We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and appropriate!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ramsey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Countryair Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Ramsey B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Within the context of what we wanted, Farm Cottage B&B was a perfect choice and is one of those gems you store away for future use. I think we will have to return at some point just to catch up with Andy, the welcoming, friendly proprietor.
As a B&B to stay in the night before a sailing from Harwich you can't beat it. Andy's welcome was as big as the huge expanse of Essex countryside which was the view from our bedroom window. Cars may be left at Farm Cottage for those taking a cruise. The extremely reasonable cost of parking includes a taxi transfer to and from the cruise terminal. On return a taxi was waiting to pick us up. The service was slick and efficient.
The room we stayed in was of an adequate size and very comfortable. Andy delivered luggage both to and from the room if required. The communal dining room, library, guest lounge was the hub of this very informal but precision B&B. On arrival a cup of tea or coffee is offered and the good service just goes on from there. When we returned from our cruise we stayed a further night and by then felt like part of the family! The cooked breakfast was excellent.
This is an impartial review and there are two things to point out. One: the stairs are steep and narrow. Not a problem to us but could cause difficulties in some cases. As already stated, though, Andy acts as porter for all luggage if required. Two: the rooms are not ensuite. Now this is an interesting one because, normally, I would think I would feel slightly uncomfortable about wandering around a B&B in a dressing gown (they are provided) with other guests in-situ. Not a bit of it - it seemed quite 'normal'. There is a strong atmosphere of being 'at home'.
Andy knows his product well and executes it perfectly. As a stopping off point, somewhere to leave your car whilst away, or a couple of nights B&B to explore the lovely Essex/Suffolk countryside it ticks all the boxes for me and I look forward to returning to Farm Cottage.

Room Tip: Go with the flow - Andy knows what he is doing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 71 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

very friendly greeting + lovely cuppa on arrival + excellent breakfast cooked to order.
fascinating stock of popular books on display - ask Andy if you are interested in buying
plenty of amateur & professional radio knowledge for old-time and modern radio buffs to chat about
very comfortable bed - if you are in the front room, keep the bedroom window to keep out traffic noise which went on all night.
bathroom with ensuite loo, and second loo downstairs only
stairs up to bedroom narrow and very steep with single handrail, so not ideal if you have trouble getting up & down stairs.
free WIFI worked very well
Outdoor parking was fine, but getting back onto the road was quite scary as the traffic is moving very quickly, and house is on a bend and a slight hill so you are pretty much unsighted - we gave up trying to turn right toward Harwich, and gunned the motor hard left and up the hill, before turning off right toward Wrabness and back to Harwich on a back road

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poolekiteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Friendly, knowledgable host Andy runs a clean and efficient B&B near to Harwich port. The reasonable price included car parking for the duration of our cruise and a taxi to the port and the return journey. Also a full English breakfast (including a coeliac breakfast). I would definitely return if in the area again. The rooms were clean and comfortable and although the toilet and bathroom are downstairs, this caused no problem as dressing gowns are provided. A very nice start and end to our holiday- thanks Andy.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms and although on a busy main road the triple glazed windows stopped most of the traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliek26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

When we arrived at Andy's just from the ferry we got a fine cup of tea and a laugh. Fine bed, fine ambiance. Only the stairs are a bit steep.
Next morning a lovely English breakfast and we were ready to explore England.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dehingst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

A really nice place!!!! Everything was clean, the price was ok, and the breakfast was really good. The room was beautiful and you hace a TV and DVD to see movies, I had some problems with the sound of the TV but was ok.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalvarezunam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

You are made very welcome at this simple B&B near to the Harwich Port, possibly the only B&B of its kind near the port. Good value for money but don't expect luxury. Free internet and a big selection of DVDs is a plus. Bathrooms are downstairs at the back of the property. Traditional English breakfast. Restaurants for dinner are a Harwich.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I was working away from home in London this week and had the good fortune of staying at farm cottage b&b with Andy and co. As stated by others the house immediately gives of the vibes that your at home, Andy does his up most best to facilitate that feeling. Everyday when i finished work i looked forward to going back and relaxing in my room,i slept very well on the single bed provided
and the cleanliness and hygiene standards of the shared bathroom was 10/10 Andy always made
sure it was spotless before the next occupant used it which showed me he cared very much about his guest's opinions. Which in my eyes is the making of any good business. So i will highly recommend this b&b to anyone passing this way, and ignore the couple of negative comments that have been given as there are certain people in life who live to complain, but i think farm cottage b&b for what it is, is good value for money, Andy himself is a legend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Countryair Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Countryair Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2 Ramsey Hall Cottages Tinker Street, Ramsey CO12 5LS, England (Formerly Farm Cottage B&B)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Ramsey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ramsey
Price Range: $40 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farm Cottage B&B opened in December 2008 until December 2013 averaging over 2,000 International visitors per year. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing