We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kingston Country Courtyard
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Friendly staff at reception and all through stay. The location is possibly the best we've stayed in this part of the world. Bus route nearby, Corfe 8 mins away by car. Room was clean and bed comfy. The towels could have been bigger but overall very good accommodation. Good breakfast , good service and plenty of choice, I had haddock today and my husband chose a huge fry up. Lots of cereal , fruit and yoghurts. The TV was good with lots of channels but it did loose signal a couple of times. Ignore the review which mentions noisy gravel , it didn't keep us awake. Huge bonus was that you can park your car outside the room so made it convenient for packing/unpacking. Will definitely go again.Super value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    61
    31
    14
    5
See reviews for
62
69
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel has all the potential; stunning location, pleasant buildings and a delicious breakfast. All good things. We stayed for one night in a byre rooms which was clean, pleasant and well-furnished, if a bit over-priced. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. But the really important ingredient was missing: no attempt to speak to or make contact with the visitors. We arrived a bit early and asked what time we could check in. That was no problem but it was just "here is your room, find us if you need us". We went out for a meal and came back at about 8 o'clock. There was no-one on reception and when we called the number on reception it went straight to voicemail . Eventually we hunted out the key on the reception desk - a thief might have done the same. When we came down to breakfast there was no-one to greet us or explain the routines. Breakfast was great and the service was fine. When we came to check out there was no @have you enjoyed your stay? What are your plans for today?" The kind of chatter that makes people feel better. It was just " that's £100 pounds please . Thank you. Goodbye." In fairness, Dorset as a whole seems to have lost the notion of hospitality. Just talk to your customers. It makes them feel you are interested in more than just taking their money. A disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRoberts5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Barely 2 miles from Corfe Castle this is a tasteful collection of spacious ensuite rooms gathered around a courtyard in a very quiet location.
The nearby hamlet of kingston (400m) has the excellent Scots Arms (2 rooms) with a superb range of food and extensive selection of wines and cask-conditioned beers, and panoramic garden. (reviewed separately).
A little attention to detail would benefit the rating of KCC. Our fresh-air 'ventilator' in the bathroom was choked with dust, and the heated towel-rail did not work. A couple of bottles of bottled water in the room would not be amiss. Breakfast was exceptionally good although again the attention to detail was lacking - no tea spoons to eat yoghurt with, no welcoming direction as to where to sit and no effort to create any atmosphere. Small points but worth the owners looking at as this really is a lovely place to escape to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trikemaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed one night here on a business trip. Great location, comfortable room, superb breakfast and staff. Really enjoyed my stay and if I am in the area this will be one of the first ones I will contact.

One slight drawback is the gravelled courtyard - so cars arriving late or leaving early can make some noise - but the gravel adds to the charm so its a minor point. Overall its a great choice for the area around Corfe Castle

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just returned from an overnight stay at the Courtyard and was pleased with the accommodation. We selected this venue as we were a party of 6 and booked their family room and a standard double. Both rooms were in the same house, which made it easy to for us to get together and organise our activities.

Overall we were pleased with the rooms and the full English breakfast, the only complaint we had was the noise coming from the rooms above - there seemed to be a lack of sound insulation and we could hear people walking across the floor for several hours into early evening which disturbed our sleep somewhat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor if you need a good nights sleep. For children, they have an outd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had notified the hotel of our late arrival. As we were going to be later than originally planned we phoned to leave a message. When we arrived at the hotel at 00:10 there was no-body in Reception. We walked around the various areas but could find no-one. We phoned the contact number we had but it went to voice mail. After searching through the paperwork on Reception we found 2 notices which said to phone a mobile number or to go to the Kitchen area. Again the mobile number went to voicemail and there was no-one around the kitchen area.
Back in Reception we checked the desk and saw an entry with our name and the name of the rooms allocated to us. When we eventually found them the doors were open with the keys inside so we settled down as it had taken us 45 minutes to "check in". Is it too much to ask that either a text, voice message or note at Reception could have been left letting us know which rooms we were in?

The rooms themselves were superficially good but the level of housekeeping was unacceptable. There were cobwebs between the bedside cupboards and wardrobe and cockroaches and earwigs on the floor. The bathrooms smelt musty and of damp despite the fact that the heated towel rails were on despite it being one of the hottest days of the year.

On the positive side, breakfast and the staff who prepared and served it was brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble even down to one of the staff going to her own apartment to fetch chilli powder so that our Indian friend could have chilli eggs.

Would I stay here again? Possibly, but only if arriving early.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston C, Owner at Kingston Country Courtyard, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Sian
I am sorry for the confusion about checking in my receptionist Lara had arranged a huge discount on your room and explained that we had a wedding that evening and at that time all staff would be found in the upper courtyard. Lara was herself there waiting to show you your room. I think the confusion was that we have two kitchen areas and you went to the lower breakfast kitchen. We had left instructions on the desk as how to find the top kitchen, my apologies if they were unclear.
I would like to state that we do not have coakroaches at our establishment, we have a strict pest control system . We have occassionally seen a large beatle and I am sorry if you encountered one !
I am glad that you found our breakfast staff helpful.
Best Wishes

Bobbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Spent two nights at Kingston and it was a really enjoyable stay. We were in the lower courtyard which was nice and quiet although not too far from the main road. Our room was excellent with both a sitting room and a bedroom and also a nice, large bathroom. Good hospitality tray which was replenished daily.
There was an extensive selection on offer for breakfast - after three days of continental breakfast at out previous B&B we indulged in the full English which was delicious. The service was very good, efficient and pleasant. Overall a really great stay in a lovely location.

Room Tip: Lower Courtyard was great for us. V. quiet but near enough to the road so that we could walk down to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
1.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
4.3 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
4.5 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
7.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston Country Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Country Courtyard

Property: Kingston Country Courtyard
Address: Greystone Court Langton Road | Corfe Castle, Wareham, Kingston BH20 5LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingston Country Courtyard 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingston Country Courtyard has been established for many years now, having started in one bedroom of the busy farmer’s Purbeck stone farmhouse. Subsequent years have seen the incorporation of the buildings into what you see today.As well as traditional farmhouse accommodation, Kingston Country Courtyard offers a variety of apartments and suites in tastefully converted Purbeck stone. Furnished to a very high standard and offering the comforts of modern living, they retain much of their original character and charm. Kingston Country Courtyard is situated in the heart of the Purbecks, which, at the eastern end of the Jurassic coast world heritage site, provides an abundance of activities and attractions. A short walk takes you to the Dorset Coastal Path that meanders from Shell Bay to Lulworth Cove and the famous Durdle Door - a dramatic coastline offering an outstanding variety of scenery. Popular local attractions include the 10th-century Corfe Castle - one of the most impressive mediaeval ruins in England; the nature and wildlife reserves of Brownsea Island, Durleston Country Park, the RSPB reserve at Arne, and the marine reserve at Kimmeridge Bay. You can step back to the steam age with the Swanage railway, visit the world famous Tank Museum at Bovington, and the nearby Monkey World Ape Rescue Centre at Wool, or visit the Lytchett Minster Courtyard Craft Centre. Golf, walking, watersports, riding, bicycling, cliff climbing, leisurely pub meals...the list is endless! Or simply relax on the golden sands of Studland Bay and watch the world go by! Kingston Country Courtyard offers a wide and flexible arrangement of accommodation to suit all needs. Whether you require a self-catered family accommodation or fully serviced rooms (twin, double or suite) we can provide them. All rooms feature en-suite facilities (either bath or shower) and all have colour TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Irons and hair dryers are available on request, and fresh towels are provided. Access to free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Kingston Country Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingston Country Courtyard Hotel Kingston
Courtyard Dorset
Dorset Courtyard
Kingston Country Courtyard Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing