bay was being refurbished. It is a beautiful house within easy reach of Byron Bay. The rooms are luxurious and comfortable. The gardens are spectacular and Victoria is charming, helpful and amusing.
Only complaint was the minimal breakfast offered unless one went for the $35 champagne breakfast which was not the best way to start the day which is going to be spent behind the wheel!

Wi-fi remained a mystery to us but for one night not a problem but the television coverage of a British Lions game was unobtainable!

Room Tip: Any is worth having! Or perhaps we had an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runsinthefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByronBayHospitality, Owner at Victoria's at Ewingsdale, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
I’m really pleased to hear these guests enjoyed “a bit of luxury on their road trip”.
One of the highlights of a stay at Victoria’s, apart from the beautiful rooms and grounds, is our renowned champagne breakfast ( the champagne is optional of course), so it is unfortunate that these guests chose not to indulge in this delightful way to start the day, however, for something lighter, we always offer complimentary freshly baked pastries and fruit.
I’m unaware that there was ever an issue with the wi-fi and TV coverage, as they are, and have all been working fine.
Thank you “runsinthefamily” for providing us with your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back for a ‘bit of luxury’ on your next road trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

As soon as you drive down the tree lined drive and walk through four acres of sub tropical gardens containing exotic trees plants and even a kitchen garden with chooks, your life becomes pure escape when you arrive at Victoria's.
Victoria herself greeted my husband and I when we arrived and escorted us personally to our little stone cottage decked out with luxurious amenities, huge comfortable bed, fluffy white towels, quality linens and even a roaring fire.
Just outside lies rolling green lawns, a huge swimming pool and only the sound of birdsong and warm wind rustling through the palm trees.
In the morning Victoria leaves warm, freshly baked pastries in the large farmhouse style kitchen in the main house and you can help yourself to local Byron Bay coffee. She also offers a generous breakfast ($35 a head) in a dining area with a gorgeous view of surrounding hills. Guests can chill out in a shared living space in the main house, however the rooms and our little porch were large enough to also enjoy our own privacy. There is complimentary port and a great fresh fruit bowl in your room.
We also enjoyed a fabulous relaxing massage from local masseuses. Victoria can arrange such services easily.
I would highly recommend Victoria's for a quick getaway like we did or longer if you can!

Room Tip: The stone cottage is lovely and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByronBayHospitality, Owner at Victoria's at Ewingsdale, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Emily N,

Thank you so much for your kind review, and for taking the time to share your experience of your stay at Victoria’s At Ewingsdale.
We are very fortunate to live in such beautiful surrounds, so it is a pleasure to be able to share it with others who are so grateful.
We hope to see you again, sometime soon.

Kind regards, Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2013

What a lovely stay we had. Great location to Byron bay but far away to enjoy some serenity! Our room was lovely and we loved the lounge and use of the kitchen. The small touches were very much appreciated! The breakfast was fantastic, we were lucky to have Georgous weather and do dined on the terrace over looking the hills and lighthouse in the distance!! Shame we only had one night!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppet30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByronBayHospitality, Owner at Victoria's at Ewingsdale, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Poppet30,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Victoria’s At Ewingsdale certainly offers the best of both worlds, being so close to Byron Bay, yet far enough away to be peaceful and quiet.
Your glowing feedback on our breakfast and the little touches that we offer, is really appreciated.
Hopefully next time, you can stay for more than one night.

Kind regards,
Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We just returned from Byron Bay where we had booked four nights at Victoria's at Ewingsdale during Bluesfest. As we went through a booking service we did not realise that we had booked the smallest room and there was no possibility to upgrade when we arrived. The worst though was that the room was musty and smelly, probably having been locked up. Mould was growing on some of the door frames. Victoria certainly tried to air the room and get rid of the smell by using candles, but it had permeated the bedding. We were very disappointed and decided to cut our stay short (an expensive option!). As accommodation in Byron at that time was in very short supply, we thought that the room would be readvertised, but as we had prepayed there was obviously no need.
On a positive note, the house itself is in a beautiful garden setting and very stylish, if not a little tired.

Room Tip: Ask for a large, bright room when booking
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank IngaSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByronBayHospitality, Owner at Victoria's at Ewingsdale, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We are saddened to receive such a disappointing review.
We believe that this reviewer’s complaint had little to do with the smell of the room, (which we totally disagree with) although her partner did say that "she has a very sensitive nose, and in fact it gives me the tick", but more to do with the guest clearly failing to do any research beforehand, and proceed to book the smallest & least expensive room, on a third party website with a very strict cancellation policy, for a busy time of the year, and then upon arrival, assume that they had booked something different.
We make no secret that we have some smaller rooms, which may not suit everyone, but most people realise what they are booking, before doing so, and are very happy with their stay. This is a comment from a guest who stayed in the same room previously, “We stayed in one of the small rooms at Victorias but thought it was fantastic...the bed and pillow the absolute BEST I have ever experienced - and we have travelled a lot! Unfortunately we only had time to spend one night but if we ever are in the vicinity again we will definitely stay here again”.
It’s unfortunate that some reviewers use Trip Advisor to tarnish a hard earnt reputation, when a refund for a stay cut short, is not issued.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Victoria's at Ewingsdale for our first wedding anniversary. We were unfortunately very disappointed. With the cost of the room, we were looking forward to a luxurious escape. The room was certainly nice, with a large spa bath and well furnished. But with the cost we expected more and all we got was the room. What's more for our romantic 3 nights away we were not provided with adequate curtains. The room had some mesh covering the windows which you could see-through from the outside common pathway right into the room - needless to say we both changed in the bathroom and it quashed some of our wedding anniversary plans.

There was a large kitchen which very we were informed we couldn't use, even to make some toast (for a pregnant woman this was rather frustrating) - instead we were offered an overpriced breakfast on top of our room rate. The BBQ facilities (which we were encouraged to utilise) had no knives, a few forks, 1 plate and all of it was dirty. The service was lacking as well, even keeping in mind the "Guest House" style of accommodation. Overall very disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByronBayHospitality, Owner at Victoria's at Ewingsdale, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
We are really surprised to hear that these guests were disappointed with their stay, as we feel we do offer a luxurious getaway.
These guests made their booking on a last minute website for a 3 night stay over new years eve, the peak time of high season, and they received an early check in, a complimentary room upgrade to one of our beautiful premium spa rooms, tropical fruit platter, bottled water, decanter of port, signature chocolates, and we didn’t even know it was their anniversary!
The room curtains and drapes are made from imported European fabric and were custom made to suit the classic French decor of the room, instead of heavy motel style block out window coverings. The room has an elevated balcony and is separated by gardens, so unless someone was very tall and nosey, it would be quite difficult to see into the room.
Victoria’s is not a self-catering property, and therefore our kitchen is not for guests use. We provide complimentary freshly baked pastries each morning, homemade afternoon treats daily and restaurant quality meals by request, which we believe are not overpriced, just read our other trip advisor reviews. If however, someone does ask if they can prepare a light meal, snack or even a piece of toast, we most certainly oblige, as we have done numerous times in the past. Most guests prefer to enjoy dining out in one of the nearby restaurants and cafes in and around Byron Bay, rather than cook themselves, especially when it’s a special occasion.
Everyone that stays in this beautiful room raves about it, so it is really unfortunate that these guests didn’t love the whole experience as well. Perhaps self-contained, apartment style accommodation may have been more suitable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ewingsdale
2.4 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
334 reviews
1.8 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
3.3 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Victoria's at Wategos
Victoria's at Wategos
#13 of 32 in Byron Bay
95 reviews
4.5 mi away
Watermark at Wategos
Watermark at Wategos
#24 of 32 in Byron Bay
23 reviews
3.2 mi away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#3 of 32 in Byron Bay
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria's at Ewingsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria's at Ewingsdale

Property: Victoria's at Ewingsdale
Address: Top of McGettigans Lane, Ewingsdale, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay > Ewingsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ewingsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria's at Ewingsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria's at Ewingsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria's At Ewingsdale Byron Bay, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing