We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bulphan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ye Olde Plough House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bulphan
Reviewed August 7, 2014

As guests at a wedding we had a fantastic time last week.
Food was great, staff were fantastic and the wedding venue was perfect.
We'll done to the gardener I took some amazing photos it looked lovely.
Rooms are a bit tired but very reasonable, breakfast a bit sketchy, but we came for the wedding
and had great family day. Thank you all so much it was great to see my brother ,and new wife so happy.

Room Tip: Upgrade ,and the rooms are airy ,bright, and have outside seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mollyfiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 270 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Attended a wedding here the food was awful absolutely cremated roast potatoes that were un edible and pretty dire looking chicken breasts. Service wasn't great either had to request bread as they forgot half the table. Also the guest toilets smelt of sewers.

Stayed: August 2014
4  Thank Essextravellots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Don't waste your time or your money. This is a one night only place and is not clean, has cheep lumpy and springy mattresses. Worsed night sleep ever. It's stuck in the middle of nowhere and to be honest I would not pay £10 to stay here... Not even a one star...

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hydrodem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Easy enough to find the hotel, plenty of parking
This is a motel rather than a hotel – rooms were in lovely gardens, clean but so unwelcoming and basic. The bed & furniture were of the lowest quality I have ever seen in a hotel/motel but had recently been decorated with new carpets
No hairdryer – I had to go to reception and leave a £5 deposit to have one and my £5 was returned when I took it back!
Bathroom was spacious and again very clean – the water took forever to get warm (such a waste of water) but once it did it was very hot, unfortunately when you switched from bath tap to shower the water went quite cold, think due to low pressure as we were a long way from the reception and the water possibly had a long journey
Breakfast again so minimal – no fruit/yogurt/hams/cheeses/croissants
Breakfast was ordered from a short menu ie full english, eggs etc and cooked to order but again not a great amount and not a great quality
Staff were all friendly

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happytravelllers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

What a fantastic venue! As mother of the groom I can honestly say we couldn't have wished for better. Firstly there is the venue itself - beautiful ! When the evening arrived everyone relaxed in their chosen area be it dancing in the great hall, chilling in the quieter bar room and buffet, or catching up with old friends in the seated area of the garden. Yet no-one seemed excluded from the wedding party itself.
But the biggest plus is the staff . We arrived the evening before to get ready for the big day and I can honestly say nothing was too much trouble for this great team. From the reception to the bar , the chef and the guys and girls who wait on tables , the groundsmen and ladies , and most of all the wedding coordinator Trudi , everyone was friendly helpful and professional. Which made for a perfect day. Many of the guests complemented the food and venue and a few enquired about booking it for themselves,
The accommodation was fine - we had 3 rooms (one disabled) and the bridal suite (which came complimentary) and they were spacious well maintained clean and comfortable. Traditional English breakfast was served in the main restaurant which was very welcome the morning after.
Well done all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed here as a friend was holding their wedding reception here. We only booked a standard room and it was cheap enough, so no complaints there. The way the rooms are laid out around the grounds was like being at Butlin's! The gardens were lovely and the staff that I met were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raquelrattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This hotel is in lovely grounds the room are holiday camp chalet style and can vary if not in price. Ours was very roomy twin, modern and airy with a huge shower room. Whereas our friends nearby had a double room which was cramped, dated and badly laid out. Perhaps they are refurbishing a few at a time? Breakfast good if a little slow but we were in no hurry.

Room Tip: From our experience ask for one of the re furbished ones!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JR25JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bulphan
4.2 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
750 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Bell Inn Hotel
The Bell Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Horndon-on-the-Hill
311 reviews
2.6 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Ibis London Thurrock
Ibis London Thurrock
#1 of 2 in Grays Thurrock
656 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Brentwood East Horndon
8.5 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Plough House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Plough House

Address: Bulphan, Thurrock RM14 3SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Thurrock > Bulphan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bulphan
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
73 en suite bedrooms bordering the grounds at Ye Olde Plough House. All rooms are tastefully decorated and have either bath or shower,colour television and tea & coffee making facilities, there is also ample car parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Plough House Hotel Bulphan
Ye Olde Plough Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing