We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent : Can't wait to return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lindors Country House Hotel
Worcester UK
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Excellent : Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We have just returned from our second visit to Lindors as part of a group of 15. Our room was amazing even better than last time. It was very spacious with a lovely bay window overlooking the gardens. The bathroom was large by hotel standards and very well modernised. The bed was very comfy and the toiletries provided were of good quality. The wall mounted TV was in a slightly awkward place but not really a problem. Everywhere in the hotel was super clean.

The food is good, the vegetables served with dinner could be slightly better but overall the standard of food is above average for this type of hotel. Unlike other reviewers we found the restaurant staff, happy, friendly and very obliging, going the 'extra mile' for us. The buffet breakfast wasn't a problem either, just ask for what you want the first time around and there is no need for 'seconds'

The pool and changing room are very clean with towels provided. The pool is perhaps slightly shallower than ideal but not really a problem.

The grounds are lovely and a wonderful place to relax and unwind.

All the staff during our stays were friendly and obliging even on our last day when the gardens were open under the NGS scheme and they were run off their feet.

We personally love the old world ambience, furnishings and architecture. If you want glass and chrome, a great mobile signal and a 24/7 buzz please don't come here as you will ruin it for those who love it just as it is. The fact that Lindors is a Christian hotel is clearly advertised on its website. You won't find any 'weird' people just Christians and others enjoying good fellowship together.

We are hoping to return again some time this summer. Thank you all for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nessief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    53
    24
    15
    7
See reviews for
42
67
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Stayed here whilst working in the area, this isa Christian hotel and people were getting to know each other by asking questions in the bar area, we were asked a few questions though not involved in he group, some might find this a bit unusual but didn't bother us! Clean, tidy rooms quite old fashioned though,friendly staff and lovely grounds. Arrived late for dinner but they had kept some warm which was nice touch. Breakfast good, pool looked nice but didn't et a chan to use it

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have just returned from a surprise family weekend for my husband's 65th Birthday. We stayed in the hotel and had a superb room 7A which was spotlessly clean and comfortable with on-suite, tea/coffee facilities and excellent views of stream/waterfall and into gardens. Our family of 4 adults and 2 small children stayed in Lodge No.1 with 2 bedrooms, lounge/diner/kitchen and on-suite facilities. Plenty of cutlery and crockery for us to join our family in the lodge on Sat. evening for supper while small children slept. The hotel very kindly allowed us to change the evening meal (included in booking) for Sunday lunch (in the Pump Room, which is excellent for a private family party). We all enjoyed swimming in the pool which is superb with a separate children's pool and everywhere in the entire building is spotlessly clean with all facilities for changing with lockers and towels provided. The gardens and surrounding area is beautiful and peaceful. We found all the staff to be extremely helpful, polite and obliging and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast and Sunday lunch was delicious and excellent quality. Highly recommended by all our family - ranging from 2years - 30-40years and 65+

Room Tip: LODGE No.1 was very convenient to swimming pool and hotel and our room 7a in the hotel was very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grinshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We visit here regularly as it is a good get away distance from the East Midlands and near family in Wales. We stay as a family. We have stayed in both the lodges and the hotel itself. It is a lovely classical house with lots of original features which are well maintained. The food is varied and very substantial. Thankfully our stomachs always expand to fit in the generous breakfasts. We have three small children and they are always made a fuss of by the others guests and made particularly welcome by the hosts. I really like that they bother so much with hospitality that they have host volunteers to make sure everyone is welcome. The Christian element is very low key and you can opt in or opt out of the morning devotions without any issues. It is not a typical hotel and so that has pros and cons. There are plenty of anonymous bland hotels with no atmosphere with top class amenities. Here, you won't get modern, but you do get traditional homeliness and we hope to return many times. Lovely gardens to walk round and very well maintained swimming pool.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Beautiful setting, stream runs UNDER the hotel! Fantastic gardens, excellent food and a wonderful log fire in wood panelled lounge. Also very friendly and helpful staff. A place with real character.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

the place is nice for photography,very appealing structures and garden.Nice swimming pool and gardens but we felt something weird in this place, maybe d people.This place is very good if you want to vanish from everyone. I guess what i am trying to say is that if you don't want to be contacted to anyone this is d perfect place to hide for there is no mobile and internet reception in the whole place.Its in a middle of nowhere.We are very dissapointed with the breakfast coz we pay additional for buffet hot breakfast but my friends are not allowed to ask for more bacon or sausage, Their definition of buffet is just one round and the kitchen staffs are rude.the rooms are very basic.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEZZEnglandKENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Stayed here as a suprise wedding anniversary present from my husband. Was really impressed with the outside of the building and the grounds, but it went down hill from the time we entered the building. The receptionist was a bit abrupt and didnt seem very friendly, we were given our key and went to our room, well i dont think i have stayed in a smaller room in all our travels and stays in hotels and b&bs. You couldnt get to the window as at the bottom of the bed there was a chair and no space between that and the bed, so we sat on the bed and tried to open the window to let some air in but there were metal bars outside i assume for security so it only opened partially, this i felt was a danger if we had to escape in a hurry we would not be able to get out throught the window. The tv didnt work. We had extra guests in our room 2 spiders in the bedroom and 3 in the bathroom. We managed to get rid of 3 of them but the others were to high up comfy in their cobwebs. The bathroom needed completly renovating, and the flooring was coming away, the bathpanel seperating. Our room was oposite a tv lounge and as that weekend was a teenage activity holiday they were using the tv room and so were quite noisy entering and leaving. The only good thing i could say was the breakfast was nice and the grounds lovely. It was very dissapointing and had we not been tired from travelling we wouldnt have stayed.

Room Tip: Dont have the room opposite the tv lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mrshappy621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Briavels
2.2 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
644 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
717 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
11.9 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,501 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
The George Inn
#5 of 5 in Saint Briavels
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindors Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindors Country House Hotel

Property: Lindors Country House Hotel
Address: The Fence, Saint Briavels GL15 6RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Saint Briavels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Briavels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Lindors Country House Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lindors Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing