We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab wedding venue but the room was a joke!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rowley Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Weighton
Certificate of Excellence
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fab wedding venue but the room was a joke!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My partner and I attended our friend's wedding in Spring 2013 at Rowley Manor. The entrance hall, lobby, bar and reception rooms were great, very shabby chic and the wedding was brilliant. BUT that's where the good points

Our room (12) was £100 for the night and it was smaller than our box room at home! It had enough room for a double bed and space down one side of it to walk. So no getting out of bed in the night without disturbing your partner if you're the one against the wall! That was literally it! The bathroom was also tiny with a small bath (no shower), toilet and sink...tiny.

We were travelling a fair distance on the day of the wedding so didn't want to travel in our wedding attire we called the hotel in advance to see if we could check-in a little early just to get changed. They said this was fine and I rang again on the morning of the wedding and they gave me a specific time the room would be ready for...fab, or not quite! When we arrived the unhelpful woman on reception said our room hadn't been cleaned but we could still go up to get changed. Well, I wish we hadn't because the floor was covered in mud, there were towels everywhere, the bed unmade and used coffee/tea supplies. We got changed quickly and left to get a drink from the bar and chill! The bar was cozy but there was only one man serving the whole day, they didn't have quite a few things including some of the draught beers. They only had Becks larger on tap and it was flat! Outrageous too when you consider their prices!! It cost just under £10 for a pint of Becks and a single gin and tonic!

The room was cleaned (ish) whilst we were at the wedding. There was still bits of mud on the tired looking carpet and they had used the same throw on the bed, ew!

Also to add, the kettle was kept on the floor and the window was broken (did not stay open). On reflection we should have stayed nearby and got a taxi after the wedding, it would have probably cost the same but been a much nicer experience.

We didn't complain at the time as we did not want to upset our friends on their wedding day but I certainly would NOT recommend staying here!! We also heard many other guests saying their rooms were tiny and overpriced. Because our friends had fully booked the rooms with their wedding guests, I heard someone say that the hotel had put all the prices up. They must think they can get away with charging what they want because people who aren't local have nowhere nearby that they can stay instead.

Overpriced, tiny, dirty room. Don't do it! We feel like we've been robbed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgwck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    310
    117
    58
    35
See reviews for
123
670
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tetney
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have just returned from stopping at RM with a Travelzoo deal. We upgraded the room to a four poster and it was lovely, really fitting in character with the manor house.
When we arrived we popped into the bar for a drink. My husband only drinks Guinness and they ran out as there had been a wedding the previous day.
We had bought our son and daughter in law the same voucher for Christmas and they had visited prior to us going, and had said the steak meal was the best he had ever had, but you had to pay a supplement. We were so looking forward to this only to find that there was no steaks on the menu, just a fixed three course.
Lovely lad behind the bar, always nice to be served with a smile and a friendly word. Hope he gets to visit South America!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We got married here at the beginning of March and couldn't recommend it more! The planning from the staff was excellent-we felt comfortable before and throughout the day that we could leave the staff "to it" so to speak and we had a perfect day. The venue itself is beautiful and has some lovely photo opportunities both inside (if the weather isn't great) and outside the ground are lovely too. The food was lovely and the service excellent. Thoroughly recommend as a wedding venue :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at Rowley Manor for two nights on a Telegraph deal. In the offer, the room was described as a luxury room; this was sadly not the case.
We arrived at the hotel and were very impressed with the building, the lobby, foyer and service we received on checking in. Unfortunately, the room we were given (Room 16) was a contrasting disappointment.
Before we even were in the room, we had to contend with a foul odour emanating from a service stair beside our door. The room was comparatively small and generally shabby. Things don't look good when you are confronted with a plug-in 2kW electric heater in what was a very cold March. There was a 'fitted' radiator, but this was purely for aesthetics and never functioned during our stay.
A clock on the mantle-piece recorded the time that the batteries had finally given up and the light fitting looked like it had come from a christmas cracker.
It was also disappointing to not find a welcome pack about the hotel and area in the room.
The bathroom was a sight and truly worthy of its own paragraph. The toilet, basin and shower tray were probably the height of cool back in the 70's (see photo), but times have changed and baby-pooh brown fittings are no longer right in hotels. B&B maybe, but not a 'luxurious' hotel. The shower cubicle had been re-tilled, but this was over existing, making an odd detail around the door and tap. Oh, it was a new door too, slightly shorter then the previous and the newly exposed wall was left unfinished and unpainted. Using the shower was not a pleasant experience due to the lack of pressure and the inability to maintain a temperature. You had to work the gauge like a safe-cracker to prevent yourself alternately being frozen or scalded. Don't forget the shower was, for some reason, up a step. I nearly ended up on my a*se each time I stepped from it. Tesco value bog paper was another unpleasant surprise. Do they even use that in prisons? How much more would decent stuff cost? I'm sure an increase in toilet paper quality would not cause the financial collapse of the establishment.
Were all the rooms like this? Were we being punished for having had the cheek to use an offer from a national newspaper? We will never know.
Some of the other rooms may be better. If you get a good one (should they exist), then this is a A* hotel. Having looked at the fire escape plan on the back of the door, it appears the lower the room number, the bigger the room. I personally wouldn't go above 8 and fingers crossed it's been refurbished.
Everything else about the hotel was so good, food included. The service was spot-on and the reception staff really aimed to please. We did complain about the odour outside the room and this was swiftly dealt with by a can of aerosol. This however only covered the effects of the problem and not its cause.
It was such a damn shame about our room, which really has affected our view of Rowley Manor as a whole.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank In_Room_237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a one night stay with a groupon offer. We had a lovely time! The staff are very helpful and attentive. We had a lovely double room, that was large and airy and had a stunning fireplace!
The bathroom was a bit dated and could do with a bit of modernisation but it was adequate.
We decided to take up the offer of a 3 course meal for 2 which was £31.95. I am so glad we did! The food was amazing!
We would definately return and highly recommend a stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank spornny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

very dated and tired rooms and outside woodwork in need of lots of tlc.bathroom in my room was a big let down due to the shower not working and a big patch of black mould down by the shower screen,having said that i had a really good nights sleep in a very comfy bed (domestics please look under the bed). if it was 4 in a bed i would pay £45/55.....................sorry

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Rawley Manor overnight, and thoroughly enjoyed our evening. The fires were lit, the food excellent, and the staff were very attentative, but not intrusive.
Before and after our meal we enjoyed sitting in the lounge before the open fire.
The bedroom was very generously sized, with comfortable chairs and a television/dvd player. Plentl of hot water for the shower in the morning before a well cokked and presented breakfast.

Loking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Weighton
3.8 mi away
Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club
3.1 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
704 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Willerby Manor Hotel
4.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Hull
Hallmark Hotel Hull
#1 of 1 in North Ferriby
1,065 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowley Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowley Manor Country House Hotel

Property: Rowley Manor Country House Hotel
Address: Rowley Road, Little Weighton HU20 3XR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Little Weighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Weighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rowley Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowley Manor Country House Hotel Yorkshire/Little Weighton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing