We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming site”
Review of Tom's Field

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langton Matravers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tom's Field
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Turned up on the Friday evening of the May Bank Holiday weekend slightly nervous it would be full but all was fine. As it was late we were told to find a pitch and settle the next day.
We went round and pitched on the higher field. This proved a mistake in as much that I havent bought chocs yet for my camper so our nights sleep was interesting!
Anyway, the campsite is a sort of rustic quaint campsite in a great spot, especially for walkers. We walked to the Square and Compass, as well as being literally round the corner from the company that does coasteering.
Showers and loos are basic but that adds to the charm if you ask me. Breakfast in the cafe was ok, not amazing but done the job.
In the end we spotted a pitch on the lower field and grabbed it. Much nicer spot, not got the view but less windy, flat and felt more private. That is where I would try and get again. And will def come back here as the area has so much to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Tom's Field
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 97 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

Tom’s Field is a well run site in the beautiful Dorset countryside. The campsite was very quiet (well, it was quite early in the season I guess). We were allowed to pitch wherever we wanted. The site is nice and flat, immaculately clean and well laid out with fresh water points all over the site. The staff are extremely polite, cheerful and helpful. The toilet block facilities are perfectly adequate and clean. The showers work on a token system at 25p for 3 minutes which is fine for a nice hot shower.

The site is well located for some great coastal walks and local attractions of Southern Dorset. It's a short drive in to Swanage for some nice pubs and supermarkets although there is a well stocked shop on site and the Langton Matravers village shop sells locally sourced produce.

The pubs in the village are fine although The Kings Head is not particularly welcoming to tourists / outsiders. The Square & Compass in nearby Worth Matravers is a must for the great selection of local beers and ciders.

We would definitely come back to Tom’s Field again (although probably when the weather is less inclement).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnnycash72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Tom's Field often appears in 'Best Campsite' lists, and really lives up to expectations.

SIZE AND FACILITIES
It's a small, natural campsite perched on the hill above Swanage surrounded by stone walls that shelter the tents from the weather. The shop has a broad array of stock and there are plenty of (rather higgledy piggledy) loos and showers. The baby bathing sink was in the drying room, meaning it is very toasty. While this might be annoying on a hot day when we got caught in a horrendous downpour with a 9 month old and could bath her and dry her clothes in the warm room it was brilliant. The Bower Breakfast Bar is no Worth Matravers Tea Rooms but does the job if you can't be bothered to get the stove out.

LOCATION: Brilliant - you can walk across the hills to the cliffs or down into the village, and it's a short drive to Swanage and from there to Studland's beaches. You can also walk to Worth Matravers and the Square and Compass or drive to Kingston to the Scott Arms.

CLEANLINESS: Pretty good, it did rain when we were there so we probably saw it at its muddy worst.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

It's actually like going back in time staying on this camp site. The site is completely ramshackle but not in a bad way. It is quaint, welcoming and familiar in a way that will invoke nostalgic feelings in all 40 something's. The site shop is like a throw back to a time before mobile phones and computer games and is well stocked with everything you might need to make your experience easier. Including toys and unusual games to entertain the kids. The prices are very cheap and I couldn't help thinking that every time I bought something, that I was the one making the profit, or had I actually been transported back to the 1970's? The toilet and shower block were basic but clean and you had to purchase tokens for the shower from the site shop for 25p for 3 minutes. It was £21 for two adults and two children for a mobile home and electric hookup per night. The clientele were often returnees on their 10th or more stay. There were earth mothers and hippies and modern families as well as elderly couples and teenagers. It was a good mix of people that attracted environmentally conscious campers (a failure to use the recycling facilities is a capital offence). This eclectic mix was very well balanced which led to an enjoyable stay for more days than we had planned. The area is great for walking or cycling. The craggy cliffs of the Dorset coastline are a half hour walk away over some very pleasant pastures and the seaside town of Swanage is a 15 minute cycle ride down the hill but a very hard 45 minute return ride up the hill. Well worth a visit.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank spydaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this campsite for 4 nights over the bank holiday having left an awful campsite! On our arrival they were very helpful and found us a perfect pitch with electric and fabulous views of the swanage bay! The site is in a great location in a quite village with a lovely lical pub, especially if your into walking (which we are not and even we ventured across the fields to see the coast). The camping pitches were excellently maintained, the site was quiet although busy, relaxed and very picturesque. The site has a small shop selling camping and daily essentials and a breakfast cafe selling local farm produce! The shower block is not modern but very clean with a lovely hot shower that is a winner! Overall we were very impressed with the site and will definately be visiting again! Thank you tom's field!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetski-princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My family have just returned from a 3 night stay at Tom's Field. We were met by a very friendly chap at the gates on our arrival who showed us to a lovely pitch on the main field. There were lots of other families milling around with young children happily running around and riding their bikes. It was lovely however the toilet/shower blocks were very "rough and ready" with bits of toilet paper scattered all around the cubicle. The walls were "rustic" and "cobwebby" and it just looked a bit tired and and in need of some TLC. They were clean though. I was a bit surprised when I went to the toilet block around 4.30pm and was told by a gruff woman "sorry we are closed for cleaning" with no smile or cheery personality. That was a bit off putting.

Having said all this. It really is a lovely setting with wonderful views and the sound of the sheep gently bleating is a pleasure in itsself also the relaxed ambience of the site is wonderful too.

I would recommend the Bower breakfast bar for a full english breakfast. The lady who worked in their is so sweet and polite and its definately service with a smile there! The cook is very friendly too!

Beware that they only stock a few newspapers daily so if you like a daily read of The Sun or Mirror get down early to the shop to avoid disappointment.

On balance a relaxing stay but very windy! We weren't quite prepared for that! It can get quite chilly up there so pack plenty of woolies!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Happysnapper101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

As a first-time camper, I was a bit nervous arriving at Tom's Field, but from the moment we were met at the gate I already felt relaxed and at home.

We were shown to a great little pitch that was only a few steps away from the shower blocks. We didn't feel pressured to pay up immediately and were left alone to pitch our tent before paying later in the well-stocked shop.

Location is great; we walked to Dancing Ledge and drove to Swanage and Monkey World in no time. The breakfast bar at Tom's Field was a lifesaver for us as we didn't have an electric pitch, and the food was great. Showers were well-priced at 25p for 3 minutes, which we found was enough, and were always clean, hot and well-maintained. At night time, most people were asleep by 10.30pm and still asleep when the sheep in nearby fields woke us at 7.30 (a sound we really miss now we're home!)

Friendly little site - I'd definitely like to go back one day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langton Matravers
2.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
943 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
952 reviews
2.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Woodyhyde Campsite
Woodyhyde Campsite
#3 of 4 in Corfe Castle
181 reviews
1.5 mi away
Herston Caravan & Camp Site
1.4 mi away
Downshay Farm
Downshay Farm
#2 of 14 in Swanage
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tom's Field? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom's Field

Address: Langton Matravers, Swanage BH19 3HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage > Langton Matravers
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Langton Matravers
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Tom`s Field Hotel Langton Matravers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing