We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Curry” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Masala Grill

Masala Grill
Ranked #9 of 76 Restaurants in Upminster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Protaras, Cyprus
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Birthday Curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Booked with the Masala Grill a birthday Curry for 7 people on Wednesday evening.
Usual great food – attention to service and thoroughly enjoyable night.
The guys even produced a birthday cake !

Will no doubt visit again soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    28
    7
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Upminster”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I went to Masala Grill on a Thursday night and had a fantastic evening.

The food was SO fresh and tasty and served in the perfect size portion so you felt full but not bloated like some portions that you get from other curry houses. The staff were great, the beer (Kingfisher) was cold and really nice and overall the place was thoroughly enjoyable.

Having been to more or less every Indian in Upminster and Cranham I would say the food here is the freshest and most authentic.

Would definitely recommend..

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NPalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Daughters birthday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We took a party of 13 last night 31st and i have to say the staff are friendly and the food execellent everybody enjoy there meal. would definately go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hornchurch
1 review
“BEST Indian I have ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Went to try it since I have a taste card, the food was exceptional. So fresh and different from other Indians. Their lamb chops were superb, freshly made. I am now hooked.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Birthday Meal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband booked the Masala Grill for my Birthday to treat myself plus friends and children.
We arrived slightly early so understood that the table wasnt laid up. This was not a problem.The waiter (lovely as he was) informed us that the table we was on was very wobbly, this table was different to all the other tables as we had like a wooden garden table and all the others were black marble.!!!
We then had poppadoms and starters. My starter was really cold and a couple of the others chose not to eat there's. We were still having a great time until the main's arrived with no cutlery. My hustband passed all the empty glasses up to the bar as they hadnt been cleared since we arrived. I always have a chicken tikka biriani and never in my life has it looked like the one i was served. i chose to leave mine. Our table still had starter mess and half hour after we finished our mains we asked for the table to be cleared but they left all left over mess and food all over the table, it looked like we was sitting in a greasy spoon cafe. The icing on the cake was when they bought me a complimentary piece of birthday cake and as i blew out the candle i saw a long hair laying across it. I gave it immediately back and instead of the lady waitress/owner apologising she examined it and informed me if was curly and her hair was straight!! and it must have been one of my childrens!!! have you ever heard anything like it!!!! i informed her that not 1 person on my table had curly hair with this she walked away!! We paid the bill and apologised to our friends for treating them to such a diabolical meal, we felt very embarassed. We eat out alot, and have never known anything like it. I would strongly advise anyone who wishes to visit to think again. What a shame, but every now and then i suppose you have to have a bad night and this one was ours.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
9 Thank superjas9981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala Grill also viewed

Upminster, Greater London
Upminster, Greater London
 
Upminster, Greater London
Upminster, Greater London
 

Been to Masala Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing