We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holton Heath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Sandford Holiday Park
Bedfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We spent a lovely week in one of the Poole lodges at Sandford Holiday Park. Check in took a few minutes to get to the front of the queue but staff were friendly and helpful. The lodge itself was lovely - like a small luxury flat. It was very clean and well equipped. Just one thing - the doors are on the low and narrow side but as hubby is 6'4, it was just one of those things. The park was very clean, the outdoor play areas looked a little tired but hopefully that's just down to it being end of season. The outdoor pool was closed but the indoor pool was very nice - could do with some more family changing cubicles and can imagine in peak time it would be very crowded. Just one grumble and that was the take away eateries - it took over 45 minutes to get fish and chips on a Friday night. Wouldn't have minded waiting that long had we not been 3rd in the queue with the first person having already been served and waiting on food. The pizza place was also a bit of a mare - completely bodged up our order and being told we'd wait 20 minutes to have to wait 45 minutes and it then be wrong was a tad annoying. The main restaurant was very nice, good food and attentive service. Overall we had a great time and would return.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BignLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    353
    209
    107
    106
See reviews for
714
140
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
aylesbury
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Just spent 4 days with our 2 grandchildren aged 6 and 12.As others have said it is great for Poole,Bournemulth and beaches.We only used the crazey golf which we all enjoyed the rest of the tme we spent on days out.Our caravan was clean ,well heated,with a great shower .On the whole the site was clean ,tidy and the staff all helpfull.
The only down side was we had to call security 3 times the where children runnning abround late at night.They attended promptly each time. and dealt with them.To Parkdeans credit they rang us at home the next day to they where sorry for what had happened.They have said they will be writeing to us later.
We would go back to the park again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billyaylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Nice location near Poole and Bournemouth but tucked away. Decent for a caravan accommodation, all things in working order. Good facilities, bar, entertainment, activities but as always in these places do not eat here very poor quality though not expensive probably overpriced based on quality.

Great to have both an indoor and outdoor pool, fun crazy golf, and bikes that can be hired.

reasonable pub next door for a break away from holiday park atmosphere

Room Tip: All units are not too far from the centre but far enough away not ti hear any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_w01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Just returned from a 3-night stay at Sandford druing the hottest October on record! When we arrived we were disappointed to find the caravan we'd been allocated was a small,dark,old-looking unit - and NOT the 2011 model that i had booked online! However, after heading straight back to reception to report this, a very helpful, polite and accomodating girl did her level best to find us an alternative caravan - not easy when lots of people were turning up to collect their keys. Having given us the keys to a bigger and more modern unit in a quiter part of the park (Elm Avenue), we were more reassured by what we saw from the outside. This one had a balcony (which we were expecting - after all, this 2011 NOT 1981!). The location did prove to be peaceful. However, the interior had an 'end of season' feel to it- the laminate flooring was dirty, the seating was faded, jaded and stained and the cups, mugs and plates were filfthy! To make matters worse, both the kitchen tap and the one in the shower cubicle leaked constantly and the double mattress was WORN OUT. To describe it as lumpy would have been something of an understatement! We spent the three nights dreaming of our own bed back home! Plus, the bedding provided didnt match - and there was no double duvet for the unfeasibly uncomfortable double bed. That said, the park provided a good central base for visiting places such as Canford Cliffs Beach (Poole), Lulworth Cove (so beautiful) and Weymouth (wonderful sandy beach, shallow safe paddling and great esplanade). Will we be returning? I doubt it, because there are much better and far nicer alternatives such as renting a cottage or staying in a B&B if we want to re-visit this area - OR coming on a day trip as it's only just a 2 hour drive from our Oxfordshire home.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a caravan on a quieter road like Elm Avenue - and not one on the perimeter road w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SlumpedFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

JUST got back from a 4 day stay. Booked a top of the range lodge (Sandbanks). Party consisted of me, husband, daughter, son-in-law and 2 grandsons ages 2 and a half and 7 months. Must stress that we didn't complain to anyone, but left detailed comments and contact details upon departure (we didn't want cleaners/maintenance people in with the baby etc). I suppose my point is, I shouldn't have to complain in the first place, except for unavoidable occurrences....And these weren't !
Dirty and slightly shoddy verandah, filthy carpet, broken louvre blind pulley, crisp crumbs still under table, cobwebs, seat detached from one dining chair, very dodgy cable on iron, toilet roll holders that only sometimes held on to the toilet roll, they were so poorly fixed (on 3rd set of holes in main bathroom), all venetian blinds very dusty, bits and bobs under beds including plenty of dust etc, shower cubicle in ensuite really dirty all around edge and where the doors run (yes, I know, horrible to clean, but not impossible!).....and the bed(s)...it was so uncomfortable I went out and bought a 13.5 tog duvet to sleep ON - it wasn't that successful.Both other adults also struggled to sleep. Oh...the dishwasher STANK when we arrived, but 1 really hot wash with a quality tab sorted it out.
Lodge was in a very good, quiet location,on boundary, wouldn't have liked to be in the middle.
Public areas that we used : indoor pool, outdoor and indoor play areas,laundrette and chip shop very good!
It's a difficult job, cleaning holiday units. I have a friend who does it and I know they are put under great time pressures etc. BUT...we paid £428 for 4 nights in a high end accommodation, so we wouldn't go again. Will go back to area as we know it well. Still had a good time...well, you have to put it in perspective don't you - lot more worse off in the world than us!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LDFsupernanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

just came back from a weeks stay for £450 site was ok, childrens entertainer came across rude!! towards my wife!!!!!. (over priced)

swimming pool clean!

food was ok!

but the accomadation was filthy (dont bother) and i mean well dirty.

Room Tip: try ladram bay in dorset its great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank woodlands20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We visited this site in June 2011, camping, and found it to be excellent. Perhaps we were lucky as our pitch was opposite a new shower block which was kept spotlessly clean and warm. On the basis of this visit we booked to return on 10 September for a week, my daughter, partner and children camping on the same pitch and ourselves in a Lillington caravan. What a disappointment! Firstly the caravan was decidedly old and tatty. The upholstery was soaking wet and when we asked about this we were told it had been cleaned - really?? it was absolutely filthy!. When we had eventually sorted out the lack of appropriate bedding we found the mattresses were in an appalling state - dirty, badly soiled, and smelly.
The carpets too were dirty. We did not have a fridge freezer (as advertised) just a fridge, the gas cooker would not work, the gas fire would not work, and we had no hot water. Thankfully the maintenance staff arrived very quickly and promptly put matters right although they could do nothing about the dirty mattresses and carpets. I must add that we complained politely and in turn were dealt with extremely politely & promptly.

On the whole, the campsite was clean and well maintained but unfortunately the same cannot be said for the toilets and showers. They remained filthy throughout our stay. Muddy floors were not cleaned and dirty toilets remained dirty. Soiled sanitary towels littered most toilets despite there being a bin for the disposal, which prompts the question were the bins full and needed emptying? The family showers were piled with dirty nappies and excrement on walls and floors. The showers were now fixed and you could not adjust the water temperature and as the weather cooled it was not pleasant to shower in water hovering just above cold.

We paid £320 for one week in September for a n extremely tatty and dirty Lillington caravan (A9) and we really expected better from Parkdean. Standards had deteriorated considerably since our stay there in June and we were constantly being told there had been "cut backs" - such a shame.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbbiesnanHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holton Heath
6.6 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,480 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
8.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
7.0 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,716 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Sandford Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Sandford Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Sandford Holiday Park
Address: Holton Heath, Poole | Dorset, Holton Heath, Wareham, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham > Holton Heath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Holton Heath
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - Sandford Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family fun never ends on this leafy country park. You'll find fabulous indoor and outdoor pools, amazing tree-house adventure play, lively kids' clubs and a brilliant climbing wall. Not to mention the pirate ship, delicious places to eat and spectacular Showtime Entertainment. In fact there's so much to see and do there's hardly a minute left to explore the glorious countryside location, dive over to Bournemouth beach, discover Durdle Door, dine out at Poole Harbour or monkey around at Monkey World! * A lively family park in a country setting * Close to Wareham Town with River walks * Fantastic indoor and outdoor pools * Stunning contemporary lodges available * Showtime Entertainment every night ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandford Holiday Park Hotel Holton Heath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing