We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A liitle gem.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crouch Valley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Latchingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

a great hotel. Before arrival there had been a burst water main close to hotels entrance. The owner was kind enough to ring us beforehand to pre-warn us. We received a very friendly welcome. The room was first class. Very clean & spacious. Had a great nights sleep. We were greeted with a lovely breakfast in the morning. All the trimmings & cooked to perfection. The owner spared time to talk to us & made us feel at home. For a spur of the moment booking we had a lovely time. thank you Crouch Valley Lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank richardburkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 98 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

So much better than various well known hotel chains and at a much better price. Rooms were comfortable, quiet, spotless and well maintained. Reasonable food and friendly service. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freeroddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We at this restaurant in August 2013 and were very impressed by the quality of food and service. It's the little things that make all the difference, like being shown the steaks on offer before you decide to order, or the sea bass (and being tactfully asked if you'd like the head and tail on or off !)
All in all, fabulous food and very welcoming chef and staff. I recommend it highly !
Dom

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank DomandLainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

You may pass this place on the road and not give it much of a second glance but this little place has so much going for it if you scratch under the surface of an ex road side cafe..
We stayed in one of the 2 rooms in the main building. Well prepared, clean and shown personally to our room, the first indication of the 5 star service you get here.full of local advice, and I'm so glad we looked at other review recommendations as the steak meal experience we had was fabulous...steaks were the specials, and they were brought to your table raw for a pre cooked inspection...no off cuts here, started with mushrooms in creamy garlic sauce...delicious.We got offered a sauce with our steaks, and we were brought a pan of freshly prepared pepper and cream sauce..ooh..wonderful....good range of wines and a well stocked bar. Steak was cooked exactly to order for both of us, and melted in the mouth.
Dessert list...couldn't resist..
This guy can cook and when we find out his main cooker range had just blown out , presenting that quality of food was amazing. Beds were super comfortable, with mattress topper..nice touch...huge LCD tv on wall.sky sports of course..well stocked drinks making facilities.everything worked...great nights sleep..welcoming breakfast with fresh toast, .
All things considered I have paid 3 to 4 times the price for much worse experience and service.we looked inside one the 10 lodge rooms outside the main building , thinking we had just been lucky..but no..spotless, roomy, good facilities..
Just 12 rooms on offer..but if you are visiting anywhere within 30 miles radius, you would be crazy not to give this a go..just book it..! :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huw b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The exterior of the building does no justice to the warm, friendly, efficient service that lurks inside. We were met by a charming lady, who immediately made us feel welcome and showed us to our room, which was so very clean and extraordinarily functional. We were amazed at the "little" extras, such as a fan, touch operated lights and copious beverage supplies.
We negotiated a time to dine and were not disappointed with drinks in the garden, watching the world go by.
Dinner was fabulous, with extremely attentive service not only from Lukka (receptionist, now waitress/bar person) but Ken,the owner. They pandered to my whim of having a meal of starters and my husband's preference for well done steaks, the steak was bought to the table before cooking and we were asked if it would suit .The dining experience was sublime, non pretentious food, honestly prepared, cooked and served. Unfortunately we were too full for pudding.
After a very good night's sleep in a really comfortable bed we again ate another brilliantly prepared, cooked and served, meal, breakfast.Again nothing was too much trouble and the service was so slick,
I wish we had not had to rush away, but we will return and hopefully soon to spend a little more time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here whilst away working and found the rooms very clean and tidy, the staff there were very pleasant and helpful. Having seen the extensive menu I decided to eat in the restaurant, the food was delicious and excellent value for money. I would have paid more!

I was so impressed I intend to return with my girlfriend for a weekend break.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the outside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry-john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here in 2011 while on holiday from Australia, we were visiting relatives in the area.
It was the easiest decicion to stay again this year.
From our arrival we ere treated as family, nothing was to much trouble for Ken the owner. The evening meals were excellent, the steak was first class. The deserts were very indulgent, 1st class. Lots of interaction between staff which made for some very enjoyable evenings. The waitress even remembered the unusual drinks we asked for 2 years ago. Each morning the breakfast was to the same high standard as the evening meals.
Our room was spotless, loved the waterfall shower, the bed very comfortable.
This place is on our must stay list on our next trip to the UK.

Stayed: June 2013
Thank malcolm a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Latchingdon
5 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#1 of 3 in Maldon
197 reviews
5.5 mi away
Le Bouchon Hotel
Le Bouchon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heybridge
249 reviews
9.2 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
453 reviews
8.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester F...
#1 of 1 in Tolleshunt Knights
1,667 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Lion Inn
Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Latchingdon
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crouch Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crouch Valley Lodge

Address: Burnham Road, Latchingdon CM3 6EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Latchingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Latchingdon
Price Range: $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Dengie Peninsular which is primarily a farming area, adjacent to two rivers which has the added advantage of numerous outdoor activities. Besides sailing, there are number of golf courses nearby, numerous walks, cycling opportunities, horse riding centers and places of both historic and natural interest to visit. Five double rooms are available to rent. Three are situated on the ground floor on a motel type basis and two on the first floor of the main building. All rooms are gas centrally heated and have the benefit of Sky Sports TV, BT Sport and free Wi-Fi. Room only prices from £60 with full English breakfast or continental breakfast from £7.50 per person. Each room has an allocated parking space in a private car park. Check in times are from 2pm and check out 10am. Facilities include a bar and lounge area. Evening meals are available by prior arrangement from Monday to Friday only. The whole premises are strictly non-smoking. Keys are obtained from a key box under code when reception is not available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing