We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Indian Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spice of India

Spice of India
Ranked #1 of 76 Restaurants in Upminster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Essex
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Love this restaurant always good food and great service. A great night out any day of the week although I usually eat far too much on the Banquet Wednesdays!! :P

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
12 Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    20
    3
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Usually once a week for the past 25 years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Friendly family run business with excellent service and a fantastic Chef that has always maintained the same tantalising spicy taste

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
12 Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Decent meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Ate here and had a very decent meal.
Service a little slow but wasn't an inconvenience.
Will come back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
9 Thank AnnH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly staff but food was forgettable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

My curry meal tasted like it could have been any curry and although the staff were exceptionally friendly and the ambience appeared to be excellent my meal was very disappointing. I had a take away, maybe this is why my review differs from the opinion of most on here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SREnglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Nice Atmosphere with Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

It is our local Indian Restaurant but it would not be out of place in the middle of London, if you go anytime near the weekend you have to book. What I like about it is the choice you have the food can be normal of very hot depending what you like, a good range of beers and wine if my wife was not such a good cook we would go there a lot more, just give it a try and you will find out you will go back again and again

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank 165000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice of India also viewed

Upminster, Greater London
Upminster, Greater London
 
Upminster, Greater London
Upminster, Greater London
 

Been to Spice of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing