We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went With Realistic Expectations, Had A Great Time!!”
Review of Cerritos Surf Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cerritos Surf Town
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in El Pescadero
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Went With Realistic Expectations, Had A Great Time!!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Cerritos Surf Colony is a great place to stay, overall. The location is simply beautiful.
The only major room issue was the lack of hot water. It took quite a while to warm up and once it did it only stayed that way for about five minutes. Each unit has its own tank less water heater, so if you go and have trouble just ask to have the tank adjusted.
They should also put a floor mat at the entrance of each villa to cut down on the sand that gets tracked in.
We had NO problem with bugs...zero...nada. Bought a can of bug spray and did not have to use it at all. No problems with the roof, either. The Maid service came everyday and they gave us clean towels every time we asked. The King size mattress was a bit firm but slept great, especially to the sound of the waves. Pillows nice, and big!!
Having a kitchen was terrific. We mostly cooked for ourselves. When we did venture out for meals they were always good. But remember it is Mexico so the service is a bit slow.
The pool was nice. Not heated which was fine with me. Jets in one of two hot tubs worked. Both were warm, though. 24 hour security staff on duty and we never felt unsafe the whole time there.
Walk up to the Hacienda to watch the sunset.
Two areas of concern not directly related to Surf Colony. DO NOT use Dollar Rent-A-Car at the airport. Very deceptive in their tactics and the way they force you to buy the insurance for $60.00 a day. If they were in the U.S. they would probably be investigated for fraud. Upon check out we observed other customers checking in who were experiencing the same issue we had. DO NOT, DO NOT, DO NOT use them. Did I say DO NOT use them enough?? Contact me if you want a further explanation.
The other area is related to the Surf Shack. We did no activities there except try to book a four hour whale watching excursion with Scott for $140.00. Due to "ocean swells" at Cerritos Scott referred us to Body Glove Catamaran and "Capt. Cortez" (a personal friend of his) in Cabo San Lucas. DO NOT use Body Glove Catamaran and Capt. Cortez, despite what Scott at the Surf Shack tells you. Waste of time and money. Our 10:00 a.m. departure time left a half hour late due to a no-show couple Cortez waited for (he already had our money, what did he care), we saw one quick glimpse of a whale's tail from over 200 yards away and were back in port less than two hours later!! Why so fast? Because Cortez had booked another tour for 12:30!!! We were SO PISSED!!! Whale watching was the number one thing on our list of things to do on this trip. Later we found out Cortez only charges $100 per couple. Scott told us $140.00 so he could pocket $40 bucks. I gave him an extra $20 for his help, not knowing at the time that he had already pocketed $40 from us. I don't mind paying for services, but don't like being lied to.
We would definitely go back to the Surf Colony if the opportunity presents itself. In fact, the owner of the Surf Colony (who happened to be there when we checked out) said come back and he would personally take us out whale watching for the ENTIRE day. Good Guy who is really trying to make the place a top notch destination for travelers.

Room Tip: Ocean View Room Is Wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BPersonett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    155
    68
    29
    35
See reviews for
103
165
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We spent 4 nights at this hotel recently and to sum it up, all I can say is that it was disappointing. The location is great as it is out of the way of noisy Cabo and it is only 10 minutes from Todos Santos. The Cerritos beach is also a good place to relax and enjoy the sun. As other reviews have pointed out, when staying in an "off the grid" hotel, the expectation of accommodations should be lowered. However, the Surf Colony villas site has so many maintenance issues that it can leave anyone dumbfounded! Here is a list of the issues that we encountered during our stay:

- None of the hot tubs worked properly. Either the water was too cold or too hot or the jets were not working. Essentially the hot tubs became bath tubs!

- The shower’s hot water was on and off but mostly off.

- The toilets did not flush properly. We literally had to take off the toilet tank covers and manually pull the flushing mechanism to make them work!.

- The beds were hard and the pillows were of very poor quality.

- The bedding was very thin and just plain cheap and was not changed in four days.

- Even a small detail such as the main door was difficult to open as the key insert was too close to the door frame to the point that you had to use two hands to be able to unlock the door!

- Although we have no complaints about the quality of the food served at the Restaurants, if you eat there at night you will barely be able to see the food they serve as there is no proper lighting at night. All that they offer is a couple of tea candles! Sad indeed when you are paying $20 per meal!

- The music played at the Restaurant is what they call “Classic top 40” American music! I guess that listening to Madonna and the like appeals to somebody, but does this have to happen at 8:00 a.m. while having breakfast?

- Wi-Fi access was spotty and worked intermittently in the bar area. I normally would not care much about this but remember that you are “off the grid” and there is no phone or TV service in the Villas.

- The roofs in all the villas are made out of dried palm leafs called “palapa”. This is the material used by the poor in Latin America when they can’t afford a proper roof! It might look cute but at night when the bugs start getting thru the holes in the palapa the cute ends right there! If you suffer from any kind of allergies do not even consider this place as this type of roof can lead to allergic reactions.

Now on to the good things:

- The proximity to Todos Santos is great. That allowed us to go to this charming town every day.

- The service at the bar was very good. The food was good, a bit expensive but good.

- Access to “La Hacienda” was great to have as this is an amazing place to go for drinks when the sun is setting.

- The kitchen had newer working appliances. If you do come here you should make a stop at the Mega in Cabo and buy supplies for your stay.

- We had a two level Villa with a nice size balcony that we used every day to relax while having a drink.

- Parking is plentiful and we felt very safe during our stay.

In summary the location for this resort is excellent however the many discomforts of the property leaves a lot to be desired. If you don’t mind roughing it and you can get a good internet deal it might work out OK. Hopefully, the new managers eventually fix the many issues this property currently has. It has so much potential!

Room Tip: If possible get a waterfront Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank yvrgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerritosBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Cerritos Surf Town, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
The scores you gave us on our individual categories, seemed to be a little higher then your overall score of two, it sounds like you enjoyed many things about your stay. We will take your suggestions into consideration. The water is however something the entire surrounding area struggles with. Something like the music can be requested by any guest, the servers are happy to change a station for any guest. If you would like to discuss anything please do not hesitate to call us directly to voice any concerns. Thank you. 1-877-780-8951
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Pescadero hotels

Ogden, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I thought the resort was excellent for a family vacation down to Cabo. We stayed in a spacious two bedroom villas that overlooks the ocean. Nothing over the top fancy just exactly what you need to experience Mexico. Patio chairs and table make easy to just sit there and enjoy the sun and waves. We traveled in a group of 9 and stayed in two villas, our the house keeper did not come due to we had the only key. Family members staying in the villa next to us complained of some lights being out and lack of hot water for the shower. The bar/grille is ok, we found the morning bartenders seemed a little bit happier to be serving us. We made breakfast everyday in the villa before heading out to experience coastal Mexico. We just went grocery shopping in the next town north of us. While the resort is about an hour north of Cabo the piece and quiet is well worth the drive. Really the only downside I could think of was the bed was really hard. The wi-fi is only available around the pool and bar area, not the fasted speeds but nice to check email while enjoying a drink. Overall the Cerritos Surf Colony was excellent place to experience Mexico nothing over the top or below expectation it was just right.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cobra8150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I just got back last night with a group of 9. We had an amazing time and would go back tomorrow if we could. We had 2 villas and had a few issues, like the light bulbs were out and we never had our room cleaned or trash taken out. These were mirror issues. We saw no bugs, ants, or Mildew. I am starting to wonder if the problems are just certain villas. We ate at the bar almost every night and had a great experience. The prices were a little high but I expected that because it is a hotel restaurant. The hot tubs were warm one night but the other 5 nights they were hot.

After visiting the surf colony I would buy a ownership if I could.


Can't wait to tell everyone about this gem....

Room Tip: The only recommendation I would make would to bring a flashlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janesecanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

My wife and I just returned from our second trip to Cerritos in two years. We had a fantastic time and they seem to be on the right track. Our 5 star rating is heavily based on the price we paid and the location and vibe. There are still improvements that need to be made, but you can't beat the value. Now that the promotional price is over we will have to see what the rates look like before we decide if we will return.

You have to go in with the right expectations and you will thoroughly enjoy your time there. Va few keys:

(1) Get a car. There are great places to explore...Todo Santos, Playa de Palmas, etc.
(2) Make sure you stock up on the essentials on your way to the resort. The Walmart in Cabo is nice.
(3) You're right on the beach so you can expect some ants. Just use common sense and keep things in ziplock bags. Bring a few gallon size ones. Don't worry about the screen door during the winter months since there are no bugs.

We rented surf boards and took lessons from the Surf Shack - right on the beach in front of the hotel. The owner was great and provides his lessons based on what you want to achieve.

Hotel restaurant was great for lunch, but dinner was a bit expensive.

We ate a bunch of dinners at the Beach Club which is up the beach towards the Hacienda. This is a great location with amazing food and drinks. The tables are right on the beach. Make sure you get down their by 6:30 since the kitchen closes at 6:40. I would recommend the fish ceviche and the combo enchiladas. The sangria is refreshing.

A few recommendations for the resort staff. I think they made good changes from last year - more of a team approach to running the place. One area for improvement is overall knowledge of the area, restaurants and activities. The knowledge was limited and there wasn't one person that was dedicated to providing advice. If new places open the resort should make sure someone on their staff tries it out so they have first hand knowledge. Also, they need to provide some materials at check-in about the area - recommendations, must do's, eyc.

See my other reviews of the area for recommendations on restaurants and activities.

Room Tip: Try to get beachfront. The one bedrooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Howie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerritosBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Cerritos Surf Town, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your review and suggestions for our future guests. We are currently working towards improving our communications with guest and informing them with great suggestions and knowledge for their trip! Thank you and we welcome you back to see them improvements on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This really is a beautiful location and the exterior is beautiful and clean and well kept, the Chef is extraordinary. The rest is extremely sub par, the office staff was barely helpful with anything. The first night there was very cold, we went to the office the next day to ask for a blanket for each room as there were no extras in the rooms and they had one thin comforter on the beds, they said they check to see if they could find any, they finally found ONE!, really this is a luxury resort and they can't come up with a blanket. Neither of our rooms screen doors were usable, kept falling off the track or stuck so you couldn't open or close, we asked the office staff to fix them, but in 7 days they never showed up, we just didn't use the screens. Nothing could be left on the counter or it would be full of ants or spiders with in 15 minutes. Curtains were old and falling apart and falling off the rods, the ones in the bathroom were moldy. Asked housekeeping is she could change our towels, so she just took them, after 2 hours or so we went to the office to ask for more towels, they said they would look and see if they could find any (?? don't they have a place for linens) it was a 3 hour wait, they finally found some. Housekeeping did not clean, did not understand anything we asked them to do, I took the trash to the office to get it emptied one day, the dust on the ceiling fans was so thick and grouse we didn't dare turn them on, the bar staff is sooooooo slow, we had dinner one night in the DARK, we asked for a light or candle so we could see our meal and they brought us 2 small t-lights. After dinner we asked for the check, 30 minutes later and there were only 3 other tables with people at them, we still did not get our check, we left the table, they knew us and knew they'd come find us. They did and it took another 30 minutes to get it paid, credit cards really confused them. The hot tubs were freezing cold in the morning, when it was a nice temp that one would want to use them and then at least108 in the evening, literally too hot to sit in. The exceptional fitness room was a padded room for wrestling or kick boxing, nothing else, there was NO SPA. When checking out they told us we had 3 room charges from the bar, we knew we did not charge anything to our room and when questioned they could find them and said we were OK???? If this place had some TLC and a good manager it would really be a fabulous place to stay but stay away until then.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank K Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My wife and I recently were back at Cerritos; we stayed last January for 4 nights, and again this January for 5 nights ( we bought a block of 10 nights). We obviously liked it enough to come back (despite some mild drawbacks), and I think its getting better.
The year prior, there were power and water black-outs, usually in the middle of the night. This time, there were no black-outs. We had a one bedroom villa, and it was fairly well equipped; we requested a blender and a coffee maker, and they provided them for us. the staff at Cerritos had a complete turnover, and its for the better; they are much more accommodating and much less defensive about any requests. example: a year prior, they charged $10/day for really spotty wifi that only worked around the pool. Now, its included, which is such the common sense thing to do. Still limited bandwith, but hey, you deal with it. They have daily housekeeping. There is now a shack out front where u can rent boogie boards and surf boards and get lessons. I rented a boogie board for 4 days, and loved it!
Read these reviews and come prepared. Rent a car. Buy your groceries in Cabo prior to coming to Cerritos. OMG, stop at Asi & Asado for tacos in Cabo beforehand and pick up enough tacos for the week. Buy your own booze and blend your own pina coladas. Take said pina colada to the beach. What else do you need?
If given a choice between one of the resorts in Cabo or Cerritos, i'll take Cerritos anyday. But it depends what you want. I love waking up to the ocean, make my own coffee in my villa, go out to beach to just stretch, read, and bop back and forth into the ocean. I can buy overpriced lunch or dinner, or make my own. I can drive 8 miles into Todos Santos and hang out there for the day if I want, its all super leisurely. And I don't have to fight over patio chairs or space or even be bothered by other people.
BTW, I didn't need a wetsuit to swim in the ocean. The ocean was warmer than the unheated swimming pool.
We liked it enough we extended our balance of rooms; we now have 10 more nights in a 2 bedroom villa to be used in the next 2 years, and we are super excited to be back next year.

Room Tip: Of course, request an oceanfront villa! But if not, the ones right behind them aren't bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Huda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Pescadero
2.4 mi away
Rancho Pescadero
Rancho Pescadero
#1 of 4 in El Pescadero
447 reviews
8.7 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
354 reviews
9.0 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
269 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 8 in Todos Santos
614 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#6 of 8 in Todos Santos
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerritos Surf Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerritos Surf Town

Property: Cerritos Surf Town
Address: Km 67, highway 19 | Cerritos Beach, El Pescadero 23300, Mexico (Formerly Cerritos Surf Colony)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > El Pescadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in El Pescadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cerritos Surf Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cerritos Surf Colony is located on world famous Cerritos Beach with a reputation frequently noted in Surfer Magazine for champion surfing. Cerritos Beach is the best beach in Cabo, and voted first runner up in Los Cabos Magazine! Cerritos Surf Colony is a neighbor to both the Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel (a majestic mansion hotel located on a private cliff at the shore of the ocean), and the celebrity frequented hot spot Cerritos Beach Club & Surf where you can get surfing lessons, board rental, and great food.Cerritos Surf Colony is a beach front resort of Mayan inspiration and thatched palm roofs. The free standing studio, one, two, and four bedroom villas are solar energy assisted. Enjoy our amazing swimming pool and bar, surf the waves out your back door , climb the Sierra de la Lagunas, explore the artist colony of Todos Santos, or just lay back in your own palm shaded hammock.ATV rental, horseback riding, kayaking, fishing, art gallery walks, hiking Triple Waterfall, Voluntourism, massage, are just some of the things to enjoy here in Baja California. Los Cerritos provides simplicity, tranquility and a break from city life that you have been longing for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Cerritos Surf Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerritos Surf Colony Hotel El Pescadero
Cerritos Surf Town Mexico/El Pescadero - Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing