We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my cup of tea”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ramsey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Countryair Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Ramsey B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We chose to stay at Farm B&B as a result of a last minute search for accommodation in the area. I would not choose to return.

While the proprietor is friendly and polite, the B&B does not live up to its website description, nor, in my opinion to some of the other reviews here on trip advisor.

Our room was particularly small and felt cramped because of the low ceiling and gaudy wallpaper…not at all spacious, as described on the website. If there was a larger room this was not offered to us, despite the fact that we were the only guests. The bedroom carpet was well-worn, as was the bed linen. There was a noticeable stale tobacco smell throughout, which was masked only on the evening of our stay, by very powerful cooking odours from the kitchen, which permeated the entire guest section of the house. The TV reception was patchy, to the degree that it was impossible to watch. The tea and coffee making facilities were poor - the milk was powdered and the sugar was damp.

Unfortunately there are no en suite bathrooms in the B&B. In order to get from our room to the communal bathroom, we had to navigate the very steep threadbare stairs and make our way through the guest dining room AND the kitchen. The bathroom was spacious and clean.

The dining area was small and dark – not as it appears on the website. We chose not to have breakfast there so can't comment on the quality.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelsheepLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Countryair Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 71 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2011

My husband & I stayed at Farm Cottage B&B for one night prior to our Baltic Cruise. We booked the package which included car parking and a taxi to and from the port and we then took advantage of Andy’s offer of an evening meal (which was all home cooked and delicious).
What can I say that hasn’t already been said by all the people before me?
The Farm Cottage website is very comprehensive and Andy responded to my emails very swiftly.
This establishment does exactly ‘what it says on the tin’. You could not ask for a more friendly, helpful and welcoming host. I have stayed with family and close friends who have not gone to so much time and trouble, when welcoming me to their home.
As I said it is a Bed & Breakfast, someone’s actual home, do not expect to check in before 5.30pm as Andy has to organise all aspects of running not only his home, but his very busy business as well.
All areas were very clean and homely and were perfect for providing the extras to the beginning and end of our holiday.
Thank you Andy for opening your home to travellers from all over the world, and for being the perfect host.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojo3oo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We slept 1 night at Farm Cottage before we went home with the ferry to Hoek van Holland. Andy gave us a warm welcome and was a great host: helpfull, kind and with real interest in his guests. For a short stay between England en home this is the place to be. Thank you Andy! :-)

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huizing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed overnight prior to our cruise from Harwich. Owner, Andy is a true gentleman making you welcome, very relaxing and a great breakfast. Bedroom was a good size with very comfy bed. Andy arranged transfers to and from the port terminal and looked after the car too. We would have preferred our own bathroom but this is a minor detail.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickthepod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Excellent service from the moment we arrived. Very very clean, would definately use again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzie167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We were very lucky to start our UK holidays at Farm Cottage B&B. Warmly welcomed from the very first contact, we felt right at home after our first cup of tea. Andy sure knows how to take care of each and every one. Relaxed atmosphere, friendly guests, great breakfasts and beautiful garden. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We stayed at Farm Cottage for just one night. However, with us arriving by ferry in Harwich early in the morning, Andy (who runs the place) kindly offered that we could have breakfast and then spend the entire day at the cottage preceding our over-night stay. When arriving in the morning, we immediately felt at home and it was much more like meeting a good old friend than staying at a B&B. Amazing how it felt immediately like being at home.

Andy is the most helpful person imaginable, he cooks great dinners and is an infinite source of information. The place itself is clean, with a beautiful garden and some nice hikes in the area. Definitely to be recommended for both short and long-term stays.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dirk_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsey
4.5 mi away
Alma Inn
Alma Inn
#1 of 6 in Harwich
82 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#4 of 6 in Harwich
242 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Pier Hotel at Harwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Goodlife Guesthouse
The Goodlife Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Dovercourt
45 reviews
3.2 mi away
Captain Fryatt Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Countryair Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Countryair Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2 Ramsey Hall Cottages Tinker Street, Ramsey CO12 5LS, England (Formerly Farm Cottage B&B)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Ramsey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ramsey
Price Range: $41 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farm Cottage B&B opened in December 2008 until December 2013 averaging over 2,000 International visitors per year. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing