We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss”
Review of The Ibis Lounge

The Ibis Lounge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Imagine tucking into slow-roasted Karoo lamb, potato and onion fritters, roasted baby butternut and fresh garden vegetables while enjoying the ambience of one of Nieu-Bethesda’s eclectic gathering spots. The Ibis Lounge, situated on Martin Street, is the place to be, whether it’s for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Open seven days a week, from 8am to 8pm (or when the last guest leaves), we serve burgers, pitas, steaks, pasta and curry. Try our lamb shank over pasta or allow us to tempt you with decadent desserts, marvelous milkshakes. Coffee aficionados can get their fix with their choice of cappuccino, latte, Americano, mocha or espresso – our range is selected from around the world, and we have strong and bitter, sweet medium and mild aromatic roasts to suit nearly every taste. All our meats are sourced locally, served with organic veggies from our garden, when in season. Our Slow Sundays are a treat when we offer guests a slow roast every Sunday from 1pm. Booking is essential as numbers are limited. In need of a little retail therapy? Our Karoo-themed gift shop stocks a variety of handmade artisan goods sourced in southern Africa. Browse through our range of pottery, clothing, art, soap, t-shirts, sweets, handspun wool, glassware, wooden items and more.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bliss”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

After reading about the Ibis Lounge on trip advisor we gave it a try for an early supper. So glad we did! The best lamb in the Karoo so far. Amazing Bredie and lamb shanks. The choc ice cream is a fab finish. Warm welcome and a great hostess... Will hopefully be back!

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheIbisLounge, Owner at The Ibis Lounge, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thanks for the kind words. We are grateful you took the time to write a review and look forward to having you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    30
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect place in winter (and summer too)”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We came to the Ibis Lounge on recommendation of our host Hester at Ganora Guestfarm. And she was right: Ibis is perfect to lounge away by the fire on a cold winter's day. We enjoyed excellent coffee and found the menu so enticing that we came back the next day for tomatoe breddie and Karoo lamb salad. Make sure to order some rolls on the side which are delicious and definitely leave room for dessert.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StarfishWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheIbisLounge, Owner at The Ibis Lounge, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thanks for eating with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy you enjoyed our food and we look forward to a return trip. Enjoy cycling !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Best food! Great atmosphere! Home away from home.”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The Ibis Lounge is a little gem in the heart of Nieu Bethesda. The town is very small and one does not expect much in terms of good food or quaint atmosphere. The Ibis Lounge provides both and so much more! It boasts a menu most Johannesburg or Cape Town chefs would die for, a warm fireplace from the cold Karoo wind and hospitality that makes one feel right at home. Such a welcome in fact that we went back the next day for our last breakfast before heading home.

If traveling to Nieu Bethesda for the Owl House, be sure to pop in and say hi to Terry & Indigo from The Ibis Lounge and stay for a good, hearty meal. If travelling past on your way to Cape Town or Graaf Reniet, be sure to at least pop in for a snack! Well worth the extra time.

Thank you Terry! See you soon :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SimoneBerger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheIbisLounge, Owner at The Ibis Lounge, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We just loving having you and your friends eat with us - was such fun ! Cant wait to see you all again. I'm looking forward to that and I am very happy you liked eating with us. You are the best kind of guests !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germiston, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of my most pleasant memories”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I tried all the restaurants in Nieu Bethesda. This one outclasses the rest by miles. I wanted to try every coffee. I want to eat that lamb neck curry again. The fire was lit, the leather couch so comfortable, friendly service, great desserts. Clean and stylish.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarkDavies503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheIbisLounge, Owner at The Ibis Lounge, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for writing a lovely review. It was great to have you here and I enjoyed talking to a fellow coffee lover!.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ibis. Best in town.”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Best coffee in town. Gourmet meals with friendly service and a shop full of interesting things. Also a booking agent for accommodation.

Helpful?
Thank Peet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheIbisLounge, Manager at The Ibis Lounge, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
We are happy you like our coffees and meals.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ibis Lounge also viewed

Nieu-Bethesda, Eastern Cape
Nieu-Bethesda, Eastern Cape
 
Nieu-Bethesda, Eastern Cape
Nieu-Bethesda, Eastern Cape
 
Nieu-Bethesda, Eastern Cape
Nieu-Bethesda, Eastern Cape
 

Been to The Ibis Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing