We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic spot”
Review of Rancho Pescadero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rancho Pescadero
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in El Pescadero
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Idyllic spot”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed two nights in early June. The weather was cool and breezy, not what we'd hoped for, but Rancho Pescadero was perfect. Our room was lovely and comfortable, with a beautiful balcony (actually on two levels) where we drank wine and next day ate breakfast overlooking the Pacific. We had a wonderful dinner at the bar at their garden restaurant. The pool looked terrific, but cool weather kept us out. Instead we "suffered" with delicious mango margaritas in a spacious hot tub, and absolutely magnificent Cafes Mexicanos by the fire pit.

We'd stay there in a New York Minute if we were ever in the area again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitso4458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    29
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
35
307
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lopez Island, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

First, lets start out with what this is not... This is not Cabo, this is not a party place, this is not where you go to get hammered and dance until dawn. Ok, now that we have that out of the way, lets move on to what it is...

This is the stuff that dreams are made of. Quiet understated perfection. This is the kind of place you would not be surprised to see (pick your favorite red carpet star) lounging by the pool. This is as close to perfection as any resort that I have ever stayed at.

The rooms are beautiful. Understated old world Mexico with a modern flare, comfortable beds, HUGE showers, just great. But the real experience is the resort itself. On the way there you know you are getting close to getting there when you are sure you are lost. A mile down a dirt road, this resort is the only thing for miles. With only 20 something rooms a busy day at the pool is a few people.

The food was great. We had dinner delivered to us on the beach one night. When we got out there they had a white table cloth service set up and we ate dinner to the sounds of the waves crashing on the beach and the sun setting. A must do during any stay. Every morning, a basket with a fruit plate some spanish pastries and fresh squeezed juice of some kind were sitting outside the door of the room. Such a great way to start a day. Friday and Saturday were dining in the garden... do it, way worth it.

Private nooks, cabanas and pallapas, are everywhere, so it is truly easy to find a corner that is all your own. The beach is beautiful, big rolling sand. Huge waves so dont plan on swimming. Not great for surfing either as it is all pretty much shore break... But beautiful none the less. Try surf fishing, they have the poles and will cook anything you catch. While we were there there was live music a few of the nights out by the pool and bar. 4 people beside our group were there... it was like a private concert.

20 minutes to Todo Santos and about 45 to Cabo, but truly if you are staying for less then a week... just stay there.

The service is legendary. Everyone knows who you are, the bar tenders are some of the best I have ever seen anywhere and no fruity premixes. An early morning stroll will find people pealing mangos, boiling tamarind and juicing limes. This is the real deal. Everything was good.

If you are looking for a romantic getaway, this should be on the top of the list. This is living like a rockstar and it is great.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors have great balconies that are open air. The cheeper rooms on the bottom floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LopezRiddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

OMG. No big front desk. No uniformed staff, just pure relaxation. Located in Todos Santos, a 30 minute drive from Cabo, this little piece of heaven is located on the beach. After a 9 hour sleep (first 9 hour sleep in my life) breakfast arrived at my door! Design is modern eclectic Mexican - very well done. Food is fabulous, tonight dinner on the beach with my family next to our own firepit! No reason to leave this property but town is 5 minutes away if you want to explore how Mexico used to be. Very lovely chill place to recharge. My schedule today is yoga at 10 (included), cerverza at noon on the beach, lunch & margaritas poolside at 2, nap til 4, facial at 5, dinner at 8, more margaritas til whenever! Tomorrow - repeat! Need something? No problem here - staff are so lovely and are simply are out to make our stay perfect.

Room Tip: ask for a room like #8. lovely large decks, lower level (though upstairs you have ocean view), large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbietravels510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I was at Rancho Pescadero for two quick nights while in town for business and I had an amazing experience. I wish I had been there for longer in order to enjoy all that the resort and area has to offer, but I still feel like I got a good feeling for how this place would be for a vacation. The best word to explain Rancho Pescadero is "chill". It is the place to go if you just want to unwind and forget all your troubles. The service is amazing, seemed like after just a few hours everyone working there knew my name and would greet me accordingly. The drinks at the bar are delicious and fresh made with local spirits and fruits. The private beach area is perfect, with cabanas and firepits, just perfect.

The restaurant was amazing as well - local food, outdoor setting, live music playing - I ate there both nights and it was perfect. The menu changes daily based on what they get fresh that day.

I can't wait to try and get back here for a vacation with my wife. I would highly recommend it for a romantic getaway or for a group of couples looking to getaway for an active yet relaxing trip.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are located in a house that was originally built on the grounds. These rooms are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianfitzgerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Rancho Pescadero. We went down for a short honeymoon and couldn't have been more impressed with our experience. They took us straight to the bar when we walked in and we were instantly won over. The service is amazing. Daniel's drinks kept us wanting more...The food is excellent. The beach is quiet and peaceful. The other guests were lovely and we found ourselves making new friends every night we were there. We only managed to go to Todos Santos for one afternoon because everything we needed and wanted was right at Rancho.

Room Tip: WE had a lower ocean front room and was great to fall asleep to sound of waves but I would go for up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nclaudat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Rancho Pescadero is located on a gorgeous stretch of beach and is an incredible place to unwind and relax. We walked for over a mile along the beach an saw no one...it was fabulous. The staff is very friendly and all quite fluent in English. The restaurant was very fresh and delicious ( although a bit on the expensive side for Mexico), however Todos Santos is close by and has lots of great places to eat as well. Note to surfers: this area does not handle South Swells well at all, unlike lower on the Cape near Cabo/San Jose/East Cape. We were very disappointed that we weren't told about this when we asked about the area in terms of coming to surf as our main activity. The yoga however was really good, and I appreciated that there were bikes, long boards, sunscreen etc for guests to use free of charge. I loved that there wasn't a constant attempt to upsell or push touristy activities - there's class here. I'd go back again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We had the less expensive Mountain Room which was fine, but if you can afford it, definitely opt for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

It may be just me, but looking at the site is actually pretty hard to figure out that it's for 18+ only.
If you add to this that they have a non-refundable policy, I bet I'm not the only one who ended up paying $800 for two nights, and couldn't even step into the property.
Just be aware.
Otherwise it's likely a great place.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Marco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa H, Owner at Rancho Pescadero, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
I have researched your reservation. It appears that you used a travel agent to book through a third party. I have reviewed our third party listings and all of them indicate that we are an adults only resort as does our website and any communication that we send regarding your reservation. I am so sorry that this was missed by your travel agent and regret that this caused you frustration. We are not paid by the third party until after your stay and as your reservation was canceled, we never received payment from them for your booking. We have made no claim for your payment and our only cancellation charge for any reservation is $25 which we would not charge in this case. I am also concerned that you indicate that you were paying $800 for two nights, which is substantially more than the rate for the room that was booked. Again, I am sorry that you were frustrated, but we are scrupulous about our relationship with our guests and would never fail to refund your money in this case - if we had ever received the funds. I suggest that you have your travel agent contact the third party that was used for the reservation. We will do all that we can to help you get the refund from them and have already contacted them to request this. For others reading this response, I would encourage you to book directly through our website to avoid this situation. We are re-evaluating our use of third party booking websites to avoid this situation in the future. Our goal is for our guests to have the most relaxing vacation ever, from start to finish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Pescadero
6.3 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
354 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#6 of 8 in Todos Santos
9 reviews
6.7 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
268 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#5 of 8 in Todos Santos
67 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 8 in Todos Santos
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Pescadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Pescadero

Property: Rancho Pescadero
Address: Camino a la Playa | Todos los Santos, El Pescadero 23300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > El Pescadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in El Pescadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rancho Pescadero 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Pescadero, Baja California Sur - An Outrageous Oceanfront Oasis - This private, secluded beach resort sits on 15 acres in Pescadero, five miles south of Todos Santos and 45 minutes north of Cabo San Lucas. Guests enjoy two luxurious swimming pools, multiple lounging areas, and spacious, beautifully appointed rooms, all with outdoor patios. Evening bonfires and world-class surf await you on the beach. Daily complimentary yoga classes and an amazing farm-to-table restaurant that sources organic produce grown onsite. A full-service wedding coordinator makes weddings truly magical. Quiet, luxurious and romantic. Come join the Rancho Pescadero family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Rancho Pescadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Pescadero Hotel El Pescadero
Rancho Pescadero Mexico/El Pescadero - Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing