We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked again for April 2012”
Review of Tenahead Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tenahead Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Rhodes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2011

It is not only the highest lodge (2505 m above sealevel) in South Africa, but also in all aspects the highest quality and service. If tranquility and the virgin countryside with the absence of artificial entertainment is your priority, Tenahead is the one place you have to visit. Noland and Shauna and their team went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. If fishing of wild trout is your hobby, go and exercise your skills. I spend hours stalking trout and we enjoyed moving with the sun in the three lounges, reading and enjoying coffee.

Room Tip: Seven rooms all ensuite with panoramic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henristrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 197 of 197 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2011

What a shame - Tenahead is probably one of the most beautiful lodges in one of the most beautiful places in South Africa, however their care for guests is more than questionable. I decided it would be a great idea to celebrate my mother’s 85th birthday at Tenahead - so booked a 3 days stay. There were 5 of us in total in my party. All of us got so sick after 24 hours of arriving at the Lodge , so much so that we could not get up out of our beds for 36 hours. It was a difficult trip home as we were not at all well. I expected to get a letter of enquiry and apology from the manager of the Lodge, and when this did not happen after a two week period I wrote to her stating I assumed she was not aware what had happened to us during our stay at Tenahead as I had not received a letter, phone call or enquiry as to how we were. I got a reply saying "sorry"; she added that she should have told us that there was a bug in the lodge, as there had been problems with guests before getting ill - and she was sorry she did not tell us. On forwarding this to the CEO for his comments, I was told he was abroad and merely got an endorsement of the Tenahead manager's letter from the acting MD, this only after enquiring if they had received my email. Still no enquiry about how we were - specifically my 85 year old mother who took a full 3 weeks to recover. The owners of River Hotels are the religious group VISION - what a pity that they forgot their moral principles of caring. My name is Peter Bridges and I am contactable on [--] for verification of this commentary. I would strongly suggest a written enquiry as to the state of the lodge in terms of guests being ill before committing to a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterBridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stayed for a couple of days over New Years Eve at Tenahead Lodge. The lodge is beautifully located in a high mountain surrounding. Yet the trip to get there is worth some stops to enjoy the breathtaking views. Although the lodge itself miss these stunning views and once you are there, they can only be reached by a short hike to the top of the surrrounding hilltops (what obviously is only possible when weatherconditions are fine). The rooms are spacious, fantastically furnished and have very beautiful views on the Bell river. All in all we enjoyed our relaxing stay at Tenahead Lodge. Although the advertised "six star cuisine" seemed to have vanished with the new chef. Ok, let us put it in a more positive way: our understanding of high quality cuisine is different. Maybe because we are European. The chef is brilliant in meat and dessert. Don't discuss the rest. But: Other guests liked the offered courses. So, don't let us be too unjust. We simply have to look at other places for food, that meets our expectations when staying at a 5-star-lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamnashida03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

We spent the night for our anniversary and it was marvelous! We love 4x4, so it was a great outing to drive to the top of Naudesnek. The hotel is beautiful and built to compliment the area (the walls look like the authentic Basotho hut walls in Lesotho). The room was amazing, huge and very comfortable.
We had the 5 course dinner, which was superb, and the breakfast was equally great. The hosts were friendly, helpful and we felt right at home.
We had a very pleasant stay and will definately return!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuiseMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJH33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntjesOasis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tenahead Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenahead Lodge

Address: Naudes Nek Pass | 30km From Rhodes, Rhodes 6170, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Rhodes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rhodes
Price Range: $286 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tenahead Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Tenahead Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing