We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Awesome and Mellow Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Pescadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pescadero Surf Camp
san diego,ca
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An Awesome and Mellow Place”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My Husband and I stayed 10 days in mid June 2014 for our second time because the Surf Camp is exactly what we needed. Jaime and his staff were very personable and professional and will make sure your stay at their property will be a memorable one for you. We stayed in the main casa which was perfect for what we needed...it is the biggest unit and complete with a full kitchen with a stove. There is a common area where guests can freely cook their meals and also showers and restrooms. Looking forward to our next stay. Which will be in a week or a little over. These quaint towns that are a bit of a drive north of Cabo is totally worth it. So if you really want to experience genuine Baja California Sur lifestyle....head north from Cabo!

Room Tip: Every room is great....and is based on your budget. Which is a really nice option
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boltsfan858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    11
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
8
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terrace, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

My son and I are both involved in the ski industry and found Pescadero Surf Camp to be the perfect staging area for discovering the many adventures possible near Cerritos. Surf, dune buggies, fishing, boogie boarding or just relaxing by the pool.
Dining out or cooking in the open air or grilling was convenient.The local restaurants and taquerilla stands offer excellent quality food at good value. Huge thank you and praise to Jaime and the staff.
we look forward to seeing Pescadero Surf Camp in the future.

Room Tip: Couples have a good variety of choices for privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvanSabourin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Grounds and pool are remarkably clean. Staff all laid back and helpful, although not always there. This is not a resort, it's a place to pitch your tent or grab a casita and enjoy the peace of the area. It's probably not for everyone, thankfully, but if you end up here you will find like minded souls from around the globe, many interested in surfing, but not all. It feels like the kind of casual place that people just arrive at and the staff, somehow, accommodates them - but we actually had a reservation - really looking forward to the "penthouse". Sadly when we got there it had been given to someone else so we ended up in the camp house, which was a little too big and lonely for the 2 of us, but good for a group of friends/family. Toilets clean, plenty of hot water, ample supply of big clean towels, no mosquitos when we were here - definitely will go back and settle in for a few weeks.

Room Tip: The Penthouses look cool, if you can get one - otherwise the casitas all look fine. Camp house has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justhavingfun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santabarbara
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

The casitas and grounds here are Impeccable, pool is always spotless, and the relaxed atmosphere and friendly hosts allow you to really enjoy the beauty of Baja. Sure you may find some mosquitos here, as there is a pool, and its possible to enter the public restroom behind a slob and before the cleaning crew gets to it, but this place is far from a Hole! It's more like Heaven!!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank familiadecuatro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Disgusting bathrooms with little privacy. Mosquito infested rooms. Loud. Dirty kitchen facilities. Internet didnt work. Water from bathroom sink faucet a continuous drizzle (in a dessert -- inexcusable). No credit card accepted. Has great potential but owners haven't kept the place up.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank motmot66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My trip to Pescadero and to Surf Camp was one of the best trips I've taken in a longtime. With a poor snow season in the mountains where I work, I had some required time off on my hands and used it to book a last-minute, solo trip to Baja. Surf Camp is the PERFECT place to stay for any travelers looking to spend time on the beach and meet some amazing people. I can't say enough good things about this place. I brought a tent and camped for $10/night for 6 nights - and rented a surfboard for 5 days (they threw in soft racks for my car, a rash guard and wax) and my total bill was $160. Beyond the great price, I was in the company of amazing people the entire time and definitely hope to make a return trip.

For those trying to figure out what this place is (and what it is not), it's basically a rad backpacker-type hostel complete with a full kitchen, pool and BYO swim up bar. It is not a full-service hotel or a itinerary-style surf retreat, so if you're looking for either of those, this might not be what you're after. But for anyone looking for a great time with great people - you should absolutely stay here.

Tips: Rent a car if you want to be mobile and independent - neither beach is within walking distance but you can almost always get a ride with someone if you're willing to be flexible. If you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs as the roosters and road noise can be a little loud. I can sleep through anything so it wasn't an issue for me.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amelia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

You can't beat the location - 5 minutes to the surf break. There are beautiful secluded coves close by to explore. The hotel has a variety of rooms ranging from camping in a palapa with shared toilets/shower to rooms with your own bath. I brought my board, but I noticed they had decent boards to rent…not just NSPs. There is a pool and area to cook out. A great place to go with a group of friends. Only word of caution is to arrive during the day, driving in the area at night is dangerous.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherman1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Pescadero
1.8 mi away
Rancho Pescadero
Rancho Pescadero
#1 of 4 in El Pescadero
447 reviews
7.6 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
1.9 mi away
Cerritos Surf Town
Cerritos Surf Town
#3 of 4 in El Pescadero
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Olas de Cerritos
Olas de Cerritos
#2 of 8 in El Pescadero
58 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cerritos Beach Inn
Cerritos Beach Inn
#1 of 8 in El Pescadero
89 reviews
54.0 mi away
Casitas El Salitral
Casitas El Salitral
#3 of 9 in El Pescadero
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pescadero Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pescadero Surf Camp

Property: Pescadero Surf Camp
Address: Highway 19, El Pescadero, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > El Pescadero
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in El Pescadero
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Pescadero Surf Camp Hotel El Pescadero
Pescadero Surf Camp Mexico/El Pescadero - Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing