We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late Night Meal”
Review of Adriatico Resturant - CLOSED

Adriatico Resturant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Been using this family run Italian restaurant since 1984 expensive but great service and food. Has got larger over the years so more covers for Mario the owner.
Would recommend for large functions also.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank kristanageorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
squadraferrari, Owner at Adriatico Resturant, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your custom. Over the years we have expanded from a single to a double fronted shop but we have become a little bit smaller and cosier since our last refurb two years ago. You've obviously been customers for a long time and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 119 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

I was a little surprised at the "bland" review with respect to Adriatico. I visit on a regular basis with my husband and can honestly say this is one of the best run family restaurants I have been to. The family have owned the restaurant for many years and I too go back to when the restaurant was much smaller and a little darker - too many years ago. The days when Mario would be roaming around from table to table chatting and smoking!!

But we all move on and get older but this restaurant has definitely retained if not improved upon its atmosphere and I can genuinely say that at all times the waiters/staff and Marios daughter and grandson bend over backwards to make you feel you are enjoying your food in a friendly ambience. The food is excellent and priced right for what you are getting.

There is always a drink on the house when the bill is presented and the staff are always chatty and friendly from the moment the door is opened!

We have even started to take our little grandson there not just for lunch but in the evening because the atmosphere is such that a seven year old is actually made to feel as comfortable as we do.

It is a great place to have a birthday party and it is not unusual to see a large table laid out for such an occasion.

Yes, it can get busy on a Saturday evening , but that is all part of it and if you have to wait a few minutes for a drink then make sure you order a large one first!!

Cheers

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ellenscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We used to live in Woodford Green and were regular visitors at the Adriatico. We enjoyed the busy, bustling restaurant, lots of noise, dark, with great food. Francesco used to maitre d' the restaurant, and he always knew everybody, chatting up the female guests, and being cheeky to the chaps. There was an old fella who was so rude he was funny, part of the general feel to the place. Unfortunately, times change, and so do restaurants. The Adriatico we visited a week ago was a much quieter place. A refurbishment aiming probably to modernise and increase capacity had taken away the character. The food was ok, good King Prawns in Garlic and Snails; the steaks seemed a bit too tough, which were disappointing. Our group of 4 had a good time; the service was efficient and courteous. The price was proportionate to the meal. But having experienced the Adriatico of former times, we thought the experience was comparatively bland. Sometimes this don't change for the better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I first went to this restaurant many years back and it was very good then. But decided to go again after a long time out. Food is still great with very nice size portions.

1  Thank Checkmate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Ok.... Sea food starter was really bland, in fact it tasted like it was shop bough (like an M&S ready meal thing) Fillet steak was dry as a bone, Scallops still with the Roe on.... not good at all, none of my family were at all impressed. Whilst very friendly, the service also completely lacked with almost an hour between the starter and main. Won't be heading back in a hurry especially as there are about 3 - 4 other Italian restaurants within a few miles of the place which are all far better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BigJimLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
squadraferrari, Manager at Adriatico Resturant, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

We want you to enjoy your meal and come back again and therefore we were very sorry to read your review. I must inform you that the seafood salad is my father's original recipe, which is 37 years old and is from his region of the Adriatico. He was making it long before any supermarkets and it is made with fresh ingredients which are marinated. We have never, in 37 years, had a complaint about it. I acknowledge that on a busy Saturday night, a steak may be slightly overcooked. We could have done something if you had told us. The scallops are the top quality King Scallops from Scotland and you are meant to eat them with the roe! Perhaps you have confused them with the queen scallops. We are a typical Italian restaurant in a suburb of London. We are what it says. We use the best quality ingredients, we cook it in an Italian way and our chefs and waiters are Italian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adriatico Resturant also viewed

Woodford, Redbridge
 
Woodford, Redbridge
Woodford, Redbridge
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing