We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waggon & Horses
Ranked #4 of 5 Halstead B&B and Inns
Essex England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Called in here on way back from Newmarket races,table for five,no problem.Food was Excellent ,Service was Excellent,Price even better,main meals from £6.95,desserts £3.95 ,we had two courses and a drink for under £70.Will be coming again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    6
    8
    15
See reviews for
8
20
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Booked one night , ,yes room does need updating,but...,we slept very well ,so quite, sheets were clean,towels were clean,room was clean,plenty of tea coffee and biscuits,it was a very cold day ,and the room was lovely and warm, breakfast good plenty of toast,cereal ,orange juice,and a nice pot of tea ,thank you to the landlord and their staff ,if the rooms were updated,it would cost a lot more to stay ,!!! We would stay again if near the area , ,

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gannet66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed here as we attended a wedding down the road. Location for that purpose was good, just a short walk away. The reason I would not recommend is because we felt misled at breakfast. We had payed for B&B, on entering the breakfast room we were asked if we wanted a full English to which we replied "yes" thinking this was included. Afterwards we were charged extra money because only a continental was included. This was not explained before eating and we left with a very sour feeling.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timmy231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Halstead hotels

1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed because of a wedding down the road. The staff seemed fine, but the room was small, vary worn, the curtains fell off in my hands, there was no soap in the room or the toilet to wash your hands, the carpets are held down with yellow tape and are really worn out and ther was a weird smell. To get to your room you have to walk down the dirty back ally of the pub and up a fire escape. We also had to share a bathroom with others and it looked like a toilet from an dirty old town pub!. This place is awfull, we payed £60 the it too!.
It was also vary noisy from the lockin and traffic from the busy road. The only good thing was it was close to the venue.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

Rooms small,the breakfast was a joke as discribed in another post evening meal not good my fish was over cooked .no heating in bar or dinning room it was freezing

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank mitchsheltie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here because we were attending a wedding in the White Hart and this was the only hotel that was in walking distance of the venue - in that respect it was great. However I think they know they will always get bookings for this reason and so didn't make much effort. The shower kept switching from hot to cold and the power wasn't great, and the 'continental breakfast' that was included in our room rate was cereal, toast and juice and a full English was an extra £6!

I don't think this hotel is worth the price but if you just want a bed to crash in after a wedding nearby then it will suffice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taragem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halstead
5.7 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Suites at Pannells Ash
The Suites at Pannells Ash
#1 of 1 in Castle Hedingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#1 of 1 in Great Yeldham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
5.7 mi away
No photo provided
The Dorrington
#1 of 1 in Halstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Coach House at The Pheasant
The Coach House at The Pheasant
#1 of 1 in Gestingthorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waggon & Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waggon & Horses

Property: The Waggon & Horses
Address: High Street | Great Yeldham, Halstead CO9 4EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Halstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Halstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Waggon & Horses 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Waggon & Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waggon & Horses Halstead, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing