We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nights out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chilton Country Pub and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fencehouses
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nights out”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I and other family members have visited the Chilton on numerous occasions whatever it be weddings mine included xmas dinner allinclusive nights which are exellent value and the disco buffet nights which are also good value even if you pop in for a quite drink it is so homely and friendly its certainly worth a visit they cant do enough for you

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaretcowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    96
    46
    29
    24
See reviews for
78
107
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I vist the Chilton often and I've got to say what a wonderful country and homely feel it has with it's warm atmosphere and very friendly staff. Their recent refurbishment has a modern twist but still stays true to the country pub feel. As soon as you walk through the door you feel welcome and the staff go out of their way to help you in any way they can. The meals are outstanding they come out piping hot and plentiful. I was there for a meal in December and I noticed there was a Christmas party going on in the other room but our service was just like any other night spot on!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Stacey477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My husband and myself have stayed at the Chilton many times over the last few years and we have book again for May this year (2014). The staff are friendly, eager to make you welcome, nothing is too much trouble. The restaurant/ pub, is charming, welcoming and very homely, the food is great, the wine is even better! Again the staff are friendly eager to advise on there wines, ales and the special of the day!

Room Tip: We have had a suite and a room, both we're clean, we'll presented with hall amenities! Altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Just before Christmas my family and I made one of our occasional visits to the Chilton Lodge. During the evening we were treated to a shameful experience of two of the family picking a fight between each other in the public bar.
We then had the ridiculous situation of the manageress doing her best to try to resolve a situation between her employers. What would have happened to them by door staff in any other establishment? Easy answer.
Basically, the paying customers were being treated with contempt by taking our money to pay for their shameful behaviour - we had our noses rubbed in it.
I recommend that if you want a meal and drink then go somewhere where you are treated with some level of respect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonner525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We held our wedding breakfast and evening party here. The food was lovely and the staff amazing. We wanted a xmas theme wedding and the room was set up better than we could ever have imagined. We had a wonderful day and night and all our family and friends loved it. Cant thank the venue enough.
We have also had many bar meals in the pub which also cant be faulted. Amazing location, food and staff. . Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth D, Manager at Chilton Country Pub and Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your Wedding Day. We hope to see you in the near future for another function or maybe a meal. Best wishes for the future and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We travelled from Scotland for a nieces wedding and booked rooms. We arrived mid afternoon on Friday and although the hotel seemed to be short staffed the girl who eventually booked us in couldn't have been more helpful even moving us as far from the party room as possible should we have decide on an early night.
We asked for and were served really delicious sandwiches which were really well filled and reasonably priced. Breakfast next day was similar, freshly cooked filling and served with a smile.
The bedroom was spotless if a little tired, however the price was very reasonable and in my view fantastic value for money and I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: The side away from the car park is best to minimise disturbance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth D, Manager at Chilton Country Pub and Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed for two nights. Room very clean and bed comfortable. The bathroom was tiny but plenty of hot water. My breakfast was tasty but served with great haste! No time for cereals before the hot food arrived and plates cleared before I started on the toast and marmalade! (No brown bread). Good location and a quick drive into durham.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacalyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth D, Manager at Chilton Country Pub and Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fencehouses
2.1 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,044 reviews
1.4 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Houghton-le-Spring
269 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#4 of 6 in Washington
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
4.0 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
346 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilton Country Pub and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilton Country Pub and Hotel

Property: Chilton Country Pub and Hotel
Address: Blackboy Road, Fencehouses DH4 6PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Fencehouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fencehouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chilton Country Pub and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Chilton Country Pub and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chilton Country Pub Hotel Fencehouses

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing