We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic peaceful setting”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Danby Lodge

Danby Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Danby Lodge
Fantastic location, surrounded by thousands of acres of ancient woodland. View of the Lodge from the pond in the Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Danby Lodge
Fantastic location, surrounded by thousands of acres of ancient woodland.
View of the Lodge from the pond in the Garden
Heated pool - swim in seclusion surrounded by the forest
The dining hall
Massive stone ingrenook fireplace - roaring fires in winter
View from the front of the house
Tranquility, peace and privacy.
Top lawn - cricket, croquet or just lazing around
View of Danby Lodge from the pool
Informal dining table in kitchen area
Fantastic position - surrounded by forest
Master bedroom
Ensuite to Master Bedroom
Priest Hole Bedroom (Super King Bed)
View from the window of the Master bedroom
Walk in shower in main bathroom
Double bedroom in the attic
Ensuite to attic bedroom
Front double bedroom (Super King bed that can be split into two singles)
TV Room
Coach House and Patio area
Games Room (in Coach House)
Snug - for sitting and reading in peace and quiet
Gates to the entrance of Danby Lodge
Floorplan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Yorkley, Lydney, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mohsin N
1 review
“Idyllic peaceful setting”
Reviewed May 24, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is the 2nd year in a row, Ive booked this and there is a good reason. Total escape from hectic city life, immerse yourself in a heavenly sanctuary of nature and rest, with stunning views and plenty to do, the outdoor pool, although we didn't use it, is an added bonus. An absolute must for friends and family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony A
1 review
“Excellent place for a family get together”
Reviewed May 9, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This is such a nice place to stay.

From the booking, through the preparation and communication prior to aerial, through to getting there, staying and checking out...it is so smooth and really well managed.

The kitchen is great to cook in and there's loads of social areas to hang out in.The weather wasn't great for us, but the house has so much space that it doesn't really matter.

The pool is a real treat too, really warm and massive!

Great views, and loads of walks. Easy to get lost, but that's half the fun. We managed to avoid the wild boars too, which was a relief!

This is a great place, easy to get to and I'd highly recommend any big groups to hang out here for a while.

Thanks!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghammett7...
2 reviews
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just had the most incredible weekend at this stunning place! We booked it for my 40th birthday celebrations - a large group of family & friends including lots of children.
The house is magnificent, full of history and character. It is really luxurious & well equipped, beautiful bedrooms and gorgeous bathrooms. And there is so much space!
The grounds are stunning - the swimming pool is fab & our children spent hours in it! We all loved the huge gardens and really appreciated how secluded it all is, never having to worry about the children playing excitedly (& at times, loudly!)
There is so much space to run free. We had thought that the photos on the website were wonderful but the whole place is even more spectacular in real life!
The booking process was second to none, any queries answered so quickly. And on arrival there was a welcome basket bursting with treats, & wine chilling in the fridge.
We cannot praise Danby Lodge highly enough..Thank you for everything. We can't wait to return!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnLewi02
1 review
“Fantastic stay in a wonderful house in a truly spectacular surrounding”
Reviewed May 30, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We spent 3 nights at Danby Lodge to celebrate a 30th birthday with friends and family and we couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Louise was so helpful (via email) in the lead up to our stay answering all our silly enquires. We drove from London following her directions given on the site and found the house with great ease. We were met with an incredible view from the front garden, a welcome basket full of treats and an fantastic house. We spent the first hour running around and exploring with glee! Every bedroom was clean and well decorated as were the bathrooms and the kitchen was even more well equipped than anticipated. The grounds are huge and walks in the forest surrounded by the bluebells are perfect.

We had great weather so spent a day in the pool and playing games in the garden and then in the evenings lit the open fire. We didn't want to leave! Honestly couldn't fault the house or the service provided.

Thanks all very much for accommodating such a wonderful weekend.

Ann Lewis

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishewen
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An unforgettable house for a special family gathering”
Reviewed March 10, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Danby lodge impresses from the first view of it down the private drive, through the electric gates, and am pro aching the house. We gasped in awe! The location was amazing, on the edge of the Forrest but with distant views to the river Severn. As well as being amazingly beautiful, inside and out, the house was well-sized and well equipped for a party of 12, over three generations. The kitchen was modern and fully functional, with up to date equipment., and quantities enough for everyone. the beds were very comfortable and the bed linen was fantastic. The towels provided were lovely too, as well as the toiletries.
I just cannot praise the house and grounds enough, and would love to visit again. We also had a great welcome basket of food and wine (white chilled on arrival) , and a lovely instruction letter.
I would not hesitate to recommend the houses or anyone .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the property and the amount of space
Liked least: Having to leave it!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
176Gordon
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“A relaxing, peaceful holiday with the 'wow' factor”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This Lodge is wonderful, nestled in it's own grounds in the middle of a forest. A modern kitchen, a surprise welcome hamper, hidden staircase, real log fire (which we lit in July because we could!) and a separate games/fitness room with a TV. Every morning we went for walks, saw wild boar, deer and very few people, lovely. By foot the nearest pub is a bit of a trek through the woods but 'do able'. Nearby towns were adequate for supplies, we didn't really eat out as there is a good kitchen, gas bbq and we were even invited to help ourselves to what was growing in the huge greenhouse. There was lots of information provided about things to do, etc and how to work appliances in the house. There was a variety of board games, reading material, cd's and dvd's and internet, but we couldn't find a pack of cards! The whole experience was excellent from the complimentary Bvlgari toiletries to the friendly and informative contact with Louise. We will definitely be back, well done Danby Lodge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: The weather!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2014
Thanks Heidi, We're glad you enjoyed Danby Lodge. It is a very special place. We'll get a few packs of cards sorted out for the house. I was sure there were some there. Look forward to hosting you at Danby Lodge again at some point soon. Kind Regards Louise and Evan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loz1512
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

14 of us stayed at Danby lodge for a Hen weekend in June. The cottage is a lovely size, full of lots of character. The owners were very helpful and left us a lovely welcome basket which was a lovely surprise.
The location is peaceful, with amazing views. Ideally located for Go Ape which is what we did, but I understand there are many other activities near by as well.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing