We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby Chic or just Shabby?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rowley Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Weighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Me and my boyfriend purchased a romantic weekend at Rowley Manor from Travelzoo. It was very easy to find and in a perfect rural location - it was so quiet and peaceful! However, we had been promised strolls around the lovely grounds which then proved impossible as there is no access to the surrounding grounds because they are covered with electric fences to keep the horses in. So we retreated to our room which was comfortable and large, but the decor was old and tired and definitely more shabby than chic. It was not the oldy worldy manor style we were expecting, just abit grubby. Things were looking up when we went to the bar for a drink, the setting was lovely, roaring log fire and comfy leather chairs. The staff were friendly and helpful and cannot be faulted. We had a beautiful meal (which was the only thing worth the trip!) and although there was only a small menu selection, they all looked delicious and everything we ate was cooked to perfection. Overall, our trip was a little disappointing and I wouldnt recommend staying here. However, if you are just looking for somewhere to have a nice meal as a non-guest, then this is certainly worth a look.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claireys83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

868 - 874 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

Me and my boyfriend received a weekend away here from TravelZoo for Christmas. Such a lovely place to stay. Rooms were lovely, comfy and clean. Food service was fab for the evening meal, followed by a comfy drink by an open fire in the bar area. Beautiful location in the middle of the countryside, and was easy to get to (even in the snow!). Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the full english breakfast is highly recommended. Only a few things wrong, such as no hot water in the shower - just in the bath, very rarely there were staff behind the bar so you had to wait around for a while and apparently people knick t.v. remotes from rooms, so not remotes. But overall fab place to stay, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Potentially, this place could be a rare jewel in East Yorkshire. Instead, it is rather like high street dress jewellery - looks good on the outside OR perhaps like a superb play acted out and let down by an Amateur Dramatic Society and a mediocre one at that.

This is what looks like a superb wedding venue and because the establishment has nice tables and chairs; crockery; cutlery; wineware; a bar; kitchen and staff the Management utilise these facilities to 'dress up' mass produced catering, rather like Mutton dressed as Lamb. Just because you have the tools to hand, that is only the start but with the right vision and investment,this place could really make a good name for itself to add to the already sparse fine dining experiences in the area, of which his is a long way from becoming.

Rather than criticse the staff (who probably 'think' they are doing a good job) I will stick to the catering, which is what we were presented with - mass catered food. No way did my Waldorf Salad make me feel this was prepared specially for me and the soup was not great either. Salmon with Asparagus...the presentation wasn't bad and the Pork Loin on a bed of French Beans looked good too, cooked al dente. However, the accompanying selection of vegetables had been 'stewed' to death.

I could name a dozen Pubs within a five mile radious that are more serious about what leaves their kitchen.

We 'skipped' pudding (which was included in the Groupin Voucher) and asked for coffee but were a little disappointed to be charged for that-you would think the Management would include that in lieu of ' no pudding'? Still, no worries-the coffee was afterall the highlight of the evening!

To sum up...this is a 'wannabe' restaraunt. Rather like a low production movie and it shows. The Management should take the staff and themselves to Pipe and Glass or the superb 1884 and show them 'how it's done' if they want to b a serious contender instead of a pretender.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRT7V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We came on a two night Groupon offer and had read previous reviews which made us look forward to this short break. We weren't disappointed. The hotel is set in a beautiful rural location with fields and horses all around. The staff here are excellent - very welcoming and helpful. Our room, although small, was warm and cosy. The evening dinner was delicious although we would have liked a bit more variety between the menus on the two nights. We actually made the same choices on each evening but enjoyed the salmon and asparagus so much that it wasn't a hardship! Our waitress was lovely. We visited Hull and enjoyed The Deep and walked from there to the museum quarter where we visited the Street Life Museum and the William Wilberforce House Museum - both very interesting and free! We hotfooted back to Rowley as snow was forecast and this duly arrived during the evening but, not to worry, there are a few log fires to keep you warm here. I can't think of a nicer place to be snowbound but the thaw started the next morning and we had to leave. I am sure we will be back.

Room Tip: We had room 11 which is at the front of the hotel overlooking the car park. It was a reasonable room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmc51England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We visited Rowley Manor last night for a three course meal courtesy of a groupon voucher my sister bought us for a Christmas present.

The place is a looking a little tired in parts, however don't let this put you off as it has plenty of charm with its cosy open fires, candle lit rooms and friendly staff providing a quaint ambiance to dine in.

I can't fault the food, it was cooked to a high standard, came piping hot and tasted great - even if it was a groupon menu!

My only gripe was after the main course we waited for around 20 minutes to see the dessert menu and then some time after the meal waiting for the bill. It was if we was invisible!

It didn't spoil the meal, but I hate waiting around at the best of times, I left me feeling that if the service was a little more attentive we would have left with a better review to offer. It may have just been a one off, who knows?

All in all, good food, friendly staff and lovely settings and would dine here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Pulling up outside was a bit disappointing. I would have expected it to look more grand. However, once inside it was a different story. Lovely entrance hall leading to a grand reception area. The walls were full of old posters of theatre productions which made for a very interesting read. The chap at check was pleasant and efficient. Our room was on the third floor with a lovely view over snow covered field. It was cosy and warm and pleasantly decorated. The en suite was small but perfectly functional with complimentary toiletries. We left our bags and went to the bar where there was a roaring open fire - which we promptly plonked ourselves next to. The evening meal was lovely. All the staff were helpful with the small exception of the chap who served us in the bar per dinner. In the package we had booked we were to receive a glass of fizz and olives before dinner. We got the fizz but the bar man said - Oh no we' re not doing olives any more, that was just at Christmas. So we showed him the paper from our booking. He then went to ask someone and came back with the olives. We shouldn't have had to ask because that was part of the deal. But after all that we had a great stay and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Stayed: January 2013
Thank RubyTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Beautiful Manor house with roaring fires, gorgeous high ceilings and wonderful countryside views. We upgraded to a four poster bed at a small cost of £10 (well worth it) and had a further bed placed in the room for our child. The evening meals were fantastic and the menu not too overwhelming. We enjoyed after dinner drinks in the bar on a comfy sofa in front of the fire. Staff are extremley friendly and very attentive, have already recommended the hotel to friends.

Room Tip: opt for the upgrade to a four poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Weighton
3.8 mi away
Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club
4.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Hull
Hallmark Hotel Hull
#1 of 1 in North Ferriby
1,260 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Willerby Manor Hotel
3 mi away
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
5.6 mi away
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowley Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowley Manor Country House Hotel

Address: Rowley Road, Little Weighton HU20 3XR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Little Weighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Weighton
Price Range: $165 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rowley Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowley Manor Country House Hotel Yorkshire/Little Weighton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing