We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Zen of Rancho Pescadero” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rancho Pescadero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rancho Pescadero
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in El Pescadero
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Zen of Rancho Pescadero”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

What is Rancho Pescadero? Aside from all the first-class amenities, it's almost a state of mind. It's the opposite of all the frenzied, "American Idol"-ized, short attention spanned, faux moments that assault us daily.

Rancho Pescadero is Chet Baker, not Kenny G. It's the anti-Kardashian. It's blue water and blue sky, not Bluetooth. It's like the first time you watched "The Wire" or listened to Yo La Tengo. You want to share it with everybody, and you want to keep it to yourself.

Rancho Pescadero is real people who really care about you and each other, not a fake smile at the reception desk

If you're an Ugly American or a diva, if you snap your fingers and yell at people, if you think multi-tasking is a competitive sport, please don't come to Rancho Pescadero. There are many other places for you to display your crassness and self-importance. You see, those of us who love Rancho Pescadero are very protective of it

Make no mistake. Rancho Pescadero is what it is. Do your homework before you make your reservation. What's there is first-rate, without exception. Even though it's only a couple of years old, many, many publications have awarded it "Best" or "Top" status. Rooms get booked quickly. Repeat customers are legion. These things don't happen randomly or by mistake.

Seek an honest experience, and you will be honestly rewarded. What could be better?

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    29
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
34
301
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

We went to the Rancho for a destination wedding and 10 minutes after arriving we felt as if we were visting family. The road from Cabo San Lucas is pretty treacherous (but the Rancho offers a shuttle if you do not feel like braving the drive) as it is under construction, but it is worth it! No televisions, little internet, you are forced to live the Rancho experience. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable with everything you need at your fingertips. The staff are AMAZING! Carla, Carla, Chef Bueno, everyone is amazing! It is romantic and refreshing and relaxing and simple and you will never want to leave. But if you must pry yourself away to get back to reality, you will spend your time plotting a way to return!

Room Tip: They are all different and all wonderful. Ours was a Pacific Suite with a spiral staircase leading...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
316 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

My wife and I went to Baja California Sur in November of 2010 for a four day weekend w/out kids. We found good reivews for the Rancho Pescadero in the NY Times Travel and after conferring with friends I have in the area we decided to make our weekend home there. The hotel was quite hard to find as we arrived late and the road from the main highway is non descript. Upon arriving we were given a beautiful room although it was close to the service area. In the morning we thought about leaving to head back to Cabo as we weren't that excited about the experience. Once we expressed our thoughts to the hotel staff we were immediately asked to have breakfast and offered a new room that would be quieter. What we experienced for the next four days was bliss. Remarkable food, very interesting guests and a level of service unsurpassed in my travels throughout Europe, North American and Asia. We just have to find time to get four more days awas from our kids.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grantman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

There are enough positive reviews so I won't go on and on about all the good (and there is lots of it!). The rooms are even more beautiful in person, which is hard to believe since the pictures are amazing, and the resort was so clean, like sparkly, immaculate kind of clean.
Things I would have to have known:
Almost the entire highway after leaving 'Cabo' is under construction and the roads are mostly dirt. Thankfully we booked an early flight as it was scary enough during the day. Also I'm glad we booked a slightly bigger car. I really think guest should be notified. And it's more like 2 hours from the airport.
Any and all tipping is done at check out (which I liked) but wasn't told until we were at dinner and I think the guy who took our bags to our room and accepted the cash should have told us then and not taken the cash. It was only a few bucks but it's the principal.
They list a lot of things to do "near by" but it's not really near and you will definitely need a car.
The beach out front is shore break and if you are not a strong ocean swimmer you will have to drive to a different beach to swim. The break up the way is a surfers dream, but again an experienced surfers only as there are lots of rocks at the break. Cerritos beach is calmer but you need to drive there.
The restaurant and bar shut down at 9:00. Seriously quiet, as in nothing to do. Yes I get it that's the idea totally relaxing, but looking like such a chic resort and the 9:00 'lights out' was too much of a contrast for me. It would have been nice to have an evening yoga class, or a ping pong table or pool table or something mellow yet social for the guest who don't want to go to bed at 9:30. Speaking of yoga, it's at 10 which seemed a little late to me. It's warm and sunny early and if I'm going to workout on vacation I'd like to get it out of the way so I can start my day, head out to the beach, go into town etc...
Lastly everyone talks about all the great 'service' but we felt that yeah the first 24 hours everyone was very attentive but after that it was only the people complaining (and demanding loudly) who got the good service. Chef Bueno was delightful but on his day off we got so sick from the food at lunch (we only ate at the hotel) and when we told them they just sort shrugged and didn't take it off the bill.
So all in all the resort is amazing but there were a few things I would have like to have known...

Room Tip: AVOID STAYING BELOW ANYONE. We were woken up every morning at 6:00am by the people above us going up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank VacationSession
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigideas333, Owner at Rancho Pescadero, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to give your great feedback about your time at the Ranch. One important resource for the information that you requested is the FAQ's section of our website - it has information about the road construction, the restaurant hours and local surf breaks as well as other valuable information. Good news - The road construction is scheduled to be complete in July of this year. I will follow-up on the other issues that you detailed and ensure that they are remediated immediately. We do work hard to make sure that each guest's vacation is perfect and your comments will really help us improve our efforts. We look forward to having you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

I decided to celebrate my 40th birthday with my husband at Rancho Pescadero and am so thrilled that I did. The Rancho Pescadero experience is nothing short of perfection. Everything has been thought of; sun screen out for your use, sun hats, beach bags, magazines, even a sarong in your room for use on the beach or by the pool. The little touches are well thought out and add to the experience. I highly recommend bringing the binoculars in your room to the beach for some whale viewing or making s'mores by the fire at night!

The rooms are extremely comfortable, but this property is best experienced outside, either on your own lovely veranda, by the pool, in the open air restaurant or simply strolling on the beach.

Food was fantastic, the dishes highlight the outstanding freshness and quality of the ingredients. We did have one dish we didn't enjoy. Chef Bueno, thank you for a fabulous birthday meal!!

While the property itself is lovely and the details are perfect, it is truly the staff that makes Rancho Pescadero what it is. From the moment you arrive and your bags and whisked off to your room while you are whisked off to the bar for a phenomenal cocktail, you are made to feel welcome and one of the "family". The staff works flawlessly together and everyone does their job with such perfection. What really sets them apart though, is their genuine desire to make your trip perfection and they truly do. Sergio (x2), Danny, Carla (x2), Victor, Rodrigo, Chef Bueno, Don, and everyone else at Rancho Pescadero will make your stay absolutely fabulous. I simply can't recommend Rancho Pescadero highly enough, but only if you are willing to truly set aside your "baggage" at the door and allow yourself to let Rancho Pescadero work its magic.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lebnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

The one hour rough road ride is worth the trip when you pull into the oasis that is Rancho Pescadero! The excellent staff took care of our every need. The food was excellent, bartender wonderful. Our exotic indoor/outdoor room with beautiful outdoor living room provided excellent desert star gazing. Property itself has every amenity you could want, refreshing pools, short walk to the beach where you can lounge on a day bed or relax in beach chairs under a palapa. The manager, Don and his staff made our stay at this desert oasis truly relaxing , we're looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, NJ
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

Just returned from a lovely getaway to this beautiful spot. It is a small resort with very personal service. The entire staff was warm and friendly and worked hard to please. It is a very different experience than a luxury resort but equally, if not more, enveloping and sybaritic. Rooms are spacious (#1 was very private and quiet), facilities are pretty and well designed and beach is spectacular. There are activities to be had (morning yoga was very popular), or alternatively, total relaxation with a book or binoculars to watch whales. While i have nothing against children in general, the "no children" policy is a blessing in this small resort. It was a welcome respite from a recent prior trip to a high end luxury resort with many screaming kids (happy screams, but screams nonetheless) - irritating when they are not yours!

Bring a reader, an i-pod to connect to the provided dock, a warm sweater in the winter months for evening, and enjoy the fresh food, creative cocktails and accommodating staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MBKNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Pescadero
6.3 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 9 in Todos Santos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
6.7 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
6.7 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#2 of 9 in Todos Santos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#5 of 9 in Todos Santos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cerritos Beach Inn
Cerritos Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in El Pescadero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sol Pacifico Cerritos
Sol Pacifico Cerritos
#1 of 9 in El Pescadero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Pescadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Pescadero

Property: Rancho Pescadero
Address: Camino a la Playa | Todos los Santos, El Pescadero 23300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > El Pescadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in El Pescadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rancho Pescadero 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Pescadero, Baja California Sur - An Outrageous Oceanfront Oasis - This private, secluded beach resort sits on 15 acres in Pescadero, five miles south of Todos Santos and 45 minutes north of Cabo San Lucas. Guests enjoy two luxurious swimming pools, multiple lounging areas, and spacious, beautifully appointed rooms, all with outdoor patios. Evening bonfires and world-class surf await you on the beach. Daily complimentary yoga classes and an amazing farm-to-table restaurant that sources organic produce grown onsite. A full-service wedding coordinator makes weddings truly magical. Quiet, luxurious and romantic. Come join the Rancho Pescadero family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Rancho Pescadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Pescadero Hotel El Pescadero
Rancho Pescadero Mexico/El Pescadero - Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing