We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, great breakfast”
Review of The Cherry Tree

The Cherry Tree
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cherry Tree
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rochford
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, great breakfast”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed for 1 night in room 1. The room was clean and had all the amenities we needed (tea/coffee, hair-dryer etc). The staff were very friendly and helpful and we had a great breakfast the next morning in the pub (we didn't eat there in the evening but 5/5 for the cooked breakfast).

Overall we had a great stay. We understand that the venue has recently come into new management and they seem to be doing a great job.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLW1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    32
    13
    11
    10
See reviews for
36
41
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in April. The rooms are absolutely spotless and really comfortable

The staff were welcoming from the time we arrived until the time we left. We were the only ones staying but they still made a real effort laying in a full breakfast (which was gorgeous)

We ate in the restaraunt in the evening and the food was lovely. We weren't hungry so ordered a range of starters between us. Everything tasted amazing, the salt and pepper squid and chicken liver pâté were beyond gorgeous.

I would Definately recommend staying here or going just for a meal, good food, good service, good value. Will be back

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ella-g-Bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have been going to the cherry tree for years now, however about 15 months ago it was sold and new managers were put in....after that the quality of the food got to be very poor but the prices were going up, also 80p for a splash of soda is definitely a rip off I have worked in pubs for years and never charged for soda...anyway the pub is once again under new management it is now run by the chef that worked for the previous owners (the Oliver's) for 24 years so last night we decided to give it another try and we was not disappointed the food was really lovely...to start we had fried brie with a beetroot salad which was really nice, we opted for fish as our main my husband had the skate which was lovely and fresh and cooked to perfection also he ordered cauliflower cheese and that was just like a very good homemade one....my main was a really treat 2 good sized seabass fillets on spicy noodles and it was soooo nice the noodles had so much flavour and once again the fish was cooked to perfection....as my husband said it was one of the best meals out we've had in a long time so we will definitely be going back. So to all of you that stopped going to the cherry tree give it another go and hopefully you'll be as happy as we were with it....well done chef

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julieandmick2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

For once I`m glad I didn`t read other reviews on Trip Advisor. The food was great and service top notch.

The pub wasn`t busy but the menu was really interesting - fantastic scotch eggs as part of my starter with lovely, lovely pickled cucumber, partners tomato soup was really good, unusually I went for burger - really good winter dish. We will definitely go back especially as I had no room for dessert. Even coffee which lets many places down was good.

Excellent to see pub using local produce.

Room Tip: sorry didn`t use it as hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Celebrated my birthday party in the conservatory of the Cherry Tree on Saturday daytime/evening. Amanda and the team couldn't have done any more to make my party a success. The food was very good and the alcohol flowed. All my 60 guests loved the venue and said how comfortable they felt and the bar staff were very accommodating. Would recommend hosting your special event at the Cherry Tree.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DawnEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We recently moved to this area and were happy to find a beautiful pub with great food. However on our second visit to The cherry Tree one of our mains did not live up to expectations, after speaking with the waitress she addresed the situation well, but unfortuanelty what we got back was no better....when we went to pay our bill we commented on the dish as feedback should always be welcomed and was snapped at by the very rude manager who showed us no respect nor was she interested in speaking with us, and left us feeling shocked that she treats her customers in that manner!
Shame as we would have loved to have been regular customers as the majority of the food had always been great and the rest of the staff were lovely! Not how a manager should act!!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jayne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Used to be a huge fan but this place had gone down hill!
The service was okay but the food...starters uncooked, wrong mains brought out, cold mains..save your pennies and go elsewhere. Such a shame, think they just need to change chef as lovely location and venue just the food which is a complete letdown

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Essex1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda T, Owner at The Cherry Tree, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
As manager I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the food, I was wondering if you could let me know what day and what food you had so I can go some way to rectify the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochford
2.1 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rochford
128 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Rochford Hotel
The Rochford Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rochford
284 reviews
3.8 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#7 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
760 reviews
3.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,180 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cherry Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cherry Tree

Property: The Cherry Tree
Address: Cherry Tree Stambridge Road, Rochford, Southend-on-Sea SS4 2AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Rochford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rochford
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cherry Tree 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Traditional 18th Century Inn with open fires, and impressive bar area. Boasting four bespoke rooms for accomodation, and a conservatory restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Cherry Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cherry Tree Hotel Rochford
The Cherry Tree Rochford, Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing