We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Masala Grill

Masala Grill
Ranked #10 of 77 Restaurants in Upminster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This restaurant is very very good. The staff are warm and welcoming,and the food is delicious.We have been here several times and on each occasion the food has been spot on. There are several Indian restaurants in Upminster,but this one is the best,and the fact it accepts Tastecard is an added bonus !

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lindalindabevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    28
    8
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“best curry house arround”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good authentic indian food , reasonable prices and very nice friendly staff, been going there since it first opened, and it is getting quite busy now so word must be getting round the area. so book yourself a table and grab a great curry.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raywheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“You must try this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my husband have eaten here on more than one occasion and we can completely recommend it!
We ate here in March with family, our table was for ten people and although the service was a little slow, the restaurant was very busy but it was a saturday night!
Food was very good and presented well.
I'm a tastcard holder and with 50% off all food for 8 guests you really can't go wrong!
My advice........ ENJOY!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie g G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Had another fabulous meal at the Masala Grill, there was a week of a new chef who was not up to their usual fabulousness so he has now departed and they are back to spectacular.

Food was hot tasty and so very fresh, service was most attentive and the staff are so friendly. Such a hidden gem and Upminsters best kept secret. Have no hesitation in going it will soon become your regular.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Londonesexgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Favourite Local Restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Over the weekend, my boyfriend and I fancied treating ourselves to something nice for dinner after a bit of a hectic day so we took a stroll into Upminster high street and ended up in Masala Grill.

Sadly I didn’t take any photos and they don’t have a website so I can’t share with you how amazing our food looked, but I will tell you that if you’re ever in the area you should stop by!

We feasted upon a tandoori mix grill that included lamb chops, lamb kofte, and various chicken tandoori, a half of a chicken marinated in tandoori sauce, sag paneer, a keema naan, a cheesy naan, chips, salad and rice. There was more then enough to feed an army, let alone just us two! Luckily we were super hungry and enjoyed every mouthful. The flavours were all incredible, and for once I actually enjoyed eating lamb!!

The service was second to none, and the atmosphere was lovely too. It’s great to have a gem of a restaurant so close to home! The staff could not do enough for you, which means we’ve already got our next evening out with friends planned for there!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haydn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala Grill also viewed

Upminster, Greater London
Upminster, Greater London
 
Upminster, Greater London
Hornchurch, Greater London
 

Been to Masala Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing