We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good no hassle stay”
Review of Yorkway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yorkway Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pocklington
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good no hassle stay”
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Made very welcome by all the staff. Very happy to stay again

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigStuNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    55
    11
    1
    6
See reviews for
51
70
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Booked a one night stay as working locally so excellent location for my use. Rooms are spacious and clean and simple but all you need. Even an iron and ironing board. Reaturant food was excellent and great value. Free wifi was excellent. A bit if road noise dye to location but bed very comfy and slept well. Friendly staff. Will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mojitogeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southyorks
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We visited pocklington on a fishing trip in september, after a long day we decided to have a drive out to find a pub for a quiet drink, and that we did the welcome was wonderfull the hospitality was next to none.. that good we decided to return every night of our stay! Thanks Julie & Michael! see you soon xxx

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunny100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford uk
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

I was best man at my friends wedding, he had the wedding meal inthe main restaurant and the evening do in the next room and in the bar and outside. The wedding meal was al ittle cramped as its not a huge venue but the use of space was good. The meal was a carvery and was pretty good. The Bar is pretty reasonable, although the staff when tired were flagging a bit :)

The rooms aren't in the main building but are in outbuilding surrounding the carpark. Therefore we pulled our car right up to the door of the room and unloaded our gear. Rooms are pretty basic, but are clean, functional and the bathroom was ok. Walk in shower (bathroom could have used a lock) was a welcome change from those bath/shower combo's. In the morning a cooked Breakfast was thrown in too in the main restraurant area. Not a huge breakfast but in fairness it was just right with coffee, juice and cereal thrown in. You can also pay for the whole of your stay on your room charge. £55 for a twin or double room inc breakfast.

All in all I would definately stay here again, the staff were friendly and efficient and it had a real "family run" feel to it. Only thing I would change is perhaps having Aircon in the rooms or maybe just a fan.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simoncchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

This was our second stay at yorkway,found it just as good as first. Rooms are clean and have everything you need ,beds comfortable. Great breakfast. Dining room,bar and all areas spotless. Location on busy road into York might put soom people off but we didnt find it a problem,plus it is great for getting into York and the park and ride. Hard to beat for £55 for two including breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tishey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Crosby
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Just a one night stay for us - we were over for a birthday party locally and the motel was a mere 10 mins walk away, so a rather functional visit. Room clean, spacious and whilst no-frills, more than adequate. Cask beer in the bar would've been a bonus, but you can't have everything. The staff are friendly and efficient and the food was rather fine - both a lunchtime baguette and breakfast next morning. The roar of traffic past the front of the premises (it's situated on what is, a very busy trunk road) is offset by some splendid views over open country at the back of the motel. Parking space is extensive, tariff is very reasonable and we'd certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bothyperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2009

This is the best kept secret in Town with great staff, food and rooms. Having stayed locally before this is a breath of fresh air, the management and staff have been great, very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The food is a mix of traditional and contemporary-try the chicken! Thanks to all at the Yorkway for a great week!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windturbine8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pocklington
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
12.1 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
14.4 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,299 reviews
15.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
11.5 mi away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Escrick
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yorkway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yorkway Motel

Property: Yorkway Motel
Address: The Balk | The Balk, Pocklington YO42 2NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Pocklington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pocklington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits everyone at The Yorkway Motel. Our new lounge is warm and inviting either for a coffee or a nice cool beer. Our restaurant caters for all from our Homemade Steak & Ale pie to something a little different. Our Refurbished rooms are all on one level and easy access parking makes the Yorkway well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Yorkway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorkway Hotel Pocklington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing