We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost there, but not quite luxurious yet”
Review of Cerritos Surf Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cerritos Surf Town
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in El Pescadero
Reviewed June 27, 2014

My husband and I visited in late-May. The weather was beautiful (the rest of the region is 90-100 degrees all day and sticky and humid, while it is in the 80s here during the day and 70s at night). The surfing was great. (Granted, that’s coming from two people who surfed for the first time here, but we had a great time and found that during certain parts of the day they were great waves to learn on.) The people are friendly; the closest town – Todos Santos, is safe and has everything you need (grocery store, restaurants, even an organic market); and the beach is relatively empty, giving it a private feel.

Pros:

We got a special deal for a one-bedroom room for six nights. When we booked the room, no one-bedrooms were available for the dates we were looking for, so we opted for a studio. Overall, we found it comfortable. Though there was no air conditioning, the standing fan kept us cool enough at night (in May), the bed was comfortable, and the dual sinks in the bathroom was nice.

The surf colony itself is beautiful. The pool and hot tubs are lovely, the outdoor beds with curtains are luxurious, and the landscaping is really well done. I wouldn’t change a thing.

Complaints:

Hot water – There was very little warm water for the shower, and it either came out burning hot or cold. We understood that this is in a desert setting and the Colony trucks in water, but if you’re paying $200+ per night, you expect to be able to take a warm shower at the end of a sandy day. They should truck in more water to make this possible.

Towels: We received two beach towels upon arriving. In order to get new ones we had to exchange them at the office. While not a big deal, this was a pain, especially when they ran out of towels and we had to re-use our sandy, wet towels from the day before. Same goes for the bath towels. The housekeeper replaced one towel per day, and since it always seemed to be the same one, we asked for a new shower towel halfway through our stay but the front desk was out. We had to wait until the next day to get a fresh towel.

Restaurant/bar: Given that the colony is removed from any main town, it would be nice if there were a second restaurant on the premises. While the food is very good, the dinner entrees are overpriced, and it would be nice to have more variety. We would have also liked to see the restaurant stay open past 9pm (the bar closes at 10pm, which we also felt was too early).
Overall, there were little mistakes made, which seem to be just growing pains. The Colony needs to figure out whether it’s a luxury resort or a surf village – right now the prices and the premises dictate the former, but the customer service dictate the latter. Once they figure that out, it should be smooth sailing.

First aid - One night I got a fever, but had forgotten a thermometer. The front desk neither had a thermometer nor any sort of first aid kit. This is a huge oversight. I would have also liked to see a very small stock of items for sale (bug spray, sunscreen, sunglasses, etc.)

Room Tip: We got a special deal for a one-bedroom room for six nights. When we booked the room, no one-bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank merslater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 402 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

Is this a 4 star resort? No, but that doesn't make it bad. We just got back from a three night stay and totally enjoyed ourselves. Some of the complaints that people had are legitimate, but won't negatively impact your trip in the least! Yes, the sheets and towels could be of higher quality and newer, but we had plenty of towels. Kitchen had the essentials, but we stopped on our way and picked up plastic cups, plates etc. and problem solved. The staff at the pool bar was great and the pool and hot tubs were clean. If you want to boogie board or surf there is a surf shack right in front of the resort and another down the beach about 2 minutes away.

We went into Todos Santos one day for breakfast and it was an easy drive. You MUST go to Hierbabuena while you are there. It's an incredible farm to table restaurant in El Pescadero - a truly amazing dining experience. For the best carnitas tacos stop in El Pescadero at a stand on the east side of the road that simply says Carnitas - the best tacos we had the entire week. I had an incredible massage from Gaby just a couple minutes down the beach - It was $20 for 30 minutes and really amazing.

Food at Cerritos Surf Colony was delicious. The chicken Chillaquiles are not to be missed. If you are looking to relax and you don't need to be pampered, but want a beautiful setting and room to spread out - this is your place. We will definitely go back if we can get another Groupon - I mnight have been slightly disappointed if we'd paid full rack of $300+ per night for a 2 bdrm villa, but at about $135 per night it was a bargain!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kwm60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed a week here, and found it the perfect romantic and relaxing getaway. The place is well marked and very easy to find as you drive up Highway 19 from Cabo (there’s a big sign on the west side of the road, near Km. 65). The road is dirt, with the characteristic “ripples” and a few significant bumps, but our little economy car handled it just fine (perhaps conditions worsen in the rainy season, however).

The staff is friendly and helpful and speak English. We had no issues or complaints with them, and our one maintenance request (light bulb) was attended to within the half-hour.

We stayed in Villa #9 and had a breathtaking beachfront view. Our villa was certainly not a 5-star hotel, but it was surprisingly spacious, comfortable, and acceptably clean (considering its proximity to sand and its open-to-the-sea-breeze palapas architecture). We came in June, and the breezes and fans make it so pleasant that there is no need for air conditioning.

The pool area is beautiful, surrounded by flowers and palm trees. We purchased our wine at Costco and didn’t buy a drink, but the poolside bar looked nice and appeared to serve good food too. The beach was clean and private and just a few steps down from our villa.

Every day we relaxed, walked on the beach, watched the surfers, played in the waves, and swam in the pool. We brought our own laptop and DVDs so we could watch movies (there is no television). We also brought a lot of books to read. We saw a yoga class on the beach one day, and there is also the option of getting a massage, though we did neither.

We walked up to the Hacienda on the bluff and explored. We also drove to Todos Santos (about 10 minutes north) and shopped their downtown area for souvenirs and trinkets. The grocery we tried in Todos Santos was unimpressive, though we did find eggs there, so we were glad we’d stocked up at Costco. There is an organic food market on the west side of Hwy 19 between the Colony and Todos Santos, though we never stopped there. We ate at El Gusto in Todos Santos for dinner one night, and at Hierbabuena in El Pescadero for a delicious lunch. We also stopped at Baja Beans twice for coffee—it is just minutes away. We took a day trip up to La Paz (about a 90-minute drive), and took a boat to Isla Espiritu Santo (another 90 minutes) to snorkel with sea lions; we went with Fun Baja – paid extra ($120 per) but got a great lunch and snack, and superb service. Back in La Paz we walked the Malecon seaside avenue and happened upon a hot-air balloon parade.

But otherwise we stayed at Cerritos Surf Colony and rested. We truly enjoyed our stay and are so glad we came here.

Room Tip: We had villa No. 9, which is a front-row (beachfront) villa, the first one south of the central pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerritosBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Cerritos Surf Town, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for the photos, please share if you have any from the adventure into La Paz… We thought your review was very informative and gave an honest opinion. If you find the time, please write up a review for what you saw while visiting there. Thanks again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This place was so much more than I could of imagined! It's the ultimate relaxing beach experience! We were there for 5 days. The thatched roof huts with amazing beach views were amazing. Service was super, food was above expected. Visiting Todos Santos is a must. Diego and Greg at the bar are exceptional. We will be going back and would like to bring our kids next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jfarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerritosBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Cerritos Surf Town, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for the review, and we do hope that you can bring your kids next time! The waves are perfect for learning to surf and the entire resort is very kid-family friendly. We welcome you back with open arms!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed here during October 2012 and experenced a nice Hurricane. During our time here the pool was continuously cloudy and contained debris. We attempted to eat the restaurant several times but they routinely were out of certain food on the menu. The best aspect of this place is the view of the ocean. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa that was ocean front. The villas are nicely decorated but lack AC. The thatch roof was cool but when the hurricane hit leaked and we had thatch debris on our beds.

The hacienda on the cliff is a nice getaway!!!! Also, it was cool to drive into Todos Santos for a day.

We ended up leaving two days early and stayed at a resort in Cabo before heading back to Denver, CO.

Room Tip: Try to stay in a villa with a beach view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Just got back yesterday from 6 nights with the family in three units. We had two one bedroom units and one two bedroom unit. The rooms are comfortable even without air conditioning as there is a cool breeze off the ocean and ceiling fans in the rooms. The beds are a little hard but not so much as to keep you from sleeping normally.
The units have palapa roofs which lets in air and also noise, just a note to add: If you don't like the sound of the ocean this may not be the place for you. The waves are larger a little ways out from shore and loud when they turn over. The good thing is the beach is shallow and safe for most everyone and the boogie boarding is really good. There are also surfers to watch ridding the bigger waves.
We can't say enough good things about the staff and the maids and a special thank you to Alex. Everyone was very helpful and responsive and the place was spotless the entire time we were there.
The pool was clean, a great temperature, and clear water. The hot tubs were hot and the water was clear. Grand kids age 5 and 7 had a great time in the pool every day during our stay.
We ate at the restaurant a couple of times and I will say the food was well above average but the service is a little spotty so be patient it's worth the wait. You can also order food and have it delivered to your room or patio. There are plenty of good places to eat in Todos Santos and Pescadore( Napoli Pizza shouldn't be missed) only 10 minutes away by car.
We had no interruptions in electrical power but yes the water will stop once in awhile as the have to truck it in but it comes back on in a few minutes. The kitchen appliances all worked and we fixed some meals on our own. There is sparse pots, pans and dishes in some units so check before you start cooking. We talked to management about this and they said they are working to correct the situation.
We also have to say the resort was just what we were looking for in that the place is beautiful, not crowded and has a very laid back atmosphere. The view of the beach from the front patio is to die for, we purchased 12 more nights to use for the next two years!

Room Tip: Try to get the units in the beach front side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fishinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerritosBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Cerritos Surf Town, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

That's great your large group had such a nice time, Thank you for sharing your tips and for mentioning staff that were helpful. Your family is welcome back each and every year :) On behalf of our management team, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We had purchased a voucher and used it for a 2 bedroom unit for 4 nights. For where this resort is located, the deal was great. We had Unit 4 right on the beachfront. Two bedroom units are really like a house. 2 bedrooms & 2 bathrooms upstairs (also a balcony), living/dining/kitchen (open floor plan) & 1/2 bath downstairs. One bedroom is much larger than the other, but they each have their own bathroom.

We had a couple cockroach encounters, but you are in the desert & this is where they live. It was really no big deal to get rid of them. I've stayed at 5 star desert resorts in Arizona that had cockroaches in rooms occasionally, so not really a negative relating to the upkeep of Surf Colony.

The full kitchen included the basics, but no extras. We had simple breakfasts in the room each morning but did not make other meals. I brought coffee filters & tea bags. We picked up water, coffee & breakfast food at Mega on our way from the airport.

The manager didn't seem to know much about area restaurants, but she was friendly & greeted me every day. On our first night, she specifically came looking for us to welcome us & ask if our room had what we needed.

We walked on the beach, swam in the pool & relaxed in the cooler of the two hot tubs. Very relaxing place.

We ate at the poolside restaurant (it's just a few tables by the pool) the first night. Food was ok - nothing special, out of many things, & pretty expensive for what you got.

We had been to the area about 5 years ago, so went into Todos Santos a couple days. Had good meals there. But we had fantastic meals in El Pescadero! Some of the best food we have ever had - fresh, local, organic.

I had read reviews before our arrival, so knew what to expect. This is a small Mexican style resort, not an American style resort. We lucked out & had no water availability issues. Showers were hot. Water has to be trucked into all the area businesses - just part of being in a desert.

I had read reviews that said there were no beach/pool towels, so I brought some but they gave us beach towels at check-in. You do need to return beach towels at check-out or you'll be charged. You can also exchange for clean ones throughout your stay.

Beds are hard. My boyfriend & I like a firm bed, so we were fine. My son likes a softer bed & found his bed uncomfortable. Bedding was basic, but fine.

This is a great place if you want a quiet, relaxing visit. It's probably not a good choice if you are looking for nightlife or if you want a more high-end type experience.

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank PatDSalemOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Pescadero
8.7 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
362 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rancho Pescadero
Rancho Pescadero
#1 of 4 in El Pescadero
450 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#5 of 8 in Todos Santos
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
8.9 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 8 in Todos Santos
636 reviews
9.0 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerritos Surf Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerritos Surf Town

Address: Km 67, highway 19 | Cerritos Beach, El Pescadero 23300, Mexico (Formerly Cerritos Surf Colony)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > El Pescadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in El Pescadero
Price Range: $121 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cerritos Surf Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cerritos Surf Colony is located on world famous Cerritos Beach with a reputation frequently noted in Surfer Magazine for champion surfing. Cerritos Beach is the best beach in Cabo, and voted first runner up in Los Cabos Magazine! Cerritos Surf Colony is a neighbor to both the Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel (a majestic mansion hotel located on a private cliff at the shore of the ocean), and the celebrity frequented hot spot Cerritos Beach Club & Surf where you can get surfing lessons, board rental, and great food.Cerritos Surf Colony is a beach front resort of Mayan inspiration and thatched palm roofs. The free standing studio, one, two, and four bedroom villas are solar energy assisted. Enjoy our amazing swimming pool and bar, surf the waves out your back door , climb the Sierra de la Lagunas, explore the artist colony of Todos Santos, or just lay back in your own palm shaded hammock.ATV rental, horseback riding, kayaking, fishing, art gallery walks, hiking Triple Waterfall, Voluntourism, massage, are just some of the things to enjoy here in Baja California. Los Cerritos provides simplicity, tranquility and a break from city life that you have been longing for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Cerritos Surf Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerritos Surf Colony Hotel El Pescadero
Cerritos Surf Town Mexico/El Pescadero - Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing