We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing experience”
Review of Cerritos Surf Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cerritos Surf Town
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in El Pescadero
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
“Most amazing experience”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Me and some friends stayed at the surf colony for a grad trip and had the best time!! We stayed ocean front. It was beautiful and the community and staff we a blast to be around. Such a great place! One of the best vacations I've taken!

Room Tip: Beach front villa!
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Zoera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    154
    67
    29
    35
See reviews for
102
163
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at Cerritos Surf Colony during the 4th of July weekend for a week and we had an amazing time. The property is beautiful and away from the craziness of Cabo. The 2 bedroom ocean front villa is everything you want and more..it's stocked with kitchen supplies and we used it almost everyday to cook our meals. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. We slept every night with the sound and the breeze of the ocean. Since we had our 3 yr old daughter, safety was very important to us...and the villas were very safe. We would even leave our villas without locking the door to go to the pool or beach. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They offer cardio classes right on the beach, if you feel so inclined to work out. The location of the Surf Colony was great since it's an easy drive to Cabo and to La Paz (40 mins each) and Todos Santos (10 mins away). Best vacation ever and looking forward to going back next year! THANKS ROGER for being such an awesome host!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico city
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Bring the whole family and explore Baja California. You can start surfing lessons and be in Cabo San Lucas in just 40 min. Great value for your money. Kids will love it!!! See you in the waves... Don't forget to bring food if you want. They have a small ice box and also some pool toys and beach games. During your trip insect repellant and sunscreen is a most...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serranovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile


We had a great time at this one of a kind SURFER resort for 1 week.The grounds were beautiful , the ocean was awesome and we had a view of the ocean from every direction. It really is true that the staff was amazing. Everyone was so friendly and helpful.Everyone from the front desk, the waiters and even the gardners and groundskeepers were always smiling, friendly and helpful. One person at the front desk saved us. My husband needed to do some work and brought the wrong cord to charge his computer. I had visions of my husband spending time in the computer room and not with me. Artureo was amazing. He found a cord for my husband that afternoon and this allowed my husband to spend time with me! At first the resort grounds seemed really large. However, after you got the lay of the land it actually wasn't so big that it overwhelmed you. The restaurants were great and I felt very reasonably priced. Cerritos Beach Club was very reasonably priced and The Surf Colony Restaurant was a happening spot! People seemed to really enjoy it there, as did we! Watching the surfers was such a blast! All walks of life in these waters. The local restaurants in town, very close to Todos Santos, were amazing.. 5 star.. There was enough variety with all the restaurants and we never felt the need to leave the small community of Todos Santos. I will never stay in Cabo again, I loved being away from crowds of people. The rental car prices were so cheap too, and we could bike everywhere. The last resort we stayed at in Cabo required us to get a $40 cab everytime we left the resort to go to town.This can really add up the expense.They had a very resonable priced grocery store on the grounds. The store was actually larger then anticipated. It was a real grocery store, not some little hole in the wall. There was a good variety of fruits and veggies and the prices were fine. I did hear about a farmers market that we will definitely goto next time. Next time I would not spend the $ at Costco when we landed because the store had everything we needed without the extra expense.I would go back to The Surf Colony in a hearbeat.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerritosBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Cerritos Surf Town, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
On behalf of Cerritos Beach Management I would like to graciously thank you for the rave review! It is so wonderful to hear that this was a perfect vacation for you and even possibly the best ever! Wow, not that is a compliment and something we will be proud of. Taking the time to write a review is very much appreciated as we know it takes some time. Our US Management are all very happy to hear that the staff on location is taking such good care of our guests, it is something that we hold in our top priority. Please come back for another visit and consider staying at our Hacienda Cerritos Resort or newly built Mayan Village on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This place is wonderful. We just got back from a seven night stay at Cerritos Surf Colony and we loved it and can't wait to go back. The pool is huge and we spent a lot of time playing in it. The wait staff is great, very friendly and helpful. We had an ocean facing bungalow which had a fanstastic view. The sand and ocean are beautiful and very nice and clean. The location makes you feel like you are away from everything which is very nice but you are only 10 minutes from great food and lots of little shops. The food was very food. We ate every night in Todos Santos and Pescadero. If you need something just ask. Every time I asked for anything they would bring it right away. We will be going back. We made some new friends and lots of memories and look forward to going back soon. Thanks Cerritos Surf Colony for a wonderful family vacation.

Room Tip: Ocean facing bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at The Hacienda Resort located above, within view of The Surf Colony Restaurant. So we decided to ventured down to the hut style restaurant on the beach by The Surf Colony. It's a cute location. We enjoyed a couple cold drinks and shared a couple appetizers. It is right on the beach and we loved getting to watch all the people body surfing and surfing in the ocean. The staff was friendly and told us about other local hot spots to check out in the little town of Todos Santos. The food itself was displayed very beautifully on the plate and although we really felt like tourists, we loved the drink umbrella and extra fruit! Looking back, that is one of the top moments for us on our entire trip. Thank you to the staff and especially the bartender. If only those drinks weren't so good, then I would remember his name! I recommend at least stopping in and walking through.

Room Tip: The little huts were adorable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I just got back from a six day trip to Cerritos Surf Colony, and honestly had the best time ever. My friend Mary purchased a deal through Groupon, and it was about to expire, so I was lucky enough to be able to go with her. I have not had a vacation this relaxing probably ever. The resort was very easy to find, and really not too far from Cabo with Todos Santos not more than a 10-15 minute drive, as well. Todos Santos was very charming, and really fun to visit- just a nice option if the morning happened to be a little overcast. The restaurants all seem to have beautiful lush courtyards. Of note, Los Arcos has a really, really pretty garden behind it that is worth seeing.

Cerritos was such a fun place to stay- we had a studio bungalow with a perfect view of the surf. We became a little spoiled falling asleep to and waking up to the sound of the ocean. We had read the reviews here prior to going, and it really helped because we stocked up on items for the week at the Mega Mart in Cabo before taking off for Cerritos based on recommendations. Whatever our place didn't have, the staff was more than happy to provide us with. Everyone was extremely nice and very helpful. I found it odd that I hadn't read many reviews about the food, too. The chef is amazing- the food was gourmet quality and everything we sampled was absolutely delicious. I would have been happy eating every meal there.

Everyone staying at the resort was very nice, too. The way it's set up, it's easy to get to know your neighbors, but you have your privacy, as well. There were a lot of couples and families, but it was the perfect place for our girl trip. The Hacienda that sits up above the colony is gorgeous with very eclectic decor and a breathtaking view of the sunset from it's tower. If you stay at the colony, you're able to use the pool and the gym at the Hacienda. I probably took 100 pix of the sunset, it was so beautiful. It was the perfect ending for the trip. We were both so sad when we had to leave. It was just what we both needed, and we're definitely going to make a point of making it back for another getaway.

Special thanks to Julian who faithfully asked us if we wanted to do boot camp every morning and wanted to surf every afternoon. He gave us great ideas of what to do in the area, and really made sure we had the best time and were well taken care of. You might be the sweetest guy, ever. Next time, we have to have a bonfire.

I would have loved to have another six days, just to have spent more time in Todos Santos or to have gone horsebackriding. There's a place just beyond the resort, as well, called the Sandbar that has bonfires and live music that sounded like a blast, too.

I've been to Mexico a couple of times a year for years now, and this was definitely my best trip- it was very relaxing, memorable and off the beaten path.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laurie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerritosBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Cerritos Surf Town, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are very pleased that we were able to make a wonderful impression on your seven night stay with us. Thank you for highlighting our unique & off the beaten path location and your service experience from our dedicated team members. At THE SURF COLONY we take great pride in ensuring that all guests are able to enjoy themselves by the uncommon Mexican experience we’re able to provide through embodying the essence of culture in our customer service and distinct features of our hotel that are uncommon to our competitors. Thank you for your excellent review! Please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Pescadero
8.7 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 9 in Todos Santos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rancho Pescadero
Rancho Pescadero
#1 of 4 in El Pescadero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#5 of 9 in Todos Santos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
0.8 mi away
Cerritos Beach Inn
Cerritos Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in El Pescadero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cerritos Beach Hotel Desert Moon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerritos Surf Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerritos Surf Town

Property: Cerritos Surf Town
Address: Km 67, highway 19 | Cerritos Beach, El Pescadero 23300, Mexico (Formerly Cerritos Surf Colony)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > El Pescadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in El Pescadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cerritos Surf Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cerritos Surf Colony is located on world famous Cerritos Beach with a reputation frequently noted in Surfer Magazine for champion surfing. Cerritos Beach is the best beach in Cabo, and voted first runner up in Los Cabos Magazine! Cerritos Surf Colony is a neighbor to both the Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel (a majestic mansion hotel located on a private cliff at the shore of the ocean), and the celebrity frequented hot spot Cerritos Beach Club & Surf where you can get surfing lessons, board rental, and great food.Cerritos Surf Colony is a beach front resort of Mayan inspiration and thatched palm roofs. The free standing studio, one, two, and four bedroom villas are solar energy assisted. Enjoy our amazing swimming pool and bar, surf the waves out your back door , climb the Sierra de la Lagunas, explore the artist colony of Todos Santos, or just lay back in your own palm shaded hammock.ATV rental, horseback riding, kayaking, fishing, art gallery walks, hiking Triple Waterfall, Voluntourism, massage, are just some of the things to enjoy here in Baja California. Los Cerritos provides simplicity, tranquility and a break from city life that you have been longing for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Cerritos Surf Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerritos Surf Colony Hotel El Pescadero
Cerritos Surf Town Mexico/El Pescadero - Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing