We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An unforgettable house for a special family...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Danby Lodge

Danby Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Danby Lodge
Fantastic location, surrounded by thousands of acres of ancient woodland. View of the Lodge from the pond in the Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Danby Lodge
Fantastic location, surrounded by thousands of acres of ancient woodland.
View of the Lodge from the pond in the Garden
Heated pool - swim in seclusion surrounded by the forest
The dining hall
Massive stone ingrenook fireplace - roaring fires in winter
View from the front of the house
Tranquility, peace and privacy.
Top lawn - cricket, croquet or just lazing around
View of Danby Lodge from the pool
Informal dining table in kitchen area
Fantastic position - surrounded by forest
Master bedroom
Ensuite to Master Bedroom
Priest Hole Bedroom (Super King Bed)
View from the window of the Master bedroom
Walk in shower in main bathroom
Double bedroom in the attic
Ensuite to attic bedroom
Front double bedroom (Super King bed that can be split into two singles)
TV Room
Coach House and Patio area
Games Room (in Coach House)
Snug - for sitting and reading in peace and quiet
Gates to the entrance of Danby Lodge
Floorplan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Yorkley, Lydney, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fishewen
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An unforgettable house for a special family gathering”
Reviewed March 10, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Danby lodge impresses from the first view of it down the private drive, through the electric gates, and am pro aching the house. We gasped in awe! The location was amazing, on the edge of the Forrest but with distant views to the river Severn. As well as being amazingly beautiful, inside and out, the house was well-sized and well equipped for a party of 12, over three generations. The kitchen was modern and fully functional, with up to date equipment., and quantities enough for everyone. the beds were very comfortable and the bed linen was fantastic. The towels provided were lovely too, as well as the toiletries.
I just cannot praise the house and grounds enough, and would love to visit again. We also had a great welcome basket of food and wine (white chilled on arrival) , and a lovely instruction letter.
I would not hesitate to recommend the houses or anyone .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the property and the amount of space
Liked least: Having to leave it!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
176Gordon
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“A relaxing, peaceful holiday with the 'wow' factor”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This Lodge is wonderful, nestled in it's own grounds in the middle of a forest. A modern kitchen, a surprise welcome hamper, hidden staircase, real log fire (which we lit in July because we could!) and a separate games/fitness room with a TV. Every morning we went for walks, saw wild boar, deer and very few people, lovely. By foot the nearest pub is a bit of a trek through the woods but 'do able'. Nearby towns were adequate for supplies, we didn't really eat out as there is a good kitchen, gas bbq and we were even invited to help ourselves to what was growing in the huge greenhouse. There was lots of information provided about things to do, etc and how to work appliances in the house. There was a variety of board games, reading material, cd's and dvd's and internet, but we couldn't find a pack of cards! The whole experience was excellent from the complimentary Bvlgari toiletries to the friendly and informative contact with Louise. We will definitely be back, well done Danby Lodge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: The weather!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2014
Thanks Heidi, We're glad you enjoyed Danby Lodge. It is a very special place. We'll get a few packs of cards sorted out for the house. I was sure there were some there. Look forward to hosting you at Danby Lodge again at some point soon. Kind Regards Louise and Evan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loz1512
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

14 of us stayed at Danby lodge for a Hen weekend in June. The cottage is a lovely size, full of lots of character. The owners were very helpful and left us a lovely welcome basket which was a lovely surprise.
The location is peaceful, with amazing views. Ideally located for Go Ape which is what we did, but I understand there are many other activities near by as well.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna C
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing house for an amazing celebration!”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A family group of ten celebrated my father's 70th birthday at Danby Lodge last weekend... what a treat it was! The anticipation whilst driving down the secluded drive was very special and as soon as we saw the house we were blown away at how gorgeous the setting was.
The gardens are immaculate and had the weather been slightly warmer we would have been in the beautiful pool.
The house is a lovely mixture of old and new and we enjoyed our time together around the large dining table and relaxing in the lounge area playing games. The cinema room was a perfect place for a Eurovision party with super surround sound and atmosphere.
The bedrooms were all large and had lovely décor and beautiful bed linen. We found the kitchen had everything we could ever need in there.
All in all we would totally recommend Danby Lodge for a holiday - if you want to feel like Lords and Ladies of the manor for a bit then this is the house for you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to escape for a break with friends and family!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This place was recommended to me by a work colleague who had organised her Husband's surprise 40th Birthday gathering here. It did not disappoint. Firstly, the house is in a secluded and private location in the middle of the forest. It's completely quiet during the day and at night, apart from the sounds of wildlife.

While we were at the house, we saw birds of prey, squirrels and deer. Also, when we were walking in the garden, we saw a couple of owls fly out of one of the trees - an amazing experience! There is a beautiful panoramic view from the front of the house.
The house is clean and spacious. All bedrooms are cosy, bedding was soft and lovely to sleep in, and the beds were very comfortable.

This is a place where you experience a complete feeling of relaxation, uninterrupted by anyone else. It's a great location to recharge your batteries. Complete privacy.
There's a games room in a building outside the house with a table tennis table and a TV, so that kept the kids busy during our stay. The house itself is a fantastic historic property (the bathrooms, the kitchen and the heating are modern though).

We initially had some trouble finding the house because it is so "off the beaten track". However, when we checked the directions carefully, it all made sense and we found the place eventually. It's a shame that we couldn't use the swimming pool. Just be aware that this is only open during the spring and summer months.

Altogether, we had a great weekend and would recommend this place to anyone who is considering a group getaway. The house is beautiful and quite unique. We will be back !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy and peaceful location
Liked least: I liked it all
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing