We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome in peaceful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Carlton Country Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Aldbrough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Warm welcome in peaceful location”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Have just returned from a two-night stay at West Carlton with my partner and our five-year-old son. Caroline and Tim were very friendly, informal hosts, and didn't seem to mind the mild chaos that always accompanies us - indeed, they seemed to enjoy it!

We chose this B&B because of the family suite - two rooms sharing a hallway and a bathroom behind a common front door. For us, this works far better than a so-called "family" room containing three beds.

Positives:
Warm welcome
Excellent breakfasts (you choose the evening before by ticking a sheet, so you can have exactly what you want)
The dogs, Henry and Woody, who kept our little boy entertained
The incredibly peaceful location
The sun trap gardens with a large trampoline
The little extras - bottled water, wine glasses, nice smellies, a good selection of books/DVDs/videos etc

Negatives:
The shower takes a long time to get right, and boils or freezes you if anyone else runs a tap or flushes a loo
The location might be a bit remote for some - there are no amenities within walking distance, not even a shop or pub.

Top tip - if you're into fossil hunting, nearly Mappleton beach is the place to go!

Altogether, an excellent experience, and we'll definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodielexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
45
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We have just returned from our third stay at West Carlton and again it was so enjoyable and faultless. Lovely clean and spacious room with a huge bathroom and lots of little extras and luxuries. Superb freshly cooked breakfast with a huge choice - there really is something for everyone and so much of it - and prepared fresh for you - not left around after being cooked to go cold. So much wildlife around and about to look at and enjoy and this so adds to the experience for us. Lovely friendly hosts - an exceptional venue run by wonderful people. Brilliant value for money and the place to go for a really relaxing break - close enough to be handy to many many places of interest but far enough away to be quiet and to get away from it all.

Room Tip: All beautiful with lots of little extras and treats - and luxurious toiletries in proper size bottle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zetta321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We only stayed one night for a family party nearby, but would recommend this hotel. We had a warm welcome and our room was huge. It was very well presented and the public rooms we used were maintained and renovated to a very high standard. It is located about a mile outside Aldbrough so keep on going down Carlton Lane - you cant miss it on the right hand side. Very peaceful. A lovely breakfast set us up for the day. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Keep going along Carlton Lane - its a bit further than you think but you wont miss it on the right h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We have just returned from another stay at West Carlton Guest House and are already counting down the weeks until we return in June. Like last time the visit was so enjoyable and we just did not want to leave. Caroline, Tim and Shelia are just lovely and run a great place where nothing is too much trouble and everything is done to the highest standard in a no fuss organised way. The breakfasts are worth the stay alone, so good, so fresh and tasty and a very wide choice and cooked to order at the time you want it - so no food stuck around being kept warm, and you eat what you want to eat, not what a set menu dictates. The rooms are tasty fully decorated with lots of little pleasant extras and the facilities and venue is spotless and of a very high quality. The welcome and service is second to none and it is just a real switch offf, unwind and enjoy yourself place - far enough from the beaten track to be quiet but close enough to be convenient for siteseeing and shopping etc. It really is a superb place and we cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: They are all great, decorated lovely with great facilities and lots of little extras. All different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zetta321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Our second weekend visit, and it won't be our last (already booked for Easter). Dog-friendly (and lovely woofy welcome from the two resident dogs), wonderful breakfasts (and a huge choice) and an excellent relaxed service all make this a delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneInBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

My partner and I ended up staying at West Carlton by accident when our plans got changed. Despite the short notice everything was wonderful. Caroline could not do enough to make us feel welcome, from the warm greeting at the door to the complimentary tea and biscuits in the lounge. The house is so beautiful and the rooms are amazing and expertly decorated with wonderful furnishings and lots of extras like good quality biscuits, bowls of sweets, boxes of tissues, luxuorious toiletties and plenty of them. Amazing soft towels and everywhere is spotlessly clean. The rooms are large and spacious and it genuinely feels like staying with friends rather than in a guest house. The guests lounge is a lovely space and the woodburning fire lovely to return to, sofas so big and comfy you just want to sink into them and the view from all the windows is so good there is no need to even leave the house. There is an excellent choice for breakfast and it is freshly and well cooked and so much of it - a great variety. Again there is plenty of space in the dining room and the consevatory is a nice addition. The dogs are so friendly and add even more to the homely feel. We were actually hoping the weather turned for the worse so we could stay longer and did not have to return home as it is such a special place run by very special people that we really did not want to leave. We are already booking four weeks for next year and counting down the time to the first week as we cannot wait to get back there. It offers everything you want for a relaxing and enjoyable stay and you are guranteed to love it and fall in love with the place and come away feeling you have made new friends once you meet the wonderful hosts/owners Tim and Caroline who are exceptional people with real skills in the hospitality market. West Carlton really is an exceptional place - we fully recommend it.

Room Tip: They are all fantastic, comfy and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zetta321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Last night of our one week holiday and a great way to finish. This is a country house, clean, smart, very large rooms, separate sitting room for guests and a lovely host. As it is about a mile and a half out of the village it provides evening meals some nights. We eat in the George and dragon in the village and then turned up about 7:30.

I would recommend this establishment to anyone.

Room Tip: I think they will all be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doing_the_coast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldbrough
79.1 mi away
Wentworth House
Wentworth House
#2 of 2 in Aldbrough
37 reviews
2.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Piercebridge
553 reviews
0.0 mi away
Newburgh House - Coxwold
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Carlton Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Carlton Country Guest House

Property: West Carlton Country Guest House
Address: West Carlton Farm Carlton Road, Aldbrough HU11 4RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Aldbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aldbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West Carlton Country Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your West Carlton Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing