We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we are looking for We Loved it”
Review of Cerritos Surf Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cerritos Surf Town
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in El Pescadero
White Rock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just what we are looking for We Loved it”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Long walks on the beach ,Great Surfing ,safe and Friendly people ,You actually feel like you had a Holiday and Guess what I am coming Back this year Again . I can't stay away

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Genisea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    154
    67
    29
    35
See reviews for
102
163
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed at the Cerritos Surf Colony back in October of 2010 and just finished another INCREDIBLE stay ... even better than the first time!!! First off, the twinning of the hiway between Cerritos & Cabo is getting very close to being totally completed and will be an amazing drive once fully completed.

Once we arrived on site, we were met by Ramona who is the new hotel manager, so we didn't have to head up the hill to the Hacienda to get checked in at the Surf Colony as we had to do in the past. Ramona was pleasant, professional and an absolute pleasure to deal with. She made the check in easy and seamless.

The next thing we noticed was that THE POOL WAS DONE and it looks absolutely AMAZING!!! The beach front jacuzzis were incredible and the pool is absolutely HUGE!!!!! Also, the swim up bar is in place and is truly bigger than life! Marguiritas by the pool anyone? There is still no restaurant 'on site', but the beach club is quite literally only 100 yards up the beach and was still serving up GREAT food at very reasonable prices. They now also offer free Wi-Fi to customers if you ask for the code!

Then, there was our Villa. We stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 story Villa this time (rather than the 1 bedroom/1 story like we had last time) that had quite literally just been finished. It was every bit as incredible as we had remembered, except this particualy Villa was decked out with granite countertops, copper sinks and blackened bronze fixtures ... it was absolutely FIRST CLASS! And the beachfront view from the master suite on the upper level was OUT OF THIS WORLD! When we had left last time, we really didn't think that they could improve on our stay ... it turns out we were wrong. Cerritos Surf Colony just keeps getting better!!

Finally, even though we didn't need anything from Rigo, he is still there. As property manager, he ensured that everything was working perfectly and that everything was safe and sound. I don't think I've ever had the pleasure of dealing with someone as professional and capable as Rigo in any of my travels in the past.

We're planning on coming back in October to take part in some of the 'CaboWabo' Sammy Birthday week festivities in town and can't wait to get back there. It is truly a place that keeps getting better with time!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank johnbrunelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

My 3 surfing buddies and two of our girlfriends found out about the Cerritos Surf Colony by accident. We stayed in really cool little villas right on the beach, and the waves were right out the door. I have been all over the Baja and stumbling onto this little gem within an hour of Cabo was the highlight of our trip. We stayed in really cute two BR villas, with little kitchens and our own hammocks...waking up to the beachfront view was unbelievable! The infinity pool just opened, the weather was fantastic and the surfing and swimming beach were consistently fine. They have a really cool beachfront bar and having the Cerritos Hacienda Hotel looming over us while we surfed was really cool. This place is what Baja should be about....chilled out, relaxing, low-key good times with beautiful sunsets and mountain scenery all around. The rates are extremely reasonable, the people very friendly, and the waves and surf shop on the beach never failed us. It is about a 40 minute drive from Cabo, but feels a world away from the hustle and bustle tourist scene. We had a great time and plan on going back at least annually.

Room Tip: Go to website
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Travis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Yeah right, I thought when my son wanted me to switch our reservations from a luxury resort in Cabo San Lucas to Cerritos surf colony which is about fifty miles north of Cabo on the Pacific side. "We'll be in the middle of nowhere," I said. "NO Mom, we'll be in the middle of paradise." He was right and I'm so darn glad he tralked me into the switch. We had the best vacation ever. We stayed in one of the lovely new houses built right on the pristine beach front and what a beach front. No huge crowds, no pool lounges jammed together like bleacher seating, no pesky venders bugging us every two minutes. It was a smooth gold flecked sand beach with a marvelous, off shore, breeze making it bug free and delightful. The beach slopes gently so it was easy for my 68 yr old legs to step to the ocean and wade, while the kids boogie boarded around me. There was a beautiful pool to swim in or lounge by, great food and lots of entertainment for the kids. I even braved going up in an ultralite flight and saw wales breaching and seals playing and rays feeding on a huge fish ball. We took a short ten minute drive to Todos Santos, a charming little town nearby, where we had breakfast at "The hotel California,", then we took a tour of the amazing cultural center and shopped at several of the inexpensive and colorful shops. I didn't go out on the ocean on the ponga boat with the kids but they brought back a slew of fish which the beach restaurant cooked up for us. Now I'm scrambling to set a date to go back with friends for another super vacation at Cerritos Surf colony.

Room Tip: I'm booking my next vacation now so I get my choice of beach houses
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank mexigail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I just booked our 8-day trip (which I bought for a GREAT price through Sharing Spree!) for Feb 2012, so I haven't actually been to the property yet. However, I was very pleased with the prompt and friendly service we received when making reservations. We will be splitting our stay between the Cerritos Surf Colony and it's sister property, Hacienda Cerritos, and I received both a call and email response to my email request within 2 hours! My booking experience was great, and I'm looking forward to the same great service during our stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AprilM63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonney Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

My wife and I were on a trip to Cabo at the end of June and we heard about Cerritos Beach and decided to rent a car and check it out. We fell in love with the place as soon as we arrived and parked our car. This is one of the few places you can actually get in the water and enjoy the beach in the area. It is awesome! We were hanging out at the Cerritos Beach Club enjoying ourselves when I decided to walk down the beach to check out the Surf Colony being built. Lucky for me, I ran into the the foreman on the job, Rigo. He showed me around the property and basically sold me on the place. He was really cool and went out of his way to help me. He put me in contact with the property owner, Roger Pollock. I called Roger when I got back to the states to tell him how great his place was and how friendly Rigo was. Roger was awesome and a first class guy to chat with. We will definitely be going back to Cerritos Beach again because of Roger. The Surf Colony itself is going to be amazing destination when it is completed. The villas are top notch in quality and comfort. I saw the pool being built and it will rock! It is a great place for kids and adults alike. It will become the hidden gem of Baja in my opinion. I have nothing but good things to say about the area (Todos Santos is killer!), property and people that we came into contact with. A great place to vacation!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Well, what i can say is that my husband, our 2 kids and i really had a great time at the Surf Colony Villas. These villas were very comfortable, mexican style, clean little villas just right on the ocean (we could just wake up in the morning, walk for like 100 ft and we were already tuching and feeling the nice water or the ocean). It is a very safe to swim beach, very safe for our kids!! The cerritos beach is only one of the few beaches where you can swim on the pacific side of the Baja Peninsula. My jusband just loved the surfing there, and my oldest kid had a few surfing lessons that we got him from some surfers that offer that service at cerritos surf break for only 20 usd an hr.
What makes me feel very comfortable also is that there is life gards on the beach!!
I think that if you really want to experience Mexico you should come and live it and accept it like it is!! I could have stayed in a very luxurious hotel, however we liked this little villas and wanted to try them out and it was a great experience, it was like camping just right on the ocean...it was lovely!
Its true that the pool was not opened to the public yet (it had water already) but it is all finished and very pretty, i can say that i loved it, it is big and the restaurant bar are just right there (these were finished as well but not opened yet). We were allowed to use the pool at the other resort Hacienda Cerritos, which is the other resort of the woner of the surf colony. The hacienda is just gorgeous, it has an incredible architecture, i was amazed by that. However we didnt want to miss the opportunity to stay at the villas!
There was no contruction anymore nwhen we stayed there, since thay had just finished the pool (it had water in it already). I think they said that the spa and fitness center will be built in the near future. It will be great to get back soon specially to enjoy the nice pool i saw but i couldnt use yet with my husband and my kids.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Diana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Pescadero
8.7 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 9 in Todos Santos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rancho Pescadero
Rancho Pescadero
#1 of 4 in El Pescadero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#5 of 9 in Todos Santos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
0.8 mi away
Cerritos Beach Inn
Cerritos Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in El Pescadero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cerritos Beach Hotel Desert Moon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerritos Surf Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerritos Surf Town

Property: Cerritos Surf Town
Address: Km 67, highway 19 | Cerritos Beach, El Pescadero 23300, Mexico (Formerly Cerritos Surf Colony)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > El Pescadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in El Pescadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cerritos Surf Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cerritos Surf Colony is located on world famous Cerritos Beach with a reputation frequently noted in Surfer Magazine for champion surfing. Cerritos Beach is the best beach in Cabo, and voted first runner up in Los Cabos Magazine! Cerritos Surf Colony is a neighbor to both the Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel (a majestic mansion hotel located on a private cliff at the shore of the ocean), and the celebrity frequented hot spot Cerritos Beach Club & Surf where you can get surfing lessons, board rental, and great food.Cerritos Surf Colony is a beach front resort of Mayan inspiration and thatched palm roofs. The free standing studio, one, two, and four bedroom villas are solar energy assisted. Enjoy our amazing swimming pool and bar, surf the waves out your back door , climb the Sierra de la Lagunas, explore the artist colony of Todos Santos, or just lay back in your own palm shaded hammock.ATV rental, horseback riding, kayaking, fishing, art gallery walks, hiking Triple Waterfall, Voluntourism, massage, are just some of the things to enjoy here in Baja California. Los Cerritos provides simplicity, tranquility and a break from city life that you have been longing for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Cerritos Surf Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerritos Surf Colony Hotel El Pescadero
Cerritos Surf Town Mexico/El Pescadero - Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing