We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the real deal”
Review of Ganora Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ganora Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“the real deal”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Fantastic and authentic farm experience. Comfy rooms, very accomodating hosts that arranged early meals for the kids and an interesting presentation from JP on fossil finds and history. The town of Nieu Bethesda looks tired and drab so our night at Ganora was a worthwhile experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caro h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
We always enjoy having children visiting Ganora. Thank you for coming and allowing us to share the fossils experience with you and your family. Hope you next time have time to enjoy our other discoveries like the bushman rock art.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    31
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
43
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Ganora is one of the best finds we have ever made. The accommodation, catering and general care provided by everyone was first class. The visit to San paintings and Boer War engravings with Hester was very interesting and quite touching. But the highlight, undoubtedly, was JP's fossil exhibition both in the little museum and in the veld. This was a life-changing experience. Also, the walks on the farm are super. One regret only, our stay was two nights, not two weeks! Many thanks to JP and Hester and their staff; we shall return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for visiting Ganora. We love sharing our interests and discoveries with people that appreciate it as much as you do. Hope you have time to visit us again in the future to enjoy new discoveries we would hopefully make !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

After a long day on the road we reach our half way stop just outside Nieu-Bethesda. We were met by the local staff. Our rooms were clean and after a hot shower and fresh up. We joined Hester and JP for our dinner.
Well, all i can say after that well cooked " Kudu steak" and all the fresh vegetables.(not anyone can cook a steak the way JP did ) After night drinks on the verandah and experiencing the Karoo sky, we went to our warm beds. We, woke up early the next morning to the sounds of the farm activities. Ones again the fresh farm coffee and a BIG Farm breakfast
We had to leave and get on the road again. Thanks to Hester & JP and team for a unique experience and sharing Karoo and South African hospitality with us

Room Tip: Get to Ganora around lunch time or mid afternoon to join the team on a fossil and farm tour!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanieshrosbree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
We are glad to have been able to make your stay a memorable one. JP is impressed that you mention how you enjoyed his Kudu steaks ! We love spoiling our city guests with real farm food as it is one of the things that bring our guests back time after time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hester and her staff were extremely polite and helpful at all times. Great salt-water swimming pool in which to cool off in the midst of a Karoo drought. Pleasant, well-appointed, clean bedrooms, with crisp linen on beds and decent towels. Water flow in shower was very weak! Biggest disappointment at Ganora was the food - most of our party rated it 2 out of 5. Dinners and breakfasts need urgent attention - venison pie was tasteless and poor selection of vegetables. But I would definitely stay there again as the food can be improved relatively easily with attention to detail! The venue also lacks a central lounge area away from dining room (which is well appointed).

Room Tip: Rooms closer to main house and dining room significantly better than those in southern wing. But all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank S00ther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sassenheim, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

You drive long kilometers through barren land. Then there is that last bump, a steep descent and there you are: Paradise! A warm welcome, comfortable room with a novel design shower, excellent meals. What a pity we only booked for two nights. Next time we'll know better.

Room Tip: Just book! All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Herbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Google Translation
Ik is blij om te hoor dat u dit so van genote heb by Ganora. Ik weet dat Nederland wel ver weg bin maar hoop tog dat u ons nogmaals eendag weer sal kan bezoek! Thank you for the review. We appreciate it very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

People and a place one wants to return to! If you want to experience farm life in the Karoo, a beautiful natural environment, fantastic home cooked meals, very friendly hospitality, great accommodation, Life on Earth as it was 250 million years ago in Ganora's fossils and JP's museum and presentation, bushman paintings and Boer War engravings close to the artist hamlet of Nieu Bethesda, go and visit Hester and JP on their farm Ganora. You may not get away on time! Kowie Strauss

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kowie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
It is always good to hear how our guests enjoyed their stay at Ganora. Hope you will return in the near future with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalsmeer
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

You would not expect to find this little oasis in the middle of the Karoo if you leave Nieu Bethesda for the 7 km gravel road to Ganora. Ganora is a 3 star accommodation but for me it is close to a 4 star. What makes is so special:

* creative design
* clean and spacious
* great value for money
* very friendly and handson hosts
* we absolutely adored "de Stoep" and the garden
* WiFi in the middle of the Karoo
* on a working sheep farm, great for kids! (occasionally kids can give small lambs the milk bottle)
* very interesting fossile tour on the premises and field (280 million year old ones)
* bushmen painting and herb tour was excellent
* lovely food

So it is more than a place to sleep, you need at least two but better three nights to experience this little Gem!

Room Tip: We very much liked the rooms with the shower and the pebbles on the floor. We stayed there in spring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are so glad we could share our little oasis with you! We hope to see you soon at Ganora again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nieu-Bethesda
27.6 mi away
Bethesda Tower
Bethesda Tower
#4 of 7 in Nieu-Bethesda
25 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Ibis Lounge
The Ibis Lounge
#2 of 7 in Nieu-Bethesda
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Samara Private Game Reserve
Samara Private Game Reserve
#2 of 14 in Graaff-Reinet
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Owlhouse Backpackers
Owlhouse Backpackers
#3 of 5 in Nieu-Bethesda
16 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Ganora Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganora Farm

Property: Ganora Farm
Address: Ganora Guestfarm, Nieu-Bethesda 6280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Nieu-Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Nieu-Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ganora Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GIVE US ONE DAY AND WE GIVE YOU 280 MILLION YEARS! At Ganora you do not only get accommodation but to let you experience our discoveries we like to share with you. Our Accommodation is Three Star graded and "Highly Recommended" by AA. We do various options of accommodation. 1. A self catering cottage that sleeps 6 and has two bathrooms with a small lounge and kitchen as well as a patio overlooking the farm yard. 2. Standard double or twin en-suite bedrooms with tea and coffee facilities. 3. Larger double or twin en-suite bedrooms that can be with King - or single beds. It has a few extras and overlooks the lucern fields that might have sheep grazing in them at the time of your visit. GUIDED DAY TOURS TO: Bushman Rock art site, Anglo Boer War story & engravings, Fossil and artifact museum, Fossil walk, Medicinal plant walk, Sunset drinks. Swimming pool available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ganora Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing