We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another sub mediocre meal.....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosso Restaurant

Rosso Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 67 Restaurants in Woodford
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Essex
Level Contributor
103 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Another sub mediocre meal.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

What a pity. Rosso used to be such a fine restaurant. Sadly it has sunk to the same low standard of most other local dining establishments. Indifferent food but buzzing atmosphere. Shows you can fool most of the people most of the time.
Most of our large table chose one of the dishes of the day, stuffed mushrooms with crabmeat. Strangely in a restaurant where I used to complain the portions were much too large, they've gently raised the prices AND cut the portions! I had to reread the specials board when the waiter arrived with our 4 mushroom starters ad each dish held 1 single medium size stuffed mushroom. My carpaccio of beef with flakes of parmesan hors d'oeuvre was smaller than in the past and accompanied by some past its prime rocket and a barely there drip of olive oil. No squeeze of lemon juice. It was sadly tasteless. Other starters, whitebait and calamari were fine.
Mains were again average. Steaks good quality and well cooked but accompanying sauces poor. The wing of skate, though requested moist with sauce came up very dry. Pizza, pasta and sea bass all looked fine.
Desserts however were excellent. Superb sherry trifle, boozy creme brulee and bread and butter pudding.
Service was good, as ever.
What a pity about the food though. Unlike many local diners, that's the reason I dine out!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckhurstHillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    66
    23
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice friendly neighbourhood place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

A great local Italian. The food is really good and so is the service. It's slightly pricey for what you get but everything else is spot on.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChrisC_LondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food and efficient service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

The food was excellent once again, using quality ingredients, cooked exactly to our liking. The service was friendly and efficient. So efficient in fact that my wife dropped a fork and it was swapped within two seconds. No exaggeration. As far as cost is concerned, you get what you pay for, and I choose to pay for good value for money. I happen to think that £8.50 is reasonable for a good quality salad. The prices are outside, so should not come as a shock to anyone.

Helpful?
Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Made Valentine's a night to remember”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Been meaning to come here for a while and was pleasantly surprised that my boyfriend booked a table! Staff were so friendly and good humoured even though they were really busy. They made a real effort to make valentine's really special with a great menu and a Sinatra style crooner!

We bad mixed bruschetta starter which was really tasty. For main, I had the linguine with tiger prawns which was nice and spicy while my boyfriend had rack of ribs - I pinched a bit and the marinade sauce was really full of flavour. We both opted for the grand marnier creme brûlée which was delicious. I would have liked a bit more caramelised crunch on the top and a slightly lighter consistency but that may just be a personal thing.

Clearly very popular and I'd definitely like to go back.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spanglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not a bad place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Tried this place and enjoyed the experience, food was very tasty and well priced.
Would recommend this place, well worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosso Restaurant also viewed

Woodford, Greater London
Woodford, Greater London
 
Woodford, Greater London
 
Woodford, Greater London
Woodford, Greater London
 

Been to Rosso Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing