We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel in central Buchs, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurant Buchserhof
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I've stayed at the Buchserhof several times on work and also with family. It's a nice little hotel close to the train station and to the main shopping district / walking area of Bahnhofstrasse. On the plus side, it has nice breakfasts, friendly service, and free wifi. On the negative, there is sometimes some noise from the bar next door at night and there is no pool or work-out room. Overall a decent place with reasonable prices for the area. Location is convenient and parking is free at all times in the small hotel lot, and free at night in the city lot across the street from the hotel entrance.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the apartments (in the back) as they are recently renovated and are much larger th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4souls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 72 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed here on business and not sure if there are any better places in Buchs - which is not very big and so this hotel is quite convenient.

Plusses:

Close tot he railway station. Come out of the station and turn left, walk about 100m and then turn right over the river. Take the first left after a very short distance and it is the green building on the right.

Very helpful and friendly staff

Good bathroom with plenty of hot water for a shower.

Free Wi-Fi

OK price.

Not so good.....

Small single bed in the room I was in, with a very shallow mattress - it wasn't very comfortable.

Desk in the room OK for working but no comfy chair for relaxing/reading. No English TV channels although they are advertised on the list in the room.

Food average. Ate dinner here and it was OK, but not really that good for the price and the menu is pretty limited. Breakfast was fairly limited in scope also, although he muesli was good. Nothing really to complain about but nothing to write home about either.

I will probably stay again as it is convenient for the people I need to visit. I would usually pick something a bit more upmarket for a business trip, but not sure there is anywhere locally and the place is good enough for a brief stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARH51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here one night while in the area for business. Very convenient location from train station. Staff was very friendly and helpful. My second floor room (205) had a view of another building's wall, so that wasn't great. There were some large bleached out spots on the dark carpeting in the room, and a couple things were not as clean as they should be (the outside of the bathroom sink, the full length mirror). The bathroom was updated and bright. The shower is a bit small, but great water pressure and temperature. The restaurant food was good, but I thought the atmosphere lacked a bit. It is too bright. In better weather, the outdoor seating might be nice. For the price, I was quite pleased with what I got.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyinMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I wanted to do a day trip to Vaduz, Liechtenstein before leaving Switzerland and heading to Munich. I found this hotel on Trip Advisor and liked the previous reviews. I really liked the location of this hotel, which is a very quick walk to/from the Buchs SG train/bus station. The hotel is also strategically located at the beginning/top of the main shopping promenade of Buchs. There is also a really cool bar/café right next door called Guarany.

I liked the room. It was perfect for me, a solo male traveler. The bathroom/toilette was very clean and a nice size. Good water pressure, plenty of hot water. I’ve attached some pics of the room. The reception check-in was very easy, and the receptionist/manager was very pleasant and didn’t mind speaking English with me, which I always appreciate. Check out was easy, too. The breakfast, which was included for me, was good (basic items: juices, breads, cheeses, meats, cereals). There was also free WIFI, which worked very well.

If I had to mention one nitpick it would be the in-room TV lacking any English-speaking channels (well there was a MTV that had some English-speaking shows but only a few). A CNN or BBC channel added to the lineup would be nice. I paid $100USD for 1 night, so I’d say it was a little on the pricy side ($10-$20 less, and I would have rated this 5/5).
Travel tip: look for the #12 bus directly across the train station if you want to visit Vaduz. Pay the bus driver directly on the bus for a 1-way ticket to Vaduz Post. At Vaduz Post stop (behind the post office) you can go in to the Tourist/Information center to get your passport stamped with a Liechtenstein stamp for 3CHF/2EU. Safe travels.

Room Tip: I had room 101, which had a nice view of the round-about and right next to a free business center/co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smurray2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

The Hotel Restaurant Buchserhof is a nice and calm hotel situated a couple of meters away from the smallest country on earth: Lichtenstein.
Small, local, rustic, authentic and calm, exactly what you need for your business trip to Lichtenstein.
The sleep quality is not great but a simple bed is all what you need.
The price is adequate as well.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnthonyRahayel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

I was booked here for 2 nights in a single room and paid CHF 118 per night incl breakfast (€ 96).
The hotel is near the train station and faces a square with ample parking. The parking opposite to the hotel is paid so be careful when you park at night. There are some parking sapces next to the hotel which are free and are there for hotel guests.

The room was basic, a bit austere but clean, At night it is quiet around the hotel.
There is no internet facilities whatsoever only a phone.

The restaurant has a limited menu and I found it similar to good home cooked food.
2 beers and a steak cost me CHF 46 (€ 38) here, which is pretty steep in my opinion for the food served.

If you just want to sleep and have a shower while on business I guess it is ok.
Not a really nice place for a romantic getaway or a large family vacation.

N.B. : the power sockets are different here so be prepared for that if you bring any electrical devices into the country that need charging.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Super7NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Stayed one night. Usually stay in Feldkirch, Austria but everything was booked. Stayed at the Buchserhof and the room was your standard no frills euro single room. It was clean though and near the main drag.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cletustu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buchs St. Gallen
2.9 mi away
b_smart hotel
b_smart hotel
#1 of 2 in Bendern
62 reviews
2.6 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#1 of 5 in Vaduz
373 reviews
1.8 mi away
Landgasthof Muehle
Landgasthof Muehle
#5 of 5 in Vaduz
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel City Buchs
Hotel City Buchs
#4 of 4 in Buchs St. Gallen
25 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Buchserhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Buchserhof

Address: Gruenaustrasse 2, Buchs St. Gallen 9470, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > Buchs St. Gallen
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buchs St. Gallen
Price Range: $166 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Buchserhof 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Buchserhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Restaurant Buchserhof Switzerland/Buchs St. Gallen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing