We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rowley Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Weighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We visited the restaurent on a special price deal. It has old world charm, a cosy fire burning in the bar, and although the food was very good, I dont think I would have paid the full price stated on the menu.For a venue of this quality there were a few small details not quite right, whether it was because of the special offer I do not know.For instance the wine waiter poured the wine straight into a glass without offering to taste first. small point I know, but I thought this was a usual custom

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,006)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

867 - 873 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just returned from our 2 night stay at Rowley Manor - a lovely country manor house with a long history set in beautiful grounds. This was a 2 night bed and breakfast deal booked via KGB. To our delight, the hotel had a half price evening meal offer so we ate in the restaurant both nights of our stay. Our large room was very comfortable (room 9) with fantastic views, the food in the restaurant was good (for 1 veggie/1 carnivore) and all the wines were very reasonable priced. The public rooms are very welcoming, as are the staff and we thoroughly enjoyed our very relaxing stay. I don't know what else the staff could have done to make our stay more enjoyable - well done to the Rowley Manor team!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janlouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nothing was wrong, but nothing was special. The public rooms are lovely. The bedroom was just ordinary (though with good artwork on the walls) the bathroom was just ordinary (holes in the door where a clothing hook had once stood, defective shower, no bathtub), the bar had very limited drinks available, and the food was ordinary. As others have said (see Kirstyhall), main course choice at dinner was Loin of Pork, Coq au Vin, Salmon, or Roast Beef and Yorkshire Pudding - yawn! Just like a pub Sunday lunch. Shortest wine list I've ever seen but wine reasonably priced. Lost of helpful and friendly young staff, but more training needed, for example we were informed that our table was ready and left to carry our own drinks from the bar, and the wine was not opened in our presence. For a hotel that is off the beaten track, I just don't see what the selling point is to motivate people to go there.

Room Tip: Access to all bedrooms involves climbing stairs, and bedrooms 8 - 14 are on the top floor up a secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobotheviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Had a marvellous night on Friday 5th October for my Birthday.

Room 6 was large, spacious and clean with a four poster bed and balcony - looked to have been newly refrubished.

The staff were extremely helpful (with a special mention for "Clare" for all her help). My partner surprised me by travelling down to place champagne, flowers, chocolates & balloons into the room, prior to our arrival - it was a total surprise.

The evening meal was lovely, we had mushroom & goats cheeses starters and to follow I had Te grilled cod - my partner had te ribeye steak. Throughly enjoyed it. We didn't have a dessert.

The bar area has sofas and comfortable relaxing chairs with a warm, welcoming ambiance.

The breakfast was 1st class with a selection of croissants, fruit selection (including fresh cut water melon), fresh fruit juices and cereals. The full English breakfast included black pudding - one of very best I've tasted.

We had a fabulous time and certainly will be returning in te near future.

Room Tip: Room 6 is a excellent room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldendreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

A wonderful find of a hotel, Excellent food, excellent room, excellent service and excellent price! Well worth a stay. Very peaceful, warm and friendly setting. We will definitely go back again and again and again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We got a deal from Travelzoo for dinner for 2 for £35. We went on a Sunday night.
Well... The starter was OK. The mains, roast topside and pork loin, nearly - but not quite - reach the standard of Sunday roasts served in pubs all over Hull. The beef was reasonable, for topside. The pok was overcooked and very, very tough. Both gravies were Bisto or similar. The roast potatoes were squishy, not crisp. The only good thing about the meal were the vegetables, which were properly cooked.
The dining room wasn't full but the staff seemed a bit harried. We had to remind one of the waiters to bring the wine we had ordered.
Two out of four puddings were finished by the time we got there, 7.30pm. The substitutes were possibly from the freezer.
All together, not an experience I would rush to repeat. The voucher supposedly gave us a half priced meal - I would be very annoyed to be asked to pay £70 for this.
It's a pity, because the Manor is a lovely location. If it served good food I am sure patrons would flock there and there would be no need to offer so many money off deals.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank kirstyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Had an absolutely fab stay with my boyfriend, loved every minute! We payed £89 for 1 nights stay for two, 3 course meal and breakfast using a groupon voucher. The room was clean, well designed and had amazing views from the large windows. The evening meal was exquisite and the service from the staff couldnt have been better. Overall a very memorable stay at this country retreat, thanks very much!
Already arranging another time to go back, hopefully for more than 1 night!

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a 4 poster bed, cannot fault room 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea93paige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Weighton
3.8 mi away
Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club
3.0 mi away
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
3.1 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Willerby Manor Hotel
4.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Hull
Hallmark Hotel Hull
#1 of 1 in North Ferriby
1,134 reviews
6.1 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#4 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowley Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowley Manor Country House Hotel

Address: Rowley Road, Little Weighton HU20 3XR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Little Weighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Weighton
Price Range: $143 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rowley Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowley Manor Country House Hotel Yorkshire/Little Weighton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing