We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best vacation of my life!!!!”
Review of Cerritos Surf Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cerritos Surf Town
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in El Pescadero
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We got a great deal through a deal website, and cant wait to go back...Yes, it is a bit rustic (its not an all inclusive beach resort type place),and If you're looking for Trump Towers, you're better off staying in Cabo, however, I dont see how people could complain about this amazing gem...

The management is always there but stays out of the way and lets you enjoy the natural beauty and gorgeousness of diamond sparking water and quiet sunny days. HELLO? What can you complain about? We had a private beach 30 yards from our front door, and its so laid back its like having your own personal staff, on your own personal beach, and your own personal once in a lifetime sunset.

The place has some really great features, A large fridge,attentive staff, stovetop for cooking,amazing pool and hot jacuzzis. They have giant comfortable outdoor beds and you are far enough off the grid that you wont be harassed for timeshares or to purchase woven bracelets and pottery etc.

If you want a more city feel with shopping,nightlife,sunset cruises, etc... you can do what we did 6 nights in cerritos and 4 days in Cabo (we did snorkeling,whale watching, dined in the marina,shopping etc.)

As far as the temp we were there beginning of march it was hot and breezy all day but at night did get chilly, they provided extra blankets, not the newest things but kept us warm and fresh towels every day, free hot coffee in the mornings, and Great beach towels! I understand there are a few tweaks to be made- Internet was working the first 4 days, but did go out the last two. The food we had there was great and less expensive than other places in the area and there arent that many guests around so you get fresh food and attentive service. I can not WAIT to bring a group of friends back to Cerritos!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the Beach, and near the office. one bedrooms 10,11,12 were able to get internet in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Readysetgogp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 402 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2012

I loved the beach and the restaurant has the best food at a great price. It's super close to Todos Santos, with awesome restaurants as well. You have to go to Miguel's. The staff is super friendly, and helped us with concerns we had right away. The only reason I have this a Very Good instead of Excellent was because the hot water is a little touchy. You have to have the shower handle in the exact right position to get hot water, and you have to wait a bit for it. It took us a couple of cold showers to get it right. But, it is so beautiful there, and there are tons of things to do. You can even use the pool at the fancy boutique hotel up on the cliff (walking distance). Also, it is a 40 minute drive from Cabo only when the road is not under construction, which it is, so be prepared for some dirt and slowness. But, it's worth it when you get there, and you definitely have to do the whale watching and fishing with Iguana de los Mangos. They can help you get set up at Cerritos. They have a full-service activities director. Make sure you check Travelzoo and travel coupon sites because they are offering super cheap deals for this hotel. To be honest, I would probably not pay full price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TfromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

The positive is that you cannot get closer to the beach. The hotel is being expanded and you could arrive while it is happening. Make certain to ask because the information isn't volunteered. We stayed in a one room unit as close to the beach as possible. It was worn and inadequately furnished. The lighting was terrible so don't plan on reading inside. The closet had no bars which meant you could not hand anything... inexplicable. Everything metal in the unit was discolored from the salt water (my guess). The sheets and covers were worn. The new pool is large but unheated and cold, surprising since they have so much room for solar heating. Don't count on internet access; it doesn't work most of the time. I could go on. The place has enormous potential but it is poorly managed, certainly not professional management. The immediately surrounding area contains a garbage dump. Weird. Buy new bedding, invest in internet, closet bars. I was not asking for the Four Seasons and I new it wasn't one. The newer 2 bedroom units look better although I only saw them from the outside. I am rooting for them to get it together because the location is spectacular.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank tysoncl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerritosBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Cerritos Surf Town, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our resort. We do appreciate hearing back from our guests. We are happy that you liked the proximity of our Surf Colony to the beach, as it IS nice to have miles of private beach to yourself. Our Management Team is currently in the process of working on the issues that you brought to our attention. We are restructuring our location staff and beginning to implement a new training process to ensure nothing but the best in customer service for each and every guest. We apologize for the delayed response, but I can assure you that there will be resolve shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Cerritos surf colony is very nice. We got a great deal on 6 nights from a discount web site. For what we paid we were lucky it even existed! We had a studio villa beachfront, very nice furnishings and bathroom. Great view! The thatched roof is probably nice in warmer weather but we found it very cool at night. There is no where to put your clothes which can get annoying, no closet or dresser. But the fridge was a nice size, not as "mini" as I expected.perfect for some beer and sandwich fixings.
Restaurant is okay, seemed a little pricey but food very tasty, we had 2 dinners and breakfast that was very good. Had a couple drinks at the bar that were weak and expensive. The great thing is you don't have to buy your drinks or your food there. You can bring it from the grocery in Cabo.
The staff is nice, Ike set up surf lessons for husband and I that were great. Housekeeping was fantastic! They swept the patio and even saw the cleaning someone's flip flops, did the dishes, great job.
We were in #5 right next to the construction and I was very concerned about it. I was assured it would not start until 8am and would be done by 5 and it was. Even when it was going on it was not that loud, no power tools and only a few guys.
Pool was cold but the hot tubs were great. Go up to the hacienda for drinks and sit in their hot tub to watch the whales, perfect.
All in all a very nice experience and we will return. We purchases 2 vouchers!

Room Tip: Bring warm clothes if you go in february it was very cool. No loft in our unit so it wouldn't sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lupyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I had some trepidations about coming here after reading some of the reviews on this site, but my family all had a terrific time and we recommend the resort wholeheartedly. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit, and it was clean and beautiful. I loved the extensive Mexican tile work and the thatched roof. The nights were cool and perfect for sleeping with an extra blanket. The days were uniformly sunny and dry, with temperatures reaching perhaps 80 at the shore and a little higher inland. And since we were right on the beach, the sound of crashing waves was beautiful and relaxing.

The resort was simple but very nice. The pool is much bigger than I expected, and the depth was perfect for our 9 year old--he could stand on his tiptoes, but it challenged him to swim. The hot tubs were nice, and the ocean swimming was fantastic. We spent several days blissfully going from one to the other to the other. I did get caught in a bit of a rip tide early on, so you need to respect the ocean's power and watch the kids carefully, but the beach is sloped gently and we never really had a problem. Great body surfing and boogie boarding. I'm not into big boy surfing, but I watched a lot of it here and this would be a good place to learn.

The ocean life is truly remarkable. The whales are so plentiful and close to shore at this time of the year that the dogs were barking at them. OK, a bit of an overstatement, but there are lots of them and they are close. I brought binoculars and there was almost always some whale activity in sight. The views from the balcony of our unit were good, but from the Hacienda on the point they were spectacular. We went to a turtle release on a beach on the other side of Todos Santos one dusk, and the kids really got a kick out of watching the baby leatherbacks struggle into the surf for the first time. I went fishing one morning in a boat close to shore and we caught lots of bonitos which the restaurant made into delicious sashimi.

We didn't eat too much at the resort restaurant, but when we did it was very good. We bought a bunch of food and bottled water at Costco in Cabo before driving up and tried to limit eating out to one meal a day. With supplemental shopping at the fruit and veggie store in Todos Santos, it was easy. The kitchen was adequately stocked with utensils, pots and pans. So we wanted some adventure for our one meal a day, and we hit many of the open air restaurants in Todos Santos--we tended to avoid the more upscale places. The food was generally very good and we never got sick. Here's some mini-reviews while it's still fresh in my mind:

Miguel's - very good chili rellenos as advertised, and the best flan in town (no small feat)
Barajas Tacos - popular with locals, it had excellent carne asada, carnitas, and fixings
Ataxacon - not fancy, but excellent home-cooked food--try the enchiladas verde
Restaurant La Fuentes - charming host, but food was just OK except great chocolate cake
Fonda El Zaquan - slightly more upscale, good but not great seafood
Los Cerritos Beach Club (right up the beach) - OK food, but expensive and the resort's restaurant is much better
Marina's (Pescadora) - only three items on the menu the night we were there, all were good
El Zarape (La Paz) - excellent Mexican food in a quiet neighborhood

I had never been to Baja before, so i was floored by the landscape. The cacti and mountains are incredible, and I regret not doing an inland hike in the temperate weather. We were expecting scorpions the size of terriers based on the info in some guide books, but saw none. The roads were generally fine, although there is some construction on the Cabo road. When they finish it in the near future, expect very smooth travels, but it's OK as it is. The road to La Paz is excellent, and we took Highway 1 back down to the Cabo airport and the scenery was worth it, though the trip was longer than taking 19.

The staff was friendly and never snooty or fawning. They are doing a lot of construction, but we never heard anything and it didn't bother us one bit. There were some people at the resort and on the beach, but it was never crowded and we didn't get hustled by vendors. We never felt threatened or unsafe anywhere we went in Baja, and we got by fine despite poor Spanish skills.

If you are looking for extreme luxury or party central, then this place may not be for you. But if you are looking for a really nice place that can be a base for both fun adventures and good family veg-out time, then you can't do too much better than this. We all loved it, and thank you Cerritos Surf Colony for a great family vacation.

Room Tip: Beachfront 2 bedroom units are outstanding. I had #17 and it was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We arrived at SJD airport and rented a car for the trip to Cerritos. For a large, name brand selection of food/goods, shop in Cabo before making your way out to Cerritos. The trip took us approx. 45 minutes.
Yes the roads are a little rough in areas but it is because the major highway that runs from Cabo San Lucas to La Paz is being rebuilt. This will get better as the highway project finishes. Take care when driving and probably a good idea to plan on arriving to Cerritos during daylight. The turnoff from the highway can be easily missed so watch for the Cerritos Surf Colony signs/flags.

We arrived to find a picturesque beach community atmosphere. Where you are out of the touristy zone and in the heart of authentic Mexico. People were friendly and I always felt safe at Cerritos. It is a favorite spot for locals to visit and surf, but the beach is so expansive that it never feels busy and you can walk the beach for miles, uninterrupted. I found the water a bit cold during our February stay. We have visited this beach in October when the water is like a bath and the beach/sand is smoking hot. The evenings were cool in mid February and I did need a hoodie at night.

There are several units under construction still, however it didn't impact our stay. We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 3 bath, ocean front unit. VILLA 18. It was tastefully decorated with cool chunky wood furnishings, granite counters in the kitchen, upgraded lighting and beautiful travertine tiling in the bathrooms. Each bedroom had a full bathroom with WALK IN Showers! We only used the Master bedroom room and the view was breathtaking. We laid in bed and with the curtains open, watched surfers to our right and blow holes from whales to our left. UNBELIEVABLE Off the Master bedroom was a balcony with a couple of chairs to sit during the day and chill. From the entrance downstairs, you could be on the beach in 2 minutes. The lawn was well maintained in front and there were sets of 4 stairs that took you to the beach. There was also hammocks and lounge chairs out front but I never had a chance to enjoy them... Next time.

We had the opportunity to look into a couple of the other units and there was no comparison to the decorating and finishing to VILLA 18.

Daily maid service was provided.

There is free WI FI around the pool/pool bar area. The pool is big with 2 large hot tubs, all beautifully finished with colorful Mexican tiles.There are several large pool area beds to lounge on and even a couple of the beds strategically situated at the edge of the lawn overlooking the beach.

At night the hot tub cooled off with recirculating pool water, so it was a little chilly if you stayed in it past 9:00pm.

We ate Nachos and Tacos at the pool restaurant/bar, even though we bought groceries and could have prepared all meals using our villa kitchen. The food was reasonably priced and very good. I would have liked to try the breakfast, however we chose to stay in bed and watch the waves.

The beach club restaurant is also less than 5 minute walk down the beach if you want other options. And with a vehicle there are many local favorite restaurants within 15 minutes.

Check out the free tour of the Hacienda on top of the hill. It is a hotel and truly amazing.

Also available is surfing rentals/lessons at the Surf shop down the beach.

Room Tip: Really you have to try to rent ocean front if you come here... The view is incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank wks880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We just spent a week at Cerritos Beach Surf Colony, and it was one of the best experiences of my life.
The accommodations were fantastic, the facilities were top notch. ayaou can sit in the hot tub, drink your margarita, eat some of the best nachos and watch the whales.
We would lay is bed in the morning watching the surfers to our right, and the whales jumping to our left.
It's a beutiful beach, and a 3 minute walk to the surf shop, where you can rent boards, or take surfing leasons.
I highly recomend villa 18, we were in several, and 18 is by far the nicest.
The friendly staff is always willing to take care of your needs, or tell you where the best resteraunts are or what sights to see in the area.
We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: 18 has many upgrades, and is by far the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Pescadero
8.7 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
361 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rancho Pescadero
Rancho Pescadero
#1 of 4 in El Pescadero
450 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#5 of 8 in Todos Santos
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
8.9 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 8 in Todos Santos
634 reviews
9.0 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerritos Surf Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerritos Surf Town

Address: Km 67, highway 19 | Cerritos Beach, El Pescadero 23300, Mexico (Formerly Cerritos Surf Colony)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > El Pescadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in El Pescadero
Price Range: $120 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cerritos Surf Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cerritos Surf Colony is located on world famous Cerritos Beach with a reputation frequently noted in Surfer Magazine for champion surfing. Cerritos Beach is the best beach in Cabo, and voted first runner up in Los Cabos Magazine! Cerritos Surf Colony is a neighbor to both the Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel (a majestic mansion hotel located on a private cliff at the shore of the ocean), and the celebrity frequented hot spot Cerritos Beach Club & Surf where you can get surfing lessons, board rental, and great food.Cerritos Surf Colony is a beach front resort of Mayan inspiration and thatched palm roofs. The free standing studio, one, two, and four bedroom villas are solar energy assisted. Enjoy our amazing swimming pool and bar, surf the waves out your back door , climb the Sierra de la Lagunas, explore the artist colony of Todos Santos, or just lay back in your own palm shaded hammock.ATV rental, horseback riding, kayaking, fishing, art gallery walks, hiking Triple Waterfall, Voluntourism, massage, are just some of the things to enjoy here in Baja California. Los Cerritos provides simplicity, tranquility and a break from city life that you have been longing for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Cerritos Surf Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerritos Surf Colony Hotel El Pescadero
Cerritos Surf Town Mexico/El Pescadero - Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing