We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveler rating
153
120
57
32
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
153
120
57
32
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coach trip groupon voucher function room coach party quiet location full english staff were really friendly great night following morning yogurt durham wedding chiltern disco carvery beamish chilton
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 397 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2019

Just stayed again at the chiltern, much improved due to new manager Chris Scott, lovely rooms, clean and tidy throughout, lovely breakfast,, would definitely recommend, staff all very friendly and helpful.

Room tip: Maybe a ground floor room, if problems climbing stairs.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joflo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2019

We stayed here for one night at a good price with breakfast, the views are fab, we had a lovely meal in bar and a few drinks the lady who was on bar and serving food was really nice and helpful the room was nice but the floor really needs looking at the noise when we walked across it was a loud creaking sound, would not stop me staying again if in the area, it would also be worth a drive out just for the lovely food x

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makem65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, General Manager at Chilton Country Pub and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2019

Hello Makem65

Many thanks for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
If you can next time you book let us know which room had the squeaky floor boards we will endeavor to fix this for next time.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2019

Six of us were booked to have a Vatantines day meal. Having he a very bad experience around 2 years ago with Sunday lunch for 25 I was a little sceptical about what was to come. We arrived at around 5:15 pm and were shown to our table and given the choice of the Valantines day 3 course menu or to mix it with the normal menu by a very pleasant young lady. We all decided to choose from the Valantine menu. The choice was good and I must say the food was superb. One couple chose the "sharing starter" which turned out to be an amazing selection of food. It was the largest starter I have ever seen, two Thai crab fish cakes, 2 chicken Kievs a mini burger, mini omlette and potatoe wedges plus two dips. The melon pearls were the choice of the rest of us and were very refreshing. The mains were equally as good. The rib eye steaks were fantastic! They were cooked exactly to our order, were a good size and so tender. Desert was another great experience. Much better than my last visit almost 2 years ago. If this is typical of the standard of food and service now, then I can highly recommend the Chilton.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, General Manager at Chilton Country Pub and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2019

Hello Brian S

Many thanks for your glowing review. its from reviews like yours we can help motivate our wonderful team to keep doing what they do best. looking after our guests

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019

Had the Sunday carvery with family. Can’t fault the food. The kids menu is amazing value. Meal, drink, ice cream for under a fiver, can’t go wrong. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Think the room could do with an upgrade.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Lin74w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, General Manager at Chilton Country Pub and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2019

Hello Lin74w

Many thanks for your constructive remarks and glad you enjoyed the value and the food. room has now been upgraded so we welcome you to come back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2019

I called up on the morning to book a staff lunchtime meal for 10, initially I was told there was no way they could prepare for 11 people on the same day which made me wonder what they would do if 3 parties of 4 turned up without booking. As we pre-ordered for a specific time I was expecting the food to be ready, however, we were told they wouldn't start the order until we all paid, what made it worse was it was cash only as their card reader didn't work. The first meal came 30 mins late, slowly in dribs and drabs, the rest of the meals started to turn up - it was 5 mins between the first and last meal being served.
On a positive note, all the meals were really nice and the portion sizes were spectacular valued for money. It's such a shame the service was the focus of all our comments and not the food.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank WansfordRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews