We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Birthday Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Antica Roma

Antica Roma
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Rochford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rochford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Large Birthday Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Superb welcome, friendly and warm. Although it was the Christmas season they made my sister-in-law's birthday special. Excellent food, really tasty. Buzzing but warm atmosphere. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We will definitely be returning.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    77
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful service and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I ate here for the second time and absolutely love this place. On both occasions there has been a lovely ambience, the staff are helpful and attentive and the food, from the pizzas to the other Italian specialities are always lovely. They have a very good wine list.
Keep up the good work.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Italian Way”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We booked for 2030 arrived 15 mins early was welcomed by the staff had a drink at the bar shown where our table was and sit down when we were ready. Good choice of starters very good portions, wine list something for everybody. The mains were well cooked very filling and the bowls of veg (extra) went well. The sweets sorry I am not keen on sweets like this same as indian & chinese shop bought on a seperate menu card. But we would go again because the staff make eatin out there a good experience. We are lucky to live in this part of essex as we are spoilt for choice when eating out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cretanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner both have Italian heritage and love food and eat out regularly, there are many Italian restaurants that get it wrong... but not here! The food was really authentic Italian cooking just like my Nonna used to make. The staff were brilliant, our waiter was a gent called Stef and he was not only great but extremely funny. Overall great night and good selection of Italian wines would highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Unknown123457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good value, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

The restaurant had a good atmosphere and appeared full when we arrived for our 8.45 booking. A couple in front of us, who hadn't booked were asked to come back in an hour.
It is very obviously a converted pub, but is warm and welcoming.
After a short wait we were shown to our table.
The food is very good, especially considering the prices. We had 3 courses plus drinks for £41!
The desserts were slightly disappointing as they were similar to those often found in Indian Restaurants, but with an Italian flavour, in other words, not made on the premises. Next time we go, we will probably have a more substantial starter and forego dessert.
The service was very friendly if a little slow, understandable as we had arrived just after two large groups.
This is a great addition to the dining out choices in Rochford and we will definitely be going again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Roma also viewed

Rochford, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Antica Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing