We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rowley Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Weighton
Certificate of Excellence
York, U.K
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice little getaway”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Upon arrival, the staff were very welcoming and helpful. The bar/lounge area was great, very comfortable with a big open fire to snuggle up in front of. The food was a bit of a letdown, the menu sounded great, but the quality of the food was just 'so so'.... If I had received the food in a village pub, I would have been quite pleased, but given the place I expected better (over cooked venison, average pate) the pudding however was excellent! The waiting staff were very attentive and professional.

Areas of the manor are run down in places, but I don't really think this detracts too much from the experience. The whole place has a very 'county manor' feel about, which is lovely, but I felt was somewhat spoilt by the owners own personal taste in decor, (the bar walls are plastered with theater posters, which don't really fit in with the theme of the place)

Overall, I would recommend a visit, particularly if you can get it on a Groupon deal ;)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guildmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    308
    117
    58
    35
See reviews for
122
665
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

What a mistake???? I had booked a night with dinner via groupon for my partners birthday - I even emailed them before hand after been concerned with some reviews on trip advisor they totally assured me that my room was one of the best rooms (room 6)!!! Well I would hate to see their worse room - it was so tired looking nothing matched old ornaments, dusty plastic flowers, cheap nasty pictures!! A rug on the floor that your nan would have - then you walk into the bathroom it was like a student flats bathroom old, bits falling off, even toilet seat never stayed up!!! No hairdryer in room although stated there was - even the kettle had to balance on winder sill!! Then we go for dinner bearing in mind we had been asked 3 times what time we would like to eat we went to the restaurant for 730pm we sat for 30mins before I asked we had table booked for 730 response was 6 couples all booked for 730 and were busy but surely that is why you ask what time people want to dine so you can manage it - when we get seated table badly wobbles then starters come and they got mine wrong we waited 35 mins for our mains then a waitress asks what we ordered for our mains as they forgot!! Mains were ok mine was cold but by this time had given up!! Waited 30 mins to be offered deserts no joy we both went to washroom came back to table all had been cleared even our wine had gone!!! They said they thought we had left! But was not offered desert?? Then desert menu arrived a complimentary bottle of wine was offered due to our length of wait!! Instead of a relaxing treat away this was exhausting and a very disappointing break DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY you thank me.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Foxyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Came on a groupon deal so did not expect top-notch.
Lovely location. Downstairs rooms very nice. Bottle of champagne given to us as part of our deal - great.
Our room ( 12 ) really was very poor. Obviously has been partitioned with a stud wall, to make two much smaller rooms. No sound proofing at all. The room was clean though dated. There was only space for a double bed and very little else. If i was paying full price, i would certainly have asked for my money back, but thats the risk you take with a groupon deal.
Breakfast was lovely and the staff were pleasant.
Could be a lovely hotel if given a little TLC. Shame about the room ( broom cupboard !).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stephen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I attended a wedding reception at Rowley Manor and stayed there for one night. The hotel is very cosy and situated in a picturesque landscape making it perfect for weddings. The food at the reception was tasty but the service could have been friendlier. My twin room was very large and furnished in a rather old fashioned way. Unfortunately one of the lights was not working which meant the room was quite dark. The bathroom was adequate but it took a long time for the water in the shower to heat up. In the morning, I had the full English breakfast which was pleasant. However, I was shocked that we had to ask for tea and coffee as normally in hotels it is offered as soon as you reach the breakfast room. Overall, Rowley Manor is nice venue for weddings but it could do with some improvements.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyHols1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Beautiful hotel in a lovely location. Excellent room although the bed could do with a new base as it sunk making you feel a bit like a banana. Bathroom needs a new shower and needs a bit of updating and the heated towel rail was not sufficient to heat up the bathroom especially with a stay in February
Resturant served up excellent food - wide choice and very good quality. Staff really friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Very good value with a Groupon deal but would not want to pay full price without a bit of attention...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern England
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Very good overnight stay.Good food -even for us vegetarians.The public rooms are grand and impressive although the bedrooms are a bit frayed around the edge. Some good walks round the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mid-age-travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We were part of a wedding party staying at Rowley Manor. The food was lovely and the drink very expensive, however the overall atmosphere was pleasant. They could have done with more staff on for dinner and for breakfast, one poor girl was taking orders and serving for 30 people!

The bedrooms were rather small up on the second floor and the bathroom needs some updating, especially the shower that trickles out and doesn't actually give you a shower.

It is a nice hotel but could do with some updating and TLC.

Room Tip: The first floor has the better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheRichardsons18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Weighton
3.8 mi away
Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club
3.1 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
697 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Willerby Manor Hotel
8.5 mi away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
4.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Hull
Hallmark Hotel Hull
#1 of 1 in North Ferriby
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowley Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowley Manor Country House Hotel

Property: Rowley Manor Country House Hotel
Address: Rowley Road, Little Weighton HU20 3XR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Little Weighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Weighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rowley Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowley Manor Country House Hotel Yorkshire/Little Weighton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing