We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend more than one day here”
Review of Ganora Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ganora Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a lovely time at Gonora Guest Farm. The food was fantastic, the staff and owners are very friendly and helpful, the kids loved the fossil museum and the swim we had in the river!They also gave milk to the lambs and loved it. Its best to stay at least two nights to really explore the farm and the area, we always love a visit to the owl house. And the accomodation is also superb.
Definately a must see place!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ilse G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

I am glad that you and your family enjoyed it here. So glad your children had the experience of feeding the lambs and a river swim. Hope they will remember their farm experience for it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for Ganora Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 146 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

A visit to Ganora Farm is a fabulous experience and highly recommended. Hester and JP were extremely welcoming, the food was excellent and the accommodation superb. We stayed in the Khoi-San cottage which is perched above the farm and has wonderful views over the valley. All the staff were so helpful and friendly and we had the added delight of meeting Lulu, the Jack Russell, who accompanied us for many of our walks. If you are in the area don't miss this fantastic farm.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTown-HMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thanks for coming to see what Ganora is all about. Lulu missed you after your departure. Seems like you really spoilt her!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Thank you Hester, JP, Derek, Mac and the team for making our stay so special, the food was excellent, homely and tasty and we loved staying in your space, learning about and seeing the fossils, and bushman paintings and just enjoying the magnificent skys~scape.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thank you so much for visiting Ganora and Nieu- Bethesda. Max, Derek and the team is grateful about your acknowledgement ! Hope you will come to visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Hester and JP have a hidden gem. Everyone must go and visit them. With their fossil and bushman talks . Most interesting stories. Wonderful , efficient and friendly staff. Rooms are always perfect. Always love their food especially the biltong soup and pumpkin pie! Looking forward to My next visit.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

It was great fun hosting the photography group. We had such fun with the people attending. Sure everybody learned a lot about their camera's and are looking forward seeing everybody's pics. Can't wait for the next photography course that we will be hosting in March next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Fantastic and authentic farm experience. Comfy rooms, very accomodating hosts that arranged early meals for the kids and an interesting presentation from JP on fossil finds and history. The town of Nieu Bethesda looks tired and drab so our night at Ganora was a worthwhile experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caro h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

We always enjoy having children visiting Ganora. Thank you for coming and allowing us to share the fossils experience with you and your family. Hope you next time have time to enjoy our other discoveries like the bushman rock art.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Ganora is one of the best finds we have ever made. The accommodation, catering and general care provided by everyone was first class. The visit to San paintings and Boer War engravings with Hester was very interesting and quite touching. But the highlight, undoubtedly, was JP's fossil exhibition both in the little museum and in the veld. This was a life-changing experience. Also, the walks on the farm are super. One regret only, our stay was two nights, not two weeks! Many thanks to JP and Hester and their staff; we shall return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you for visiting Ganora. We love sharing our interests and discoveries with people that appreciate it as much as you do. Hope you have time to visit us again in the future to enjoy new discoveries we would hopefully make !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

After a long day on the road we reach our half way stop just outside Nieu-Bethesda. We were met by the local staff. Our rooms were clean and after a hot shower and fresh up. We joined Hester and JP for our dinner.
Well, all i can say after that well cooked " Kudu steak" and all the fresh vegetables.(not anyone can cook a steak the way JP did ) After night drinks on the verandah and experiencing the Karoo sky, we went to our warm beds. We, woke up early the next morning to the sounds of the farm activities. Ones again the fresh farm coffee and a BIG Farm breakfast
We had to leave and get on the road again. Thanks to Hester & JP and team for a unique experience and sharing Karoo and South African hospitality with us

Room Tip: Get to Ganora around lunch time or mid afternoon to join the team on a fossil and farm tour!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanieshrosbree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

We are glad to have been able to make your stay a memorable one. JP is impressed that you mention how you enjoyed his Kudu steaks ! We love spoiling our city guests with real farm food as it is one of the things that bring our guests back time after time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nieu-Bethesda
27.6 mi away
Bethesda Tower
Bethesda Tower
#3 of 7 in Nieu-Bethesda
26 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Ibis Lounge
The Ibis Lounge
#2 of 7 in Nieu-Bethesda
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Samara Private Game Reserve
Samara Private Game Reserve
#2 of 15 in Graaff-Reinet
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganora Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganora Farm

Address: Ganora Guestfarm, Nieu-Bethesda 6280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Nieu-Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Nieu-Bethesda
Price Range: $67 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ganora Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GIVE US ONE DAY AND WE GIVE YOU 280 MILLION YEARS! At Ganora you do not only get accommodation but to let you experience our discoveries we like to share with you. Our Accommodation is Three Star graded and "Highly Recommended" by AA. We do various options of accommodation. 1. A self catering cottage that sleeps 6 and has two bathrooms with a small lounge and kitchen as well as a patio overlooking the farm yard. 2. Standard double or twin en-suite bedrooms with tea and coffee facilities. 3. Larger double or twin en-suite bedrooms that can be with King - or single beds. It has a few extras and overlooks the lucern fields that might have sheep grazing in them at the time of your visit. GUIDED DAY TOURS TO: Bushman Rock art site, Anglo Boer War story & engravings, Fossil and artifact museum, Fossil walk, Medicinal plant walk, Sunset drinks. Swimming pool available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ganora Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing