We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing vacation”
Review of Cerritos Surf Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cerritos Surf Town
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in El Pescadero
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“relaxing vacation”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We spent five days at the Surf Colony in June of this year. Friends of the family were getting married at the Hacienda near by and we came for the wedding and a short vacation. The resort was awesome. I loved the mornings on the patio, watching the waves, drinking my coffee and just totally relaxing. Everything you need is right there, The restaurant is at pool side, swim up bar and excellent food. Close enough to Cabo to drive in for the day though we preferred the little town of Todos Santos.Everyone is so friendly, the service was excellent," Matt" was available and checked in on us through out the day to make sure we had everything we needed. Maps, day trip information and where to go to eat.. Did I mention the view, anywhere else you would pay double for a beach front studio villa. We did find the bed a bit firmer than we personally prefer, we still slept well. We did not find the resort to be a "party" place. This is not Cabo. There is still plenty to do, surfboards, wakeboards etc are available and lessons as well. Massages at pool or beach side. Rent a car and drive to Todos Santos and or Cabo and spend a few hours or the day. Many other beaches close by, but this one is apparently the safest to swim in. The time went by to quickly, I hope we will be able to return.

Room Tip: We would choose the beach front studio villa again. The view is awesome and even during June it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PattyJimW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    154
    67
    29
    35
See reviews for
102
163
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Had a good time here it's clean and spent most of the time in the water. Curley who's name I can't remember is super friendly and just wants to help make the stay here a good one. I would come back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Karlary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shallowater, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

For the price we paid with a coupon, this was a great vacation. We stayed in a studio villa & although it was not a luxury hotel room, it was adequate. The view from the bed of the ocean was amazing. However, the bed itself was not comfortable. It was small, a double bed, I believe, and very much needed replacing. There was an ocean breeze, however, the nights were somewhat uncomfortably warm & if we return, I will pack a small tabletop fan in my luggage. There is a ceiling fan, but for those of us accustomed to A/C, an additional fan would have been much better. We purchased soft drinks & juice along with snacks to have in the villas, however, there is little, if any ice available for making your own drinks. The only ice available was from the bar & we had to take a pitcher to request some. The small dorm refrigerators in the studio villas only have a tiny freezer compartment, so there was no way to keep the ice from the bar in our room. The pool and pool area are beautiful & the two cabanas that sit right at the edge of the pool & face the ocean provided the best shady, breezy places for reading or naps. There are only 2 facing the beach, so in order to use one, you have to go early to stake one out. There are other shaded cabanas, but they are on the opposite side of the pool from the beach with a pool & mountain view. The service we experienced was excellent! Matt checked us in & made the check-in process virtually effortless. He was also available & visible with his friendly smile throughout our stay to assist or offer suggestions for eating or activities. The food was beyond excellent & very reasonable. Jesus, Fernando & Diego provided great drinks & worked very hard to meet our needs and/or requests. We agree that the chef does an amazing job of preparing a wide variety of menu items. Guests just need to be aware that all menu items may not be available every day due to the remote location, including ice, entree items & ingredients for drinks. We stayed 6 nights & ate all our meals there with the exception of two, and because of the variety of the menu, we enjoyed many different foods. The only meal which did not exceed our expectations was when we ordered steak. Everything else was fresh & delicious, especially the shrimp nachos & the ceviche. It would be good to know ahead of time that there has been a severe drouth in the area, so when driving from Cabo to Cerritos Beach, it is very barren & depressed looking. However, once arriving at the villas, they have done a good job of maintaining grass & beautiful flowers creating an oasis atmosphere. A nearby attraction that is a must is Art & Beer, just down the road from the villas. It is hard to describe, but is an unforgettable part of the trip. If you like fresh guacamole or a one-of-a-kind Bloody Mary, you must experience Art & Beer! Also, since villa guests may use the Hacienda pool, plan an evening to go swim in the lovely pool, have a cocktail & watch a magnificent sunset! Lastly, know that everything is casual in this area! Even dinner is eaten at the poolside tables, so save yourself the packing trouble & just bring a couple of swimsuits, cover-ups & maybe shorts if you decide to go into Todos or to Art & Beer. Very little is needed in the way of clothing. I agree with other reviews that I would not pay the nightly rates for this place, but the coupon price we paid, along with the very reasonable food prices, made for a very economical, quiet getaway. If you want to relax, enjoy the pool & bar or surf, this is perfect. If you need air conditioned rooms, high-end beds & nightlife...this would not be the place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front row have the best breeze since there is no a/c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Gwen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

For the price we paid on DealChicken this resort was Awesome. The pool and bar with their huge pool beds were amazing. The road from Cabo to Cerritos is not treacherous at all like others had stated...It is a divided, 4 lane highway that is smoother than most in the U.S. The road to the Surf Colony has yet to be paved however, (it's on the To Do List) and it is about as bumpy a ride as you'll find...Drive it at about 30 MPH seems to be the magic number to lessen the bumps but pretty much destroyed the rental vans suspension and alignment. As far as the bar/restaurant, Jose is an outstanding Chef! Every meal we had was very good. There were 6 of us in our group so it sometimes took a while as he is almost singlehandedly creating the meals from fresh ingredients...Diego and Fernando were our bar/wait staff most of the days there. They are very friendly and usually got the orders right. Twice we did have things forgotten, a salad once and nachos the other time. Fernando makes a great Margarita too! There are pros and cons to this place...
Pros: +For the price paid it is Very relaxing and in a beautiful location
+Great food
+Our room had no smell that others had complained about
+Very nice pool and swim up bar with excellent cabana beds
Cons: -Mattress in our room was way too hard, not a good matress at all, should have slept by the pool!
-Water did shut off twice during the trip, they said due to maintenence but I think they just run out of water as they have 2 or 3 tanks supplied to the room by a pump. It was only off for a little while though
-I personnally got bit 11 times by Mosquitos, but others in my group only got 1 or 2
-Wife was freaked out by a HUGE desert spider the last morning there that decided to climb over the wall into the bathroom. There is a gap between the walls and thatch roof that bugs can get in and out.
-Closet had not bar or hangers, just shelves. Our friends in room 5 had a bar and 5 hangers and no shelves...Inconsistent from one room to the next

Overall, would I pay the actual nightly rate that they charge? No, but if there was another chance at an internet deal like we got I would go back. The resort has potential! It just needs some attention to detail in the rooms.
They plan on making the studio villas into 1 bedroom villas which everyone in our group agreed is a mistake! As they are now, the bed is in the front room and gets a great breeze. If they change it they will be in the back of the villa with limited airflow.
On a side note, go to Napoli Pizza as you first enter Pescadero on your right just past "The Sandbar"!!! It is excellent pizza for only 50-150 pesos depending on size! You can't get a cheaper better meal!

Room Tip: Villa #6 has a hammock right in front, is far enough from the pool to avoid noise, and has grass out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ironkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

It is not cabo- like but that is the idea. You wont find a place this relaxed or quiet with resort - like service. The place is beautiful and much improved over the last year. Much less construction going on and what is being worked on is in the back. Great big pool, ocean front rooms, phenomenal weather ( 10 ° cooler then cabo with the ocean breeze), one fantastic chef, (Jose), use of the hacienda, incredible swimming/surfing beach, and you pretty much have it to yourself. All the staff is friendly right down to the groundskeepers ( ok, a couple of the wait staff could use a personality). The 2 bedroom units are very nice and spacious, we had zero mosquito problems, and the sewer stink mentioned was not encountered. On the downside, the service is ridiculous slow (considering the resort like prices they want to charge), they forget you ordered food or drinks constantly, they always run out of stuff (like beer and tequila... serioisly), they dont have a single real bartender (inexcusable), and the pool needs to be swept and maintained far far better. Some of this is due to the remote locale, some is sheer laziness and complacecy. With the deals they were offering, absolutely fantastic value. For the price they want to charge, hell no. Side note, Napoli Pizza up the street is incredible food , value and atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Cerritos Surf Colony was a pleasure to stay at. It was relaxing and just as laid back as I was hoping for. The staff was very courteous. Accomodations were great as we had an ocean front villa. We stayed in the 4 bedroom larger villa. We stopped in Cabo and filled up with groceries and supplies as the Villas are a bit out of reach of a major retailer. I went with a group of girls and we felt very safe. They had wifi at the pool if you wanted and we connected with no problem. They had great recommendations for going into town and don't forget to go to the sister property at the Hacienda to see the bartender with amazing views of the sunset. He was great!

Overall, we had a great time at this remote location. We LOVED the fact that the beach was pretty much locals only... no pan handlers either. The last thing we wanted were a bunch of kids there for spring break. The waves were awesome for boogie boarding and for learning to surf. I would recommend staying at the Surf Colony and we will be going again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spats0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Like FortyCreek and Ellenmac have stated, set your expectations and you will not be disappointed. We purchased a groupon as well and were very skeptical about the place due to all the negative reviews on TA. However, for $300 for a 4 night stay in an oceanfront villa, it would have to be complete trash for me to be disappointed.

Pros:
- The beach in front of the hotel is probably one of the few swimmable beaches in Cabo as it is a beach break with no reef
- We had surfers in our group and to be a few steps away from the surf when you wake up in the morning really cannot be beat -- and good surf at that
- The beach was uncrowded and the area is so far away from the hustle and bustle of Cabo that you truly get to relax. A ride into Cabo San Lucas was only 40 minutes and the artsy town of Todos Santos was ony 10 minutes. We drove into town everyday and even drove into Todos Santos at night and felt safe the entire time
- Our two bedroom villa (#16) was right on the beach (the view cannot be beat) and decorated tastefully with traditional mexican decor and was clean upon arrival. There was housekeeping daily but sometimes you had to ask for towels, they did not automatically replace them for you
- the pool/restaurant/hot tub area was very nice and was never crowded. the beach beds were very comfortable. We had breakfast and appetizers at the restaurant and it was all very good except for the ribs. There was no meat on it whatsoever. Diego the bartender/waiter was so friendly and gave exceptional service. I can't say the same for the other bartenders/waiters.
- do go to the Hacienda hotel on the hill. Surf colony guests have full access to the pool and game room. The hotel is so beautiful and the architecture is amazing
Cons:
- My husband and I traveled with 2 other couples for a total of 6 people in a two bedroom villa (villa #16) and it would have been adequate space had the couch been a pull out sofa. To say that it sleeps 4-6 but there are only two beds is misleading. The third couple had to buy an air mattress and sleeping on that for 4 nights gets old quick.
-There is no AC in the villas and the last couple of days we were there it was pretty hot and the bedroom with no balcony upstairs had no windows. We had to open both doors to the bedroom so the breeze from the 'master" could get through to the other bedroom. It was still a little hot in the master bedroom with the sliding door open on the balcony. They may want to consider an AC unit for the bedrooms for the summer months. However, the sheets were clean and not dirty as mentioned in previous posts.
- The shower water temperature was very inconsistent. One minute you were taking a scorching hot shower then the next minute you were taking an ice cold shower. Very frustrating.
- The sewage smell mentioned in the previous posts wasn't there everyday we were there but I did smell it one night while we were sleeping. It was a little unbearable as we had to sleep with the balcony door open for breeze
- Besides Diego, all the bartenders/waiters and even the front desk lady could use a little course on friendly service. Some hardly ever smiled and looked like they did not want to be there.

Bottom line, would I have paid the rack rates for the villa? Definitely not. However, for the price we paid it exceeded my expectations by so much. We loved how secluded it was yet so close to Todos Santos if we wanted to go into town. They are a new establishment and if they worked out all the kinks, I'm sure this place could do really well in no time. We would definitely come back and stay if there was another coupon deal.

Room Tip: Make sure your villa is front row on the beach, I saw some behind us with no ocean view and would ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LNguyen24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Pescadero
8.7 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 9 in Todos Santos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rancho Pescadero
Rancho Pescadero
#1 of 4 in El Pescadero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#5 of 9 in Todos Santos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
0.8 mi away
Cerritos Beach Inn
Cerritos Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in El Pescadero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cerritos Beach Hotel Desert Moon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerritos Surf Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerritos Surf Town

Property: Cerritos Surf Town
Address: Km 67, highway 19 | Cerritos Beach, El Pescadero 23300, Mexico (Formerly Cerritos Surf Colony)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > El Pescadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in El Pescadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cerritos Surf Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cerritos Surf Colony is located on world famous Cerritos Beach with a reputation frequently noted in Surfer Magazine for champion surfing. Cerritos Beach is the best beach in Cabo, and voted first runner up in Los Cabos Magazine! Cerritos Surf Colony is a neighbor to both the Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel (a majestic mansion hotel located on a private cliff at the shore of the ocean), and the celebrity frequented hot spot Cerritos Beach Club & Surf where you can get surfing lessons, board rental, and great food.Cerritos Surf Colony is a beach front resort of Mayan inspiration and thatched palm roofs. The free standing studio, one, two, and four bedroom villas are solar energy assisted. Enjoy our amazing swimming pool and bar, surf the waves out your back door , climb the Sierra de la Lagunas, explore the artist colony of Todos Santos, or just lay back in your own palm shaded hammock.ATV rental, horseback riding, kayaking, fishing, art gallery walks, hiking Triple Waterfall, Voluntourism, massage, are just some of the things to enjoy here in Baja California. Los Cerritos provides simplicity, tranquility and a break from city life that you have been longing for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Cerritos Surf Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerritos Surf Colony Hotel El Pescadero
Cerritos Surf Town Mexico/El Pescadero - Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing