We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Packfords Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Packfords Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woodford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2010

I stayed here at the beginning of August on vacation and was thoroughly impressed. In order:

Cleanliness - the room was impeccable. I stayed in room six (I believe) - it was above the entrance, and even though it looked over the street it was quiet at night. Giant bed, giant sofa, and the bathroom was spotless.

Location - I took the tube up to the Woodford Green station and walked up. It could have been closer to the station, but it wasn't too horrible, and it's nothing they can do anything about.

Rooms - giant, beautifully designed, and exceptionally comfortable.

Service - I talked to the son of the owner extensively over drinks at night, and the owner and her daughter were working during the day. Everyone was exceptionally friendly.

Value - I priced hotels in the city and was happy to find this place.

Sleep quality - the first night wasn't good because of jetlag, but after that it was perfect. The beds were comfortable and, again, it wasn't loud despite my room overlooking the street.

Extras - the Full English was good and the garden out back is very peaceful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrewsspam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 101 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2010

Attended a friend's wedding at this hotel (unfortunately did not stayover), and found this to be an amazing venue. The staff were great, the food was superb, the venue was clean, modern and tastefully decorated, the gardens were lovingly manicured and well-presented. Overall an amazing place and would have no qualms about recommending. Only quibble was the price of drinks at the bar.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toughguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Packfords for the weekend. Though we live locally we were celebrating our anniversary in child free bliss! Staff were welcoming and friendly and the room was spotless. The bed may well be more comfortable than our own! In the morning we both had a cooked breakfast and I was delighted to find that Packfords were able to cater for my gluten free diet. As a note our breakfast waitress was charming and an excellent ambassador for the hotel and it's staff.

I would definately recommend staying at the hotel.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chabambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

Stayed here with a friend while visiting London. Although it seems a bit out of town it is close to a train station so that it actually very easy to get into the city centre. The room was very nice, decent size and the en-suite was spacious. No noise at night. Great English breakfast too. Given the quality of the hotel and the ease of getting into London I think it's good value for money and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamieEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip to london and I thought it was just perfect. Really close to the tube station but not directly in the centre of london so you can escape from the chaos. The staff were very friendly and professional and made me feel welcome. The quality of the breakfast and the cleanliness of the rooms made me feel that it was money well spent.
During my stay there was a wedding party and it seemed like everyone had fun at the party so it seems they can cater for business and pleasure.
I would definately go back, it's a great location as well as great service.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
3  Thank HeidiEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

A group of us stayed for one night and we all really enjoyed our stay. Very clean, very comfortable and a beautiful garden. We stayed in a top floor room and it was very well appointed and spacious.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank number-42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2009

Room on the top floor (#9), however, for "top" a better description would be loft, very few places where I could stand up properly, I wish I'd taken my hard hat I hit my head so many times. If you are 5ft tall or have a permanent stoop I guess it wouldn't be a problem though!

Plus points are the location, which is close to the tube and shops, breakfast was excellent and the place is spotless. I found the staff I met friendly enough although I only actually saw two of them.

I would stay again if in the area, but certainly not in the loft conversion for 95.00 pounds a night.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crushertim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodford
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Epping Forest
1.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent
1.4 mi away
Travelodge London Chigwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Snaresbrook
Travelodge Snaresbrook
#568 of 1,077 in London
127 reviews
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London - Chingford - North Circular
3.8 mi away
Best Western Greater London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Packfords Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Packfords Hotel

Address: 16 Snakes Lane West, Woodford, Redbridge IG8 0BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Redbridge > Woodford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woodford
Price Range: $135 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Packfords Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Packfords Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Packfords Hotel Essex
Packfords Hotel Woodford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing