We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wilderness with all the comforts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Corinna Wilderness Experience
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wilderness with all the comforts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We recently hired 2 cabins for 4 nights at theCorinna Wilderness Cabins with friends, and were surprised at the wonderful place it is.
We have made multiple visits to Tasmania and love it,but this was the first place to offer a wilderness experience on the West Coast (have stayed at Cradle Mountain Lodge and Lake St Clair Wilderness Resort)-- and we loved it. The staff are lovely and very helpfull with possible walks,trips etc, the hotel is a comfortable refuge at the end of the day with a drink in front of the fire and the meals are varied but all excellent if you wish to treat yousself.
The cabins are all 'stand alone' and are modern and very warm and comfortable,plenty of room and great kitchens and bathrooms-- not much food to do your own thing, so bring whatever you want to self cater.
There are a number of good walks around the site,as well as activities on the Pieman river.We originally were planning a trip on the 'ARCADIA' but opted for a small guided tour from the same operators in a small boat which was very informative (thanks DALE) and included access to a beautiful waterfall.
It is also close enough to do a day trip to Cradle Mountain (have lunch in the Lodge's bar) with a coffee stop at Waratah with a large waterfall in its main street.
If you want to get away from it all (no tv or mobiles) like animals and lovely rainforest,then we can highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank benthebeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    62
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
34
125
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

It's a long winding road in and the weather was atrocious but corinna is a fantastic place. The service was amazing, thank you Corrina, we'll be back :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanetandJimOnHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUNSHINE COAST AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
232 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights prior to my commencing work in Tasmania.As others have said the Corinna website gives an accurate view of the facilities.only one disagreement-they say some think the white silica road is better than a sealed road-no way.it is narrow and quite winding in parts,however little traffic though you could meet a mining truck.Take it slowly and you will be fine.
We stayed in the new cottages.considering you are in the wilderness these are very good value however there is cheaper accommadation by the room as well as campsites.Although there is a "general store"it carries a limited range.Best to bring supplies you need.
The Tannin restaurant was very good-prices consistent with better restaurants in other towns in Tasmania yet this is in the wilderness and transport costs must be higher.Service was good and friendly.Food was of a good standard.They were willing to change sauces for mky wife who does not eat chilli.The wallaby shanks,scallops,steak were very good but the lamb cutlets coated with bush herbs was sensational.
We also did the Arcadia 2 cruise and felt it good value.Unfortunately the adventure tour via 4WD from Pieman heads to Granville Harbour did not operate whilst we were there.
We were going to kayak-$35 per half day but the wind came up and a bit chilly for Queenslanders.Good weather for walking.However if older or some mobility problems(I am 63 with a d*cky knee)then nearly double the suggested times as can be very uneven ground.
Lots of wildlife and birds seen.But the best part was the "serenity".Very quiet at night and we slept like logs.Rather than keep on I will add photos.Thoroughly reccomended..

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank rojaan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
109 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2009

We had a great time - it was however totally enhanced by the weather and the fact that we had boats with us that enabled us to go down to the Pieman Heads which are wild. If not taking a boat then check to make sure that the Arcadia is operational as it was nto when we were there and going to the heads is a highlight.

There are several very nice walks around the place but am not sure if I would want to go there quite so much if the weather was bad. The cabins are quite basic but comfortable with a heater. Cannot remember which one we stayed in but it was not near the BBQ shed (be advised as we were a large group and we had a BBQ one night that if you are near this shed it could be quite noisy!). We ate there at the pub on the second night which was OK but as were were a large group and the place was full they were not doing the a la carte menu but a "gourmet" BBQ. It was OK but nothing special and although $30 is not much thought that the food could have been a bit more "gourmet" for that. Sti

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wub100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vic, australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2009

Corinna was at the end of a windy gravel road (we came in from the north) and it was definitely worth it! The views of wild west Tasmania are beautiful. We stayed in "Kelly" hut which was only a stroll up the hill from the reception/restaurant. The cabin had an open pan sitting room and kitchen with the bedroom tucked in behind and a separate bathroom. Shower only as the site relies on rain water. The food at the Tavern was great, we ate there 2 nights in a row with no problems. We missed out on the advertised cruise but they did a smaller cruise on the pieman river up the other way which was fantastic. There are also plenty of walks and other activities to keep you entertained. High recommended!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eb19au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrandyte, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2009

Corinna is a small rustic settlement nestled right at the southern end of the largest temperate rainforest in the Southern Hemisphere - the Tarkine. For years this region has been locked away from travellers for the constant use by the logging industry, and thus has not become a national park or part of the World Heritage Area. However, that does not mean the scenery is not as good - in fact we all enjoyed our stay much more here than at Strahan nestled amongst all the tourists.

You step out of your refurbished and restored 19th Century Miners Cottages and within 10 metres you are in beautiful cool-temperate rainforest. It is environmentally friendly with the whole settlement being powered by solar power. We stayed there for 2 night but wish that we had been there MUCH longer. The accommodation is very comfortable & spacious – the beds some of the best we had slept on away from home with them being new and firm. At night sitting inside with the gas fire heater roasting and relaxing with no sounds at all in the surrounding area, it was just paradise.

Upon arriving we did the 1.5 hour long Whyte River walk (which started just outside of our cabin) through the rainforest, with the last leg of it being along the banks of the beautifully tranquil Whyte & Pieman Rivers. It was just so beautiful - like nothing we've ever seen before. Returning to luxurious accommodation was so great!

The following day, we went on the full day cruise on the beautiful old boat Arcadia II - the cruise departed at 10am and followed the large, still and stunningly beautiful Pieman River for 20kms ~ to Pieman Heads on the coast, which showed another side to the Wilderness - wild ocean, storm-force winds - total contrast to the still tranquilness of Corinna! Nevertheless it was very scenic and interesting to see the Southern Ocean in full fury, and knowing the next landmass due west was South America, you could understand why!

The cruise, which returned at 3pm, was definitely as good - if not better that the cruise along the famous Gordon River and Macquarie Harbour from Strahan. Personally after doing both of them within only a few days I much preferred the cruise from Corinna aboard the Arcadia II where the service was personalised, there was only a small group of around 15 - 20 of us on the boat and we all chatted with each other, and those breathtaking reflections of the pristine rainforest on the water are everywhere - and much easier to take photos of being right on the water with the small boat.

I would recommend Corinna to anyone who loves nature, being away from it all - or if you're like me - are very stressed normally stuck in a big city like Melbourne full of concrete - then do yourself (spiritually, mentally & physically) a favour and visit Corinna. The very friendly & approachable staff at Corinna recently have built even more walking tracks - so there is even more to do. The website is entirely accurate - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richard3109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2009

We were travelling down the west coast of Tasmania and wanted to experience some of the Tarkine Rainforest - and the wild ocean coast. We came across the excellent Corinna website - and had an excellent stay there. The property is still being developed so sign posting of the many wonderful hikes was not extensive, but we had a marvellous hike up Mt Donaldson with views from Cradle Mountain to the Southern Ocean. We also took the Pieman ferry to the mouth of the Pieman River - absolutely beautiful. Be aware there is no mobile phone or internet coverage, but a good restaurant and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodyCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Corinna Wilderness Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinna Wilderness Experience

Property: Corinna Wilderness Experience
Address: Corinna Road, Corinna, Tasmania 7321, Australia (Formerly Corinna, at Home in the Wilderness)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Corinna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Corinna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Corinna Wilderness Experience 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corinna is an historic town that is now a wilderness retreat nestled in the rainforest alongside the Pieman River. There is a range of accommodation at Corinna, including queen and family eco cabins, original miners cottages and camping. Facilities include a restaurant and bar. There is plenty to do with river cruises, hiking and kayaking to name a few popular activities.Corinna Wilderness Experience holds an advanced eco accreditation for the accommodation and river cruise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Corinna Wilderness Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinna Wilderness Experience Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing