We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a suprise”
Review of The Black Horse

The Black Horse
Reserve with OpenTable
The Black Horse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Contemporary, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“what a suprise”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We went to a 50th birthday party and was expecting a pub Buffett. We got the most delisous buffett ! Fabulous salads, amazing pate, fish, meat and gorgeous Lemmon curd meringues, Brownies and Truffles. It all looked and tasted great. The staff were really good, attention to detail, we had a lovely night. we had a look at the menu and will definitely be visiting again to try out the restaurant. Well done !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hubbsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    102
    20
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Absolutely fabulous, visited early one evening , so very quite, only a handful of people in, but made to feel very welcome. Great choice of menu for starters, mains and sweets and the food was wonderful. Fish pie heavenly, lamb superb. in fact would like to slowly work our way through the whole menu as it looks so good and it the food we have sampled is anything to go by, it will be an enjoyable experience

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allyson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We ate here the two nights that we stayed in Little Weighton. Cannot fault the food staff or service that we received, especially from Craig the lovely young man who sereved behind the bar & also served the tables .The menu is very good and the food was delicious , the Pate and the Onion & Blue Cheese soup were divine, in fact only good things can be said for the food - our compliments were passed on to the Chef. The pub itself is a nice place and the Ladies room was immaculate with lovely little white towels to dry your hands on - a very nice touch - keep up the good work Michaela .....

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gillytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just what you want...”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

On Fri night we made our way to the Black Horse after being in Hull on business, (I know the area and had heard it had been taken over) We where hoping for a great steak and chips before heading out to the motorway. Well we definitely found it - excellent food ( we actually had scallops and pate to start, then rump steak and a burger - with proper chips) A really good pub, relaxed but stylish in its decor and food- there should be one in every village ! We will be back

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank sarah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great little village pub - with Proper Chips”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Four of us visited the Black Horse at Little Weighton as we had heard recent favourable reports. I have been to this pub a few times over the years and it has changed from good to average to bad and now - back to good again! Although predominately aimed at the food market, there are a couple of decent hand pulled beers kept in good condition and at the right temperature - something a lot of pubs have difficulty in doing. The service is sharp, friendly and enthusiastic, with a short but varied menu offering anything from liver to pie to fresh haddock. All of our plates were returned clean and the smiling faces in the group confirmed the meal had been a good one. The Mother In Law had the haddock and two fair sized pieces arrived. Of particular note were the excellent chips, a part of the meal very important to me. Too often I find frozen or reconstituted rubbish but not at The Black Horse - good well cooked fresh chips that clearly formed part of a whole potato earlier in the day. We shall return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank goodbeer00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Horse also viewed

Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
Walkington, Beverley
 
Skidby, East Riding of Yorkshire
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to The Black Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing