We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must do while in Tassie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Corinna Wilderness Experience
Certificate of Excellence
Manyana, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A must do while in Tassie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

As you enter Corinna via the silica road from Waratah, you seem to enter another time. All the cottages are built to reflect the historical period at the height of the timber getting industry. Some of the cottages are originals. The only hotel is built in the same , simple style and offers a restaurant for those who choose not to self cater.
Our cottage ( #1 ) was in a quiet position, away from the barbecue shed. It had a modern, comfortable interior minus the trappings of modern society - TV, phone,radio.This leaves the guest time to breathe in the Tarkine. We sat on the verandah at night, sipped our wine and took in the aromas of campers' bush fires and the sound of rain on the trees surrounding us.There are easy, well marked walking tracks through the astounding Tarkine.This is an experience not to be missed,
The river cruise on the Arcadia II is well worth it. Dale, the assistant, will cater for your every need and answer all questions to do with the environment. He may even take you fishing during lunch at the heads. He caught 2 fish on our cruise and kindheartedly donated them to guests for their dinner.We enjoyed this cruise more than the Gordon river cruise ex Stahan for its more intimate nature and friendly hospitality.
It is recommended that you take your own provisions if self catering. The restaurant serves good meals with a limited menu. Solar power and fresh water tanks are attached to each cabin.Have $20 cash for the Fatman Barge if you are crossing the river.
It rained during our stay ( you are ,after all, in a rainforest ) but that did not stop us from walking and actually added to the true beauty of the Tarkine.A must do while in Tassie!

Room Tip: Room away from the communal barbecue area to avoid noise from late diners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank countrygirl8050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    62
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
34
124
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Excellent accommodation and service. Lovely comfortable atmosphere in cabin 10 (Foster). Back deck provided us with photo opportunities of the resident pademelons. We took the Arcadia boat trip to Pieman Heads (very peaceful) and did the walk to Mt Donaldson (one of the loveliest walks we have done in Tasmania - terrific views and not overly arduous). Meals in restaurant at Tarkine Hotel were good, and wine not too high priced, considering the distance it had to come.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
297 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

This place is not for everyone, if you are picky and grumpy and dont enjoy the wild, and if you expect subservient staff then its not for you. But if you want the chance to access one of the most lovely and remote locations in the world, to enjoy it with the comfort of good accomodation (which is genuinely trying to have minimal environmental impact) and friendly and knowledgable staff then you must go. Obviously there are problems in trying to run such a remote place and if you need your green tea bags for breakfast then take them with you. We stayed in a lovely Queen bedded cabin with lots of room and privacy. We bought a breakfast pack which lasted 2 days and enjoyed some good food in the evening. The river trip was wonderful and we met some lovely people, staff and guests. Be aware of the need for some dirt road travel and go slowly to avoid the pot holes!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank exbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights here in early January in Cabin 5, which was a one bedroom (partially separated from living area) cottage.
My husband enjoyed the pieman river kayaking (he brought his own, but you can also hire here), and we both enjoyed a few bush walks. I took the boat trip on Arcadia which was very special. The weather was mild with some drizzle/rain.
This small establishment relies on solar power and rain water, so don't expect the usual amenities for the price you pay (we paid $200 per night for cabin 5). Previous reviews have been critical, but really travellers should adjust their expectations accordingly. The cabin was clean and confortable (including the bed), kitchen was fine for preparing meals, bathroom OK, heater worked well, but there was no TV, or appliances that would blow the power circuits (hairdryer or toaster). We knew what to expect and brought our own food, although ate in the restaurant one evening, food was tasty but a bit overpriced for the portion size. No mobile reception here, but the staff at reception were happy for me to use their phone to make a couple of calls for a small "donation".
If you are after an alternative, relaxing few days and enjoy kayaking, fishing or bushwalking in pristine wilderness, then this is the place for you. I will return to Corinna.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LuciaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Corinna in a great self contained villa. We did not quite know what to expect and due to it's listing as a 'retreat' expected something a little more luxurious however we still enjoyed our time there.
The closest towns are around an hour away and the only way in/out are dirt roads and a barge if coming if from the south so check running tines if coming late at night etc.
The villas are great value and very private with fully equipped kitchenettes (so come prepared with all your food so you can cook your own meals!), couch with small stand alone fireplace, a small table to eat at and comfortable bedding! The bathroom was very minimal/clean and hot water/electricity runs off solar however we had no problems with that. There is absolutely no room service or housekeeping!
There are plenty of bushwalks mapped out from 15 minutes to 9 hours + and the surroundings really are beautiful. You can kayak up and down the river for $40 but other than that there is not alot else to do!
While we were at corinna temperatures reached 38 degrees inside making it far too hot to spend time in the sun so we read books all day!
There is a very small restaurant that is a little pricey considering the food ($28 for a main) that serves Aussie food - steaks, fish, chicken with chips, salad, mash etc. They mention on the website that there is a general store but this is not completely true. You can buy pasta, canned tomato, tuna, baked beans, milk, chocolate, chips and minimal vegetables (no fruit!) so definately come prepared with your own food because I wish we had!
If you like spending time outdoors, in the bush or on the river and you enjoy bushwalking Corinna is a beautiful spot to stay. However if you are looking for a 'retreat' perhaps look elsewhere...
I suggest coming in spring or autumn because a really hot day in the middle of the bush with no where to swim is not fun!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Samandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

I have read the positive reviews about Corinna, so I feel rather apprehensive about bucking the trend, but in truth I was a little disappointed by my experience there.

The website states that "while the cabins have a certain rustic external appearance, the experience inside is in contrast". This is certainly true. The cabins are supposedly "individually themed". The theme in ours - a two bedroom cottage (No 6) - was "suburban drab". It did not afford us any sense that we were in the wilderness, and was entirely devoid of rustic charm. One could quite as easily have encountered the same drab white plasterboard interior with tokenistic prints on the wall, and ubiquitous bare furnishings, in any cheap suburban motel. The brochure mentions something about "sinking into" the comfortable beds. The mattresses were hard; the beds and linen far from comfortable.

The cabins are also very close to one another which further detracts from the "Wildnerness Experience." We had to keep the blinds down in the bathroom because the neighbours would have been able to look directly into our toilet.


I get that this is an 'eco-retreat' and that it's quite (but not very) far away from any source of supplies. We have stayed in far more remote locations in Australia - motels that are hundreds of kilometres from the nearest supermarket (as opposed to 55), so it's hard to see why the "general store" on site is so poorly stocked, or why it should be necessary for the store to charge $5 for a single AA battery. (You only have to look at places like the Pink Roadhouse on the Oodnadatta Track to understand what "remote" really means, yet they offer travellers a very wide array of provisions).

Corinna is in an extraordinary location. The Pieman River is magnificent, as are the surrounding forests. It's almost impossible to believe that the area is not World Heritage Listed. And Corinna is well situated to provide visitors with access to the delights of this region, whether you prefer to walk, take a kayak or embark on a leisurely cruise on the MV Arcadia to marvel at the primal beauty of this magnificent spot.

But I got the sense that the motel is only too aware of the lack of alternative accommodation for travellers. I understand that it's an "eco-retreat" and that it has to operate without the amenities (like mains electricity etc) that other accommodation providers take for granted. I get that you don't visit places like this in order to sit around and watch TV, or catch up with friends on Facebook. But we were hoping for some sense of "getting away from it all" as we sat in our cabin after a hard day of walking, and swimming in the river. Instead, I looked around and pondered what we were actually getting for our $250 per night. No TV, no phone (not even a public pay-phone), no mobile reception, no internet, barely a cake of soap in the bathroom, very uncomfortable beds, no water pressure in the shower, no sense of privacy or remoteness at all, no view of the areas's primary feature (the river), no fan (even though it was 32 degrees), no toaster (or bread available from the shop to use in a toaster) and a sign on the wall asking guests to accept the scratchiness of the toilet paper on the grounds that it is made from recycled paper. Hell! even my bum had to suffer!

In summary, it's great location, but Corinna over-promises on the accommodation front.

Room Tip: A tent will provide you with far more atmosphere than the cabins at a fraction of the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JustmeHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaham
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Corinna Wildnerness Resort in Pete's Cabin (old roadman's cottage) in early December on our way from Arthur River to Srahan. We really enjoyed our time there and were sorry we didn't have more time to spend as we had previously booked on an overnight cruise on the Gordon River. The cabin was spotless, the staff were friendly and helpful and we would love to be able to revisit at some time. We spent over 3 weeks in Tasmania and felt that Corinna was certainly one of the highlights.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grace028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Corinna Wilderness Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinna Wilderness Experience

Property: Corinna Wilderness Experience
Address: Corinna Road, Corinna, Tasmania 7321, Australia (Formerly Corinna, at Home in the Wilderness)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Corinna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Corinna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Corinna Wilderness Experience 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corinna is an historic town that is now a wilderness retreat nestled in the rainforest alongside the Pieman River. There is a range of accommodation at Corinna, including queen and family eco cabins, original miners cottages and camping. Facilities include a restaurant and bar. There is plenty to do with river cruises, hiking and kayaking to name a few popular activities.Corinna Wilderness Experience holds an advanced eco accreditation for the accommodation and river cruise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Corinna Wilderness Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinna Wilderness Experience Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing