We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly lovely”
Review of King John's Lodge

King John's Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Etchingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King John's Lodge
Ranked #4 of 4 Etchingham B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Everything was perfect from the service to the room. We were made to feel so welcome and we were truly sad to leave. Breakfast was perfect and the building and grounds are stunning. Cannot understand why they got that bad review but there will always be someone that cant be pleased. Bottom line we loved it and cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bourneville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freddycuba, Public Relations Manager at King John's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to review king John's Lodge and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

All the best, Freddy Cunningham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed at King John's Lodge and were blown away by the place. It has an amazing garden and is set in such a beautiful setting. Room was really big and bed comfortable. Would recommend this place to everyone which is why I am writing the review. Jill, the owner, was really accommodating and we liked it so much we stayed an extra night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank george m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freddycuba, Public Relations Manager at King John's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to review king John's Lodge and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

All the best, Freddy Cunningham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

I have to say I couldn't disagree more with the person writing the review complaining about the owners and the breakfast. The owner was extremely friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was delicious!

We stayed here for a friends wedding at the local wedding venue, Swallows Oast. We were lucky in the end that we happened upon this b&b. The house and gardens are among the most beautiful I have ever seen, it was like staying in some sort fairytale castle.

Were I to return to the area I would certainly stay here again. In fact the house and gardens are so beautiful they merit a visit on their own. Don't hesitate to stay here, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freddycuba, Public Relations Manager at King John's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to review king John's Lodge and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

All the best, KJL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We recently stayed in the beautiful, historic King Johns Lodge and what a lovely time we had. Our room was large and cosy, with an ensuite bathroom. The breakfast was delicious, including fresh eggs laid by the chickens that roam the gardens. Talking of which, the gardens were absolutely stunning. Such a peaceful and romantic setting. The shop at the nursery was full of lovely gifts as well as an array of plants. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebeccaBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freddycuba, Public Relations Manager at King John's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to review king John's Lodge and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

All the best, KJL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

I feel I must have stayed in a different place to the people in the other review! I had a lovely enormous room, with the most comfortable bed. I felt as if I was staying in a small stately home. The breakfasts were delicious and varied. The gardens are really beautiful, with several different areas - my favourites were the wild garden and the woodland walk. The owner's son has a propogating nursery at one end of the garden, and the shop is like an Aladdin's Cave, with all sorts of goodies to buy other than the actual plants. I would like to go back in June when all the roses will be out. Altogether I had a very relaxing few days.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freddycuba, Public Relations Manager at King John's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to review king John's Lodge and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

All the best, KJL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

Viewed website and were keen to visit as listed in the top 20 B&B's in the UK by Which. Although it was a lovely house and gardens in glorious surroundings, it was unfortunately let down by the complete indifference of the owners and a very poor breakfast.
In all our extensive travels in the UK and abroad, this was the most disappointing. The owners seemed to think that the undoubted charms of the house were enough, and that no effort was required on their part in the way of service, food and general attention to detail.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelmad50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freddycuba, Public Relations Manager at King John's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

Hello,

Many thanks for your feedback. I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at King John's Lodge. We try to make everyone's stay special and obviously you did not think this was the case with your visit. Obviously yours is an isolated view as (as you mention) King John's Lodge was listed in the top 20 B&Bs in Britain bu Which? and we have had hundreds of happy guests since opening our doors more than 15 years ago and fantastic feedback over the years from people from all parts of the world.

It is difficult to understand your comments and I would say that you said that you visited us in August 2006 yet did not post a review until a full year later in 2007.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to King John's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King John's Lodge

Address: King Johns Lodge Sheepstreet Lane, Etchingham TN19 7AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Etchingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Etchingham
Price Range: $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the High Weald this romantic eight acre garden and house is as beautiful as it is tranquil and has captured the hearts of many a garden lover in the UK and abroad. There are four attractive double and twin rooms all of which have en-suite or private bathrooms and there is separate sitting room for guests with a TV. Weather permitting, tea can be taken in the garden. King John’s Lodge Bed and Breakfast is open all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King John`s Hotel Etchingham
King John's Lodge Etchingham, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing