We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights at The Dog Inn”
Review of The Dog Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dog Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Halstead B&B and Inns
sutton-in-ashfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Two nights at The Dog Inn”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is an old English pub as they use to be, small, cosy and welcoming, and situated just a few minutes stroll from Halstead town centre, (which is delightful). Yes, the rooms are basic but everything was spotless. The bed was comfortable and the water hot, only minor niggle was there was no wardrobe in the room. Plenty of drawer space though, so utilised that instead. Breakfasts were very good, especially the bacon. Rachel had only taken over the pub 4 days previously but in that short period of time she had obviously worked miracles. Noticed the locals are very supportive of her and if ever we are in that part of the country again, will not hesitate to book in.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ellie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    8
    8
    4
See reviews for
12
18
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Staff very friendly, nothing too much trouble. The hotel/Inn very basic but well situated to explore a very interesting area. The Manager, Adrian, did his best with what he had. He gave us lots of information about the area to enhance our stay.

Room Tip: If staying more than one or two nights ask for a room with a wardrobe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolandPeterMoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed at the Dog Inn recently for one night. Lovely little pub, very popular with locals. We stayed overnight, all rooms are very basic, in great need of a good clean also. The decoration is poor and could do with freshening up. The main door to the room was not very secure either which was unsettling. On a positive the breakfast was lovely.

Room Tip: I don't think there is one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise_24Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERBY
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

The pub is lovely and the Landlord is very friendly with a good selection of beers. The room was basic and very dusty. I had toclean the desk before I could use it. A cold night and just 1 small heater in the room. The TV on freeview kept losing channels and before long I gave up with it. The breakfast was very good. Such a pity I hoped it would be better for a regular stay

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEVE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingshurst
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Dog Inn is in an excellent location within Halstead, which in itself is a great location to explore North Essex and Suffolk border areas with many attractions as well as some of the UK's prettiest villages. The service is excellent and nothing is too much trouble. The average rating for sleep is due to the heat and humidity of the weather at the time of stay. Although I'm not much of a drinker myself, the pub serves a range of Real Ales which will appeal to many.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pchistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Only stayed for 1 evening as we were visiting friends and needed somewhere to stay for the night.

Could have no complaints at all, a very spacious and comfortable room with everything you would need and the landlord even went out of his way to make breakfast especially for us in the morning even though we were the only people staying in the pub and..... it was a full english....lovely :)

Cheers

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed here over Christmas as visiting family. My husband is a real ale fan so was a must to stay here as he'd seen it in the good beer guide for the past few years running!

The barmaid was very busy but showed us to our room quickly and in a friendly manner. Our room was newly decorated and warm on arrival.

Breakfast was lovely and just what we needed to start the day.

Have re booked for the summer holidays !!

Room Tip: All the rooms are very quiet as not above the bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RACHEL J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halstead
0.3 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
136 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Braintree
7.3 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Essex Golf & Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club
#1 of 2 in Earls Colne
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
The Dorrington
#1 of 2 in Halstead
23 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Suites at Pannells Ash
The Suites at Pannells Ash
#1 of 1 in Castle Hedingham
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dog Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dog Inn

Property: The Dog Inn
Address: 37 Hedingham Road, Halstead CO9 2DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Halstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Halstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dog Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Dog Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dog Inn Halstead, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing